We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and very large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #122 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very large rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Have just spent a week in an appartment at the Affinia Shelburne. Went for appartment over room, as I hate small hotel rooms with nowhere to sit (apart from the bed). I dont think that would have been a problem at the Shelburne as the bedroom was massive! Also, the bed was enormous.

I emailed in advance after booking the trip, to ask for a room with a nice view, as the trip was to celebrate my partner's 40th birthday and I thought it couldnt hurt to ask. We were given the most amazing view of the Empire State Building to wake up to every morning. Thank you, Affinia!

The location of the hotel is just perfect. Few blocks/5 min walk to Grand Central and all the subway lines there. We tried out a bar one block down called the Junction, which is Irish-run and has free wifi, and good beer on draft. We ate at a Chinese restaurant across the road, and the food was great.

Staff at the hotel were very good and friendly, especially the lady concierge who kindly checked us in to our flights online, and printed off our boarding passes, and told us how to get to Newark airport via Penn Station on the train.

Both lifts are all working fine now, and one tip if there is a queue at the lifts is that there is actually a 3rd lift, which no-one seems to know about or use, it was always empty!

We would definitely stay at the Affinia Shelbourne again, you just can't beat the location and size of the rooms and standards of the hotel for the value of the price that we paid.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StreathamMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,407
    1,670
    359
    133
    85
See reviews for
1,454
1,446
211
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

The Shelburne was fantastic the suite was large, very comfortable and well appointed. The staff were attentive and always helpful. The location was so convenient. It became a real home away from home for us. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossj1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Checked in for a week (got a great rate because we were staying 7 nights). On arrival we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Check-in was very quick and hassle free. We were given all the info. we needed before making our way to our room.

There seems to be a few complaints in other reviews that there is only one elevator. There is a second "service" elevator that is for guest use while the main one is being renovated so I never had more than a short wait so don't let it put you off.

Our room was on the third floor and was really lovely. I was very pleasantly surprised by the size - lots of room for 2 people and luggage etc. The decor was modern, simple and clean. The bathroom was also impeccable and was kept that way throughout our stay.

The location is great - we saw all of Manhatten on foot. While everyone may not be quite so keen on walking, it is only a short stroll to Grand Central Station, Times Square etc. etc. etc.

The only minor fault I could find with the hotel is that the staff tended to be quite loud in the mornings. This didn't matter too much as we were up early most days to fit everything in but on the few occasions we fancied a lie-in this was a little annoying.

Would definitely recommend to anyone though, a great hotel for a great price!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B0b85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Great location ~ right near The Empire State Building! Great food in RARE restaurant! Great guest service ~ from the moment we arrive everyone was friendly and helpful! The Bellmen, the Front Desk Agents, Housekeeping, Concierge, Restaurant Staff ~ can't say enough!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Back in November 2010 my mum, aunt and myself visited New York during Thanksgiving week. I have to say, we all had the most fantastic time in New York and staying at the lovely boutique hotel, Affinia Shelburne, made our visit even more enjoyable. The bedroom size was more than ample for us and we could even see the Empire State building from our bedroom window. The hotel is in an excellent location - within close walking distance to Grand Central Station and 34th Street for shopping.

The staff were brilliant. A special hello to Andy and Rita on reception – they were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome! The front door staff were so pleasant and helpful too. We also enjoyed the morning tea and early evening fruit juice provided near the reception. The only negative comment would be the lifts, they were renovating the lifts at that time so you just had to wait a while for the lifts to arrive. We didn’t mind though – we were on holiday! Hopefully, I will be able to return to this fantastic city in the near future, and if I do, I hope to stay at the Affinia Shelburne!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBlake2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

In this well located, central location, staying at the Affinia Shelburne was a delightful experience. Booking through Quikbook, I obtained an unbeatable rate for a comfortable, well appointed single room with excellent amenities. My only quibble would focus on a certain noisiness filtering from the corridors through the room. Excellent service, concierge help, and delightful and potent free morning coffee. A sure return.

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Torontonian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valladolid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

The rooms in this hotel are the biggest I´ve ever seen. We had a suite and it was very comfortable, with two wardrobes, kitchenette and a huge bathroom. The staff was very kind, and I want to make an special mention to Jada-Lee Mcgill, who was always interested in satisfy our requests.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelitoenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,766 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,831 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,781 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing