We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Chester, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great find!!!”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We traveled to NYC for Easter Week 2010 with two teenagers. We wanted a suite at a reasonable price. The Affinia Shelburne is an amazing find! Our 15th floor room had a balcony with views of the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building. The room itself had a kitchenette, dining area, large living room with sofa bed, large bath and large bedroom with king sized bed. Beautiful at any price and unbelievable for NYC! The hotel staff could not have been nicer and more accomodating. The hotel is located in Murray Hill .... a five minute walk to Grand Central Station or United Nations, a five minute taxi ride to Times Square, Gramercy Park, Central Park or Union Square, 10 minute ride to Battery Park and Ground Zero, and a great residential neighborhood with lots of terrific restaurants. We found the location perfect ... we were very close to all of the sights and places you would want to visit in NYC, but were able to sleep in quiet bliss without the blare of car horns, crowds or flashing lights that are part of Times Square. The only disappointment was that we had heard the hotel restaurant was awesome ... it's called Rare ... but it was jam packed all day and night and we never got the opportunity to have a drink or meal there. It's obviously very popular with locals!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alannancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,464
    1,734
    371
    134
    87
See reviews for
1,510
1,476
216
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed several days in room 1413 and without question, best kids hotel ever in New York. We had Check In Cupcakes delivered and we rented a guitar for my daughter. The room was HUGE with two separate rooms, a kitchen and dinning area. The staff was also exceptional. It's location made walking to Times Square, American Girl and dinning options perfect. We're all new fans of this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We booked this hotel through travelocity and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms we were allocated. They were as requested and more. As a family of five, we wanted two rooms so booked a twin and a suite. The rooms were spacious and elegant, and the suite had the bonus of a small balcony with views of both the Empire State Building and Chrysler Building. the hotel rooftop garden, although undergoing renovation, was a joy and offered panoramic views. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The location was quiet but still central - only 5 minutes walk from Grand Central terminal, about 10 minutes from Times Square. Also, lots of places to eat locally - we particularly liked Bloom's Deli a couple of blocks away for breakfast. The hotel bar/restaurant "Rare" was very good and had an interesting menu.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashelburneny, Assistant General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
Dear SimonJC,

My name is Jennifer Baldwin and I am the Assistant General Manager at the Affinia Shelburne Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to read that you connected with our staff and accommodations. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future.


Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This was our 4th trip to NYC and we've stayed at different hotels every time. We always look for bargains and this is our best find to date. We got the room for a steal at $139.00/night with Travelzoo. While the photos on the Web site were very nice, I was worried that it was too good to be true. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel lobby is very chic, check-in was a breeze and our room was big, beautiful, very modern-looking with a flatscreen TV and marble bathroom. I particularly liked the location, very close to Grand Central Station, many restaurants around (including Scotty's a block away which serves a great breakfast) and near a residential area which allows you to be around New Yorkers rather than just tourists.

Our only drawback was that our room wasn't cleaned one day. I called the front desk and clean towels and glasses were promptly delivered to our room. There is no ice machine on the floors but if you call the front desk, they will deliver it very promptly to your room.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I got a good deal and that's why I rated it high on Value. As any other hotel in NY it's all about the dates. Very nice rooms, amazing beds and the service is good.
You walk 4 min to subway.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We were super pleased with the Affinia Shelburne. The location is convenient, the rooms were roomy and groovy, and the staff were amazingly kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALiceJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2010

My daughter & I recently spent a long weekend in NYC. We decided to stay at the Affinia Shelburne based on other reviews posted to this site. We weren't disappointed. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite w/ 2 double sized beds. The bedroom was roomy and the beds were comfortable. The living room area was nice and bigger than expected and having the kitchenette was useful. Both the living area and the bedroom have flat screen TV's. The bathroom was a tad small, but everything else more than made up for it. The restaurant, Rare, is good too. The hotel's close proximity to Grand Central Station made traveling the subway easy. Great location to get uptown or downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownsfanstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4,837 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,652 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing