We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #126 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Great value, large rooms, mini kitchen which was very good when travelling with a toddler. Good location - walked all over Manhatten from here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XKCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,381
    1,651
    355
    132
    85
See reviews for
1,430
1,435
207
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
miami
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Great service at reception (Purunima was very kind and efficient) - rooms spacy and well conceived - Housekeeping equally kind and efficient - will definitely use this Hotel again.
Main Hall a little dark for my taste.

Very much appreciated our stay with you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank figaro1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashelburneny, Assistant General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Dear figaro1946,

My name is Jennifer Baldwin and I am the Assistant General Manager of the Affinia Shelburne Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to read that you connected with our staff, and will share your feedback with Purnima, Guest Service Agent at the Front Desk. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Affinia Shelburne in the future.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

Stayed here for one night on our way home back to Rochester from the Bahamas.

The hotel is very nice, the staff was very helpful and personable, and the location is just a few blocks from grand central. There isn't much to say about this hotel other than it is unique and cute and a breathe of fresh air from the chain hotels - hyatt, hilton, etc...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberfitchfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed in this hotel over spring break with our 2 teenage daughters. It was wonderful. The staff was kind and gave us to ajoining rooms for the same price as one room. This worked out great with girls and trying to share one bathroom. The rooms were clean and well taken care of. We would definitely choose this hotel again. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashelburneny, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Dear flea76,

Thank you for your recent posting detailing your recent stay at the Affinia Shelburne. As General Manager, I was so pleased to read how you connected with the Hotel and our staff. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

this was a wonderful hotel for the price & location. I have been to NYC many times, and can honestly say I have never gotten this good of a price for the location and beneftis. The room was larger than expexted, clean, and quiet. The only negative was a loud bed that squeeked with every movement and I think the matress could use updating. Also, the lack of including internet access is a major negative, but there is a Starbucks 2 blocks away

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdfmkarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed at the Affinia Shelburne for two nights in March. Got a great rate from Travelzoo. The room and bath were very clean and the bed was comfortable.

Service at the front desk was perfunctory and indifferent. The doormen and restaurant staff were terrific--very friendly and welcoming--so it's too bad the first impression is so unpleasant.

The location and neighborhood are both great. Easy to navigate and convenient.

Like a previous poster, I filled in a survey after my stay and detailed my concerns about the service.

This would be a terrific mid-price hotel if the front desk service were improved.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannarellaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashelburneny, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2010
Dear NannarellaBoston,

My name is David McManus and I am the General Manager of the Affinia Shelburne Hotel. Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor detailing your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the inconsistent service levels you experienced and assure you that I have already addressed your feedback with my Director of Front Office. At the Affinia Shelburne, our goal is to provide the highest levels of genuine service to each of our guests and it seems our team did not provide you with that during your stay. I am disappointed that our Team did not meet your expectations and hope you will provide us with another opportunity to connect with you in the future.

Sincerely,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago and decided on a revisit after discovering it has been refurbished from top to bottom and taken over by Affinia. It is in a great location and is excepional value . This time, we booked a one bedroom suite for our 4 night stay. We were orignally allocated one with a large lounge but the bedroom and bathroom were very small. I requested a change and this was happily accommodated -what a difference!! This one was superb, with fantastic views from the lounge, bedroom and even the bathroom (1405). The bedroom had a super king and really comfortable bed. The kitchen area was really useful, with a full sized fridge including ice maker together with a coffe/tea maker. Room was spotlessly clean and well appointed and its configuration meant that it incredibly quiet, especially for new York. We had just spent the previous three nights in the excellent Fairmont Battery Wharf in Boston, so I was a little concerned that the standard of the Affinia Shelborne may be a bit of a come down, I am pleased to say this was absolutely not the case (the only give away being the rather small bath towels!) - and the prce for four nights was the same as the three we spent at the Fairmont.
I found the concierge at the Shelburne to be disinterested and unhelpful on both the occasions I requested help, but this did not affect my experience as we merely sorted things ourselves. We used Lincoln Limo's for our return trip to Newark, which worked out cheaper than a metered cab and the service and car they provided was great. Third Avenue, the next block East from the Hotel has loads of restaurants (Hudson Place very nice and great value) and the hotel is only minutes from Grand Central and about 15 minutes stroll from Times Square. I can also recommend the Emproium Brasil restaurant in W46th, great food and service.
(A visit to the Top of the Rock is a must!!)
We will not stay anywhere else on our next visit to new York if these standards are maintained.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cliffandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashelburneny, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
Dear cliffandjules,

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Affinia Shelburne. As General Manager, I am so pleased to read that you connected with our staff and enjoyed your stay with us! I would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our Concierge and will be addressing your feedback with them directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Affinia Shelburne the next time your travels bring you back to NYC.

Sincerely,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,734 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,685 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Superbreak UK so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing