We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We wanted a hotel convenient to the theater district and this fit the need. The hotel was very clean and all service personnel were very friendly and accommodating. The price was very good and with a parking package made it well worth the stay. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a corner room so there was a view in two different directions which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Joseph A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your recent stay. We are extremely happy that we were able to meet all your expectations at the Hotel and eagerly look forward to your return stay.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,458
    2,053
    1,442
    629
    531
See reviews for
2,371
2,107
291
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone going to new york.

the price vs loaction cannot be beaten. it is in the middle of times square but doesnt cost an arm and a leg.

the staff were very friendly when we got there and gave us an option of two rooms to chose from as there is construction going on in the main reception area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The1927Clubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear The1927Clubber,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review about your recent stay and for recommending the Hotel to other travelers. We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet all your expectations during your stay and anxiously await the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

After the "exciting" cab ride from LGA we pulled up to our hotel, the bell hop got our bags at curbside and we went in and was greeted by a smiling person behind the counter and in a few minutes we were heading to our room, 1928. Spending a few dollars more for the deluxe level(18th floor and above)and also requesting a corner room was worth it, also take advantage of the 50% email club they offer on their site and free WIFI. The hotel was dated and hopefully it will be updated from top to bottom, the room was very nice, everything worked and the view was of 7th and 50th.The housekeeping staff was very pleasant and greeted you with a smile. My wife visited the grab and go every morning and was greeted by John which treated us like family and remembered what we were doing and made you feel at home, VERY good person to have in that position. When we were checking out I was ill and he went above board to see that I was alright, like family, and with a hand shake and a smile( which was always on his face) we left this very nice hotel with good feelings to come back to. We were greeted by snow on Saturday12/14 and it made the perfect time to see NYC( we're from Florida) When we come back we will be staying at The Manhattan because of 1st the people, location and price. Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Michael G,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your five star experience at the Hotel . We are delighted to know that your first trip to New York was memorable and the team eagerly awaits your return to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The location and price (booked when 40% off) allowed us to overlook the dated facilities and refurbishment process. We booked a room expecting to use a cot as such was listed as an amenity but were told upon arrival no cots allowed as they were a fire hazard. After being creative with sleep arrangements, we found bedding to be clean but minimal - heavier bedding would have been appreciated. Housekeeping staff overlooked servicing both of our rooms after our first night but sent staff quickly upon request. The location is great with a Starbucks nearby to allow one to skip the lobby coffee/snack station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Dustin B,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay. We are disappointed to learn from your comments that we were unable to provide you with a five star experience at the Hotel. We apologize for the unfavorable experience you had with the room assignment and hope to have an opportunity to redeem ourselves should your travels bring you back to the city. Please contact me or any of the Managers on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail, manhattangr@mtshotel.com as we want to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Hotel for any future visits to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I, along our children in the past, have been staying at this hotel since it was constructed and was Lowe's City Squire! The location can't be beat and, with the renovation, it will be a very much in demand. Unfortunately, I must assume, the rate structure will not be as attractive as it is now.

We look forward to the completion of the renovation!

Paul

Room Tip: location, location, location, location, location, location, location, location, location, location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your hotel stay. We appreciate your loyalty over the years and look forward to being of service to you on your next visit to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We booked this hotel 9 months ago and had no idea of their refurbishment, that said the upgrade to reception did not interefere with us in any way, but there were some basics that they simply couldn't get right.

I was impressed with the pre arrival e-mail they send to see if you have any specific needs and I though if that level of customer service was what we could expect we were set to enjoy our annual NY trip.

Arriving after a long journey (from London) and dropped off some 30 yards from the entrance I would have expected a bell boy to have been available to take our bags as it was obvious we were heading for the hotel and after battling through the crowded streets, revolving doors and arriving at reception I noticed a bell boy glaring at his cell phone, a disappointing start.

Check in was painless enough, again no offer of help with our bags to the room though.

Room was a great size for NY with a view towards Times Sq, it had everything we were told it would have, the bed was comfortable though a sheet an thin duvet wasn't ideal for December, we therefore kept the heating on through the night which eventually gave up after a few days and needed maintenance to repair (which they did promptly).
Room was extremely tired as was the lobby, probably 30 years since it last saw a tin of paint.

I was expecting a fax though after speaking with two members of reception staff it appears no-one in the hotel knows where their fax machine is, Valerie stepped in and gave me her personal e-mail address which I duly passed on and she printed the documents for me and delivered them to my room, quality service I'd kind of expected from the start.

No bar is not ideal but you don't have to walk far in NY to grab a beer.
A small drinks/bagel/pastry cart was in reception but the quality was average and most items costly, a major hotel like this needs something bigger and better and I assume the refurbishment with provide this.

The phone in the room didn't work so I couldn't get a bell boy to help us with our many bags on exit, only when we arrived in reception did we get some help.

All in all it was a decent stay, we didn't pay a fortune for the room, the location was good but the hotel has some basic issues it has to address, I doubt we'll re-visit even post refurb but you can't get away from the fact it is an inexpensive hotel in a prime location and as NY hotel rooms go this one was spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear UK2NY,

Thank you for posting a review about your Hotel stay. We are disappointed to know that we were unable to provide you with a five star experience and apologize for any inconvenience you faced at the Hotel. I am happy to inform you that we are in the process of making some important enhancements to include a lobby bar which will add to the amenities available to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel to experience the exiting changes being undertaken.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel for 4 nights in 2 different rooms. The first room had severe problems in the plumbing (no hot water, the toilet clogged), so we were offered another room which didn't have any of those problems.

Luckily the staff was always polite and willing to help. Special mention goes to the Front Desk Manager Tim Olohan who was extremely helpful with getting us the second room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Kari K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your Hotel stay. We are happy to learn that Tim was able to correct the unfortunate situation you encountered with the initial room assigned to you. Our ultimate goal is to ensure all our guests who stay with us have a desire to return and we eagerly look forward to being of service to you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,467 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#382 of 468 in New York City
4,008 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 468 in New York City
9,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,969 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,405 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing