We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #298 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The best cost - benefit relation in a hotel at new york city. Dont expect breakfast included or free wi-fi (not even in the lobby). close to all the attractions (broadway, times square, MoMa, central park)

Room Tip: ask for king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmarTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Andrea R,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that the location of the Hotel was to your liking and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,545 - 4,551 of 7,965 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hi
The hotel hash a great location. The suite was very well could tell she was newly renovated.
Very polite staff.
Value for money is very good.
These close to everything,theaters ,restaurants,shops.
A few blocks from Madison Square .
Repeat when I return .
Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Alicia L,

Thank you for posting a review. Your positive comments are appreciated and we are delighted to know that you will come back for a return stay when in New York. We look forward to hosting you on your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our first time staying at The Manhattan at Times Square. This hotel was chosen for us via Hotwire and ended up with a great price for a Times Square hotel. The location is excellent if you want to be right in the middle of Times Square hustle and bustle. The service we received from the staff was excellent. Although very busy the front desk agent at check in was very helpful and took a few minutes to explain all the hotel amenities. Conveniently, there is a parking garage located behind the hotel so parking is not a problem.
The room we stayed in on the 14th floor was acceptable, considering the price we payed. The air conditioning system was marginal at best. I thought the TV had a rabbit ear antenna because the signal was so weak.
As another reviewer stated, this is not a resort. It's a fine hotel if you just need a place to crash while exploring the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Gary C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very Happy to know that your stay at the Hotel met your expectations and forward to hosting you again should you return to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here in September 2013 as part of a long weekend package deal. After initially being put into a room next to the lifts we asked for a change of room. 10 mins later we were in a much better room.
All in all the experience was very pleasant and if you're looking to stay in a centrally based hotel offering easy access to the major attractions in New York then you can't go wrong. Situated on 7th Avenue and 51st, Central Park, Times Square, the major museums, Rockafeller Centre, Carnegie Hall, Grand Central, Empire State all within easy walking distance.
If it's grandeur you're looking for then look elsewhere, but if you're after a convenient, value for money hotel then this would be a good choice. For our 4 night stay, considering we spent a lot of our time seeing the sights, this hotel was ideal.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not next to a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianE556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear AdrianE556,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are happy to learn from your comments that you had a pleasant experience during your stay at the Hotel. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time that I stayed here. Yes, this property is aging and there is some construction going on. However you can't beat price and location.
This is not a resort where you will spend your time. You are in NYC so chances are this just a place to sleep for 6-8 hours and get out again. For that this hotel is just fine.
We were there is spring and fall and heat/ AC was not an issue for us.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Rossar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Rossar,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that you chose our Hotel for a return stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Driving into a city like New York always gives me quite a bit of anxiety, but the Manhattan in Times Square was thankfully very easy to access and park near. The location is extremely convenient to everything the area has to offer and their rates are very affordable, but that's unfortunately all the positive things I really have to say about it. The halls and rooms are rather dingy, air conditioning is borderline ineffectual, and the television signal is weak and scrambled. The door to our room was loose so it would rattle every time another door near us was closed. Housekeeping was still working around our room even though we arrived past check-in, and rudely tried to remove our fridge before realizing we could keep it at no extra cost. My overall impression of the hotel is that it's very disorganized and not well-kept.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank acutler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Acutler6,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to learn from your feedback that we were unable to meet your expectations at the Hotel and sincerely apologize for your unfavorable experience. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

After reading some of the reviews here I was reticent to stay at the hotel but had gotten a good deal on the price so I took the chance for an Easter Weekend. We were very pleased with this hotel. Service was pleasant and helpful, location is fantastic. You can walk to any theater and an easy walk to Hell's Kitchen. The subway is just around the corner for other locations and it is such a short distance from Times Sq that any subway line is an option!

Our room was good sized with a king bed (seemed more like a queen) that was very comfortable., the room and the bathroom were always spotless (we stayed 3 nights) they had a coffee maker and a large flat screen TV and a very usable small safe in the closet. There was very little noise from outside or from the hallways. Granted the furnishings are a little dated but for the price and location I would definitely stay here again.

The only drawback was that at certain times the line waiting for the elevator in the lobby was very long but usually disappeared in a short time. It seems there was one elevator out of service and it made it hard sometimes to get an elevator that wasn't packed and stopping on every floor. This was a small inconvenience that has happened to me in many hotels in NYC so I wasn't all that bothered by it.

All in all I found it to be a great deal, very clean and an extremely convenient location.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Aguido,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay at the Hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel and the service you received met your expectations. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#402 of 470 in New York City
4,755 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,897 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#266 of 470 in New York City
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#312 of 470 in New York City
9,975 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#376 of 470 in New York City
1,467 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £93 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing