We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #134 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This was our 4th trip to NYC and we've stayed at different hotels every time. We always look for bargains and this is our best find to date. We got the room for a steal at $139.00/night with Travelzoo. While the photos on the Web site were very nice, I was worried that it was too good to be true. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel lobby is very chic, check-in was a breeze and our room was big, beautiful, very modern-looking with a flatscreen TV and marble bathroom. I particularly liked the location, very close to Grand Central Station, many restaurants around (including Scotty's a block away which serves a great breakfast) and near a residential area which allows you to be around New Yorkers rather than just tourists.

Our only drawback was that our room wasn't cleaned one day. I called the front desk and clean towels and glasses were promptly delivered to our room. There is no ice machine on the floors but if you call the front desk, they will deliver it very promptly to your room.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolaottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,809 - 3,815 of 4,924 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

I got a good deal and that's why I rated it high on Value. As any other hotel in NY it's all about the dates. Very nice rooms, amazing beds and the service is good.
You walk 4 min to subway.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We were super pleased with the Affinia Shelburne. The location is convenient, the rooms were roomy and groovy, and the staff were amazingly kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALiceJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

My daughter & I recently spent a long weekend in NYC. We decided to stay at the Affinia Shelburne based on other reviews posted to this site. We weren't disappointed. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite w/ 2 double sized beds. The bedroom was roomy and the beds were comfortable. The living room area was nice and bigger than expected and having the kitchenette was useful. Both the living area and the bedroom have flat screen TV's. The bathroom was a tad small, but everything else more than made up for it. The restaurant, Rare, is good too. The hotel's close proximity to Grand Central Station made traveling the subway easy. Great location to get uptown or downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownsfanstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed at the Affinia Shelburne last week - March 23-27, 2010. The room was a good size, nice desk, beautiful bathroom, good quality toiletries & very nice kitchenette. The bed was comfortable, room was quite & the location was excellent for exploring the city. Close to Grand Central Station & Midtown. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly. I'd stay here again & will recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

The rooms were alot bigger than expected. Brilliant bathroom. Beds really comfy and i think its brilliant how they offer a free pillow menu. Deffiantly helped me sleep better. All staff were brilliant, really friendly and helpful. The location is great, within walking distance to almost everything. Definatly great value for money. It was my first ever trip abroud and it was amazing. Would definatly use this hotel again. Made mine and friends stay great. Thankyou

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberley_s91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I Stayed at The Shelburne hotel in Murray Hill nyc, which is part of the Affinia group of hotels. My trip with my niece was on 29th December to 5th January 2010 mainly to spend new years at Time Square. From the moment the concierge at our hotel opened our taxi door as we arrived, to the day we left we were treated to the best customer Service anywhere i have stayed around the world ( except maybe The Cumberland in Marble Arch, London ! ) From the concierges, reception staff, cleaners, We couldn't of asked anymore of them all. The rooms were spotless, very modern, the walk in shower was excellent. the bed was so comfortable. The location of the hotel was fantastic, just a couple of minutes walk to Grand Central Station which can take you to anywhere in New York. From leaving our hotel we where in Times Square in less than ten minutes. I look forward very much returning to New York, there isn't anywhere else i would stay besides The Shelburne in Murray Hill. Thanks once again to everbody concerned. I would urge everyone to stay at this hotel !!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#173 of 470 in New York City
1,422 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 470 in New York City
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#295 of 470 in New York City
470 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 470 in New York City
547 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 470 in New York City
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £119 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing