We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New York value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #127 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great New York value and location”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

This was our first visit to NY and this hotel was a great part of the experience.
The staff is very friendly and helpful - it does not matter whether you need a dentist right away or if you want to know where you can watch the 4th of July fireworks from. The rooms are clean, newly decorated and the perfect size for a week in the city.
The location in midtown near Grand central terminal makes it easy to go anywhere in Manhatten. Also great walking distance to Times Square.
Breakfast (not included in the price) is served in the hotel bar/grill but we would recommend Blooms diner just a few blocks up on Lexington.
We will come back to NY and to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler26Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,445
    1,718
    366
    134
    85
See reviews for
1,493
1,467
216
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Just left Affinia Shelburne yesterday after a weeks stay. Great location and great rooms. Totally enjoyed my stay there. The staff were all good, but completely stand out as being the best staff were Rita and Dennis, thankyou guys for all your help and advice. (Dennis, we DID make our way out of NYC without too many hassles!) Really enjoyed the rooftop bar, the staff were efficient, but only a couple of them had nice/fun personalities. One of the waitresses who was really nice was Anne, unfortunately, didnt get the name of the other one. Rare Restaurant was great too, all the staff there were very friendly. If I had one negative comment to make, it would be that there was no free wireless internet to the rooms, unusual these days, and not expected that a NYC hotel would not supply this.
Thankyou guys, our trip to NYC was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This was our first time in New York (early July 2010) so no past experience about hotels or locations in NY.
I had read the reviews prior to our trip, however we were both pleasantly surprised.
Reception staff were welcoming and efficien,t and our room was huge and comfortable.
Generally the hotel looked good, however there were a few things that were obviously a legacy from before the renovation e.g. the room safe was old, as was the air con and the lifts were a bit slow, but this did not detract from the overall nice feel about the place.
The roof garden was a good place to enjoy a drink, again staff there were pleasant.
Location was good in a quiet suburb and is close to the Empire State building, Macys & Grand Central Terminal and is within walking distance of many other places.
The Murray Hill Market on the corner of 34th was a good place to get sandwiches and drinks etc and only a few blocks away.
This hotel is definitely worth recommending.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertWorcesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Affinia Shelburne last weekend. There are some things that were absolutely great - while others just left us scratching our heads.

After a delay in our flight, we didn't get to the hotel until nearly 10pm. Although I'd asked for a standard room on a higher floor, all rooms were booked except a small one (309) on floor 3 with a view of the air conditioning units and a low-level humming sound from them. The hotel moved us to the 9th floor the next morning as requested which was good because it turned out that the shower didn't work in room 309. Here is our take on the Affinia Shelburne:

The GREAT
Large rooms: These are BIG rooms by NYC standards. Even the smaller room on the 3rd floor was large enough and the room on the 9th floor was huge - with a king size bed, a day bed and lots of floor space to move around.
Safe and refrigerator: You can use the fridge to keep leftovers cold.
Rooftop: Although the rooftop bar is only open at certain hours, the rooftop is open to guests 24/7 and has great views.
Water pressure: The water pressure in the shower was outstanding on the 9th floor.
Bed: Nice comfortable bed with good linens and lots of pillows.
Housekeeping staff: Very friendly.
A/C: We were there during a heatwave and were grateful for the strong A/C in the room.
Cool furnishings: There were some cool avant-garde furnishings like a bathroom mirror with an illuminated frame.
Lighting: The room had natural light from the windows and many lamps which provided plenty of light.
The neighborhood: The proximity to the shops on 3rd avenue was a big plus. We ate at Sarge's Deli and Vic's bagel bar. There was also a wine store, a Walgreens and several groceries within a block of the hotel.
Housekeeping carts in the hallways after hours: Although not the most attractive, it made it easy to get extra towels.

The Not so GREAT
The bathroom door in room 916: There was no regular door, just an unfinished sliding door which moved on a track outside of the bathroom. Didn't give us a sense of privacy.
The doorman: No problems until check-out when he extorted our cab driver to pay him $5 (on top of the $2 we gave him) to take us to the airport. We wondered why a number of empty cabs didn't stop and found out later that his 5 fingers in the air meant he wanted $5 from the cab driver for being selected. He was also pushing us to take the town car to the airport.
The elevators: Old, not renovated and no a/c. Not a very good intro to the hotel.
Computers: There were 2 in the lobby and they wanted 50 cents per minute to use them.
The overall condition of the hotel/room: Although the room was nicely appointed, the walls were scuffed and the furniture housing the bathroom sink had seen better days. This, coupled with the hot unrenovated elevators, really made us question whether this hotel was quite finished.

The Affinia Shelburne has a lot going for it and we'd consider going back - although not as a first choice. We hope they finish their renovations soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
affiniaduny, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Dear baileyfirestone,

My name is David McManus and I am the General Manager of the Affinia Shelburne Hotel. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We continuously use our guest's feedback as a learning opportunity for our Team to ensure we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. We look forward to connecting with you again in the future.

Sincerely,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore,Ok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed at the Affinia on some hot, hot days. It was so nice to return to a cool, cool room. I had a single room that was wonderful. It was clean, attractive and even had an icemaker in the little refrigerator. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. All the staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yukie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
affiniaduny, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Dear Yukie60,

My name is Jennifer Baldwin and I am the Assistant General Manager of the Affinia Shelburne Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to read that you had an opportunity to connect with our staff and our large rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Affinia Shelburne in the future!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Visiting New York for my partners 50th Birthday, the hotel offered us everything we were looking for. We opted for a deluxe suite and were delighted with the size of the accomodation. We had our own terrace overlooking Lexington Avenue with views of Empire State and the Chrysler Building, which was an unexpected bonus. Despite being in the centre of the City we were amazed how little noise there was at night and found sleeping in the huge bed an absolute pleasure. The helpfullness and warmth of the staff- in particular Andy- added to our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleFussy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Myself, fiancé and 12 year old step-daughter stayed at the Affinia Shelburne for 7 nights at the end of June 2010.

We arrived early for check-in and although I had requested an earlier check-in this was not possible and we were asked to return at 3 pm. Upon our return our suite was still not ready so we were given an upgraded one-bedroom deluxe suite on the 12th floor. Sadly my request for a room with a view of the Empire State Building was not fulfilled and instead we were overlooking the East River.

The room was very spacious with a very large lounge with the sofa bed, a good sized kitchenette and a large main bedroom. The bathroom was also a good size though we missed having a bath and the shower glass door was not large enough to stop most of our shower water ending up on the floor! There were also signs of wear and tear and the towel rail was not put on straight.

The kitchenette was suitable for our needs i.e. a fridge for our drinks although it did have a microwave if required.

There was a large storage cupboard in both the lounge and the bedroom for hanging up our clothes and hiding our shoes and luggage. There were large drawers again in the bedroom and lounge, however these were in a poor state of repair and I needed to use both feet to push my drawer shut every day.

The bed in the main bedroom was enormous and very comfortable indeed. The sofa bed was a good size though we could not always be bothered to pull it out which does require some muscles. On our first night we were of course extremely tired and frustrated to find that the sofa bed had not been made up. It took several calls to housekeeping before this was done. We also had to request an ironing board as this was not in our room. It was nice though that when we ordered extra pillows we had a menu to choose from!

The flat screen TVs were good although we had issues with the remotes not working properly all the time.

The lobby was a nice space and it was very helpful to have free access to print our boarding passes off. We were not interested in using Wifi so cannot comment on the cost of this.

We ate at the Rare bar and grill which was a bit hit and miss. We did also have room service but a 18% automatic gratuity tip did nearly put us off this.

All the staff we encountered were courteous and efficient. They were apologetic when we had our issues and also that one of the main lifts was out of order for several of the days.

Overall this hotel is in an excellent location. The Murray Hill area is nice and quiet but so close to all the main sites. Our room was a brilliant size with good amenities, although I think most of the furniture needs some upgrading. There were just too many small niggles to make this a perfect stay but I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaiOm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#109 of 468 in New York City
4,828 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#189 of 468 in New York City
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#64 of 468 in New York City
5,019 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,976 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing