We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very helpful manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and very helpful manager”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is in the process of renovation, starting in the lobby. The rooms are clean, good bed and shower but greatly needing redecorating. However the location and price can't be beat!! We met Keith, the manager, who graciously upgraded our room to a higher floor so it was very quiet in our room. We walked everywhere- Broadway shows, museums and great restaurants. A real find in Times Square! Thank you, Keith!!

Room Tip: Higher floor and corner room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bubbie33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Bunnie33324,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your Hotel Stay. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,462
    2,057
    1,443
    634
    532
See reviews for
2,376
2,113
291
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Dingy, has seen better days

Did not like the broken tiles, rusted fixture and stained bedding

Looks to be in perpetual state of repair

Though people were nice, but them alone cannot make up for the dismal state of the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou02865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Loulou02865,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any discomfort you were put through during your stay. Your comments were shared with the team in an effort to correct the deficiencies you encountered at the Hotel. We hope you give us an opportunity to better serve you should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Having been on a two week coach trip starting in Boston threw Canada ending in New York we arrived at the Manhatton with mixed emotions this was to be our last hotel before going home .On going in the reception area was packed with people and luggage it was a very small area no where to sit down ,part of it was boarded off as there was noisy work going on not a good welcome ,our coach guide got our room numbers and then it was a fight to get a lift .Our bedroom was of a nice size but in need of upgrade (of which I believe they are gradually doing). We had problems in sleeping as there were a party of school children in the rooms either side of us doors banging children in an out of rooms all night we had to call down to the desk and complain all was quiet for awhile then started again the teacher then had to sit out in the corridor but even she had no control over them we tried talking to her about it but got abuse from her as well. Could not fault the hotel for its location we were able to walk to Central Park walk to Broadway theatre area shops etc ,there was no shortage of places to eat on walking from the hotel I am sure this hotel will be great when the refurbishment is fully finished .We loved New York and was sad to leave.

Room Tip: If you have a room looking on to the front main road of which we had ,you can see all the yellow tax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Judith72,

Thank you for posting a review about your Hotel stay. We are happy to learn that although you had some noise issues at the Hotel your trip to New York was enjoyable. Please know we are looking at options on how we could avoid any future guest from experiencing similar inconveniences like you did and hope that you return to experience all that the city has to offer.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here for st patricks weekend as we were marching in it, rooms good size, very clean, beds perfect, didnt eat in the hotel,(wasnt part of the package) location was the brilliant, just a few blocks away from Time Sq., TGI'S and Mc Donalds were across the street, along with other resturants and cafes, booked hotel through booking.com, when we checked out of the hotel the city tax was nearly $300 added on to my booking price, overall good location

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellzM321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear KellzM321,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back when you visit New York next.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

if you're looking for a spot, in the middle of manhattan, to sleep and shower, this is the place for you…some friends and i decided to book a trip to NYC "the day before" (from an hour out)…we scored tickets to "pippin" and were excited to experience downtown NYC…be warned…the pictures on the hotel website are NOTHING like the "real deal"…maybe they're in the midst of renovating and, if so, they should mention that on their website…the actual experience doesn't come close to what is pictured….the rooms were adequate, but, were stuffy and humid (in december, mind you)…we were advised to open our window, because there was no AC (huh?)…i, honestly, did not sleep at all, during my stay…and then, there's the mold in the shower/tub…and, "concierge"? um, not feeling that, either….just my two cents, mind you….

Room Tip: no restaurant, pool, or in-house bar….and the breakfast display was laughable….
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ldythang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Idythang1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations at the Hotel and apologize for any inconvenience you were put through. Your comments were shared with the team to help us better our service for all future guests. We hope that you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel over New Year. It was not my first choice in hotel but on arrival we checked in and our room wasn't ready and so we were made to wait in the lobby for 15 minutes. Once they called us and advised our room was ready they advised that they had upgrades us to a slightly bigger corner room, 1446. The room was adequate and clean. To be honest for us, was fine. We did not spend much time in the room as this was our first trip to NYC and we wanted to see as much as we could.
The stay was comfortable and we found the staff helpful and friendly. Our room was tended to everyday and the coffee machine in our room was always stocked and bins emptied. The maid on our floor at the time was fab!
The location of the hotel is a great one. As you walk out of the main entrance you have a perfect view of times square when you look to your right (where we watched the ball drop from) and it is maybe 4 blocks down. Central Park in 5-6 blocks to the left. As times square is fairly busy we loved that the hotel wasn't right on times square as we felt it may have been too nosy had that been the case.
We had a great view out of our room of the Late Show on Broadway.

Overall would definitely reccomend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amylette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Amylette,

Thank you for posting a favorable review about your Hotel stay. We appreciate your positive comments and eagerly await your return when you revisit New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is in a prime location - right in all the hustle & bustle of time square which is nice for a tourist. The hotel itself wasn't all that great!
Extremely small room, lobby was always filled with people, could hardly get access onto the wi-fi. The hotel definitely could use some improvements and make it a little more modern; however, for the price we paid we cannot complain.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaunkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Spaunkos,

Thank you for posting a review about your Hotel stay. I am happy to learn from your comments that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the Hotel. We are in the process of making some changes that will enhance our guest experience and hope that you have the opportunity to experience these enhancements when you return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,536 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,022 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,971 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 468 in New York City
9,410 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing