We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security deposits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #297 of 467 Hotels in New York City
cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Security deposits”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here with my two daughters over the new year. When we checked in we were asked for credit card to pay a security deposit which would be returned to card at end of stay. I have sent several emails to the hotel and today (4months later) I still did not get back my security deposit. When we were checking in I asked if they wanted it in cash and they said no. 180dollars we paid deposit. Be careful if you are asked for deposit because you won't get it back.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony overlooking time square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Kathryn O,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Hotel. We are concerned about your comments and ask that you contact us directly on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com so that we can resolve your billings concerns immediately.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,492
    2,067
    1,463
    643
    552
See reviews for
2,414
2,135
293
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The best cost - benefit relation in a hotel at new york city. Dont expect breakfast included or free wi-fi (not even in the lobby). close to all the attractions (broadway, times square, MoMa, central park)

Room Tip: ask for king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmarTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Andrea R,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that the location of the Hotel was to your liking and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hi
The hotel hash a great location. The suite was very well could tell she was newly renovated.
Very polite staff.
Value for money is very good.
These close to everything,theaters ,restaurants,shops.
A few blocks from Madison Square .
Repeat when I return .
Thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Alicia L,

Thank you for posting a review. Your positive comments are appreciated and we are delighted to know that you will come back for a return stay when in New York. We look forward to hosting you on your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our first time staying at The Manhattan at Times Square. This hotel was chosen for us via Hotwire and ended up with a great price for a Times Square hotel. The location is excellent if you want to be right in the middle of Times Square hustle and bustle. The service we received from the staff was excellent. Although very busy the front desk agent at check in was very helpful and took a few minutes to explain all the hotel amenities. Conveniently, there is a parking garage located behind the hotel so parking is not a problem.
The room we stayed in on the 14th floor was acceptable, considering the price we payed. The air conditioning system was marginal at best. I thought the TV had a rabbit ear antenna because the signal was so weak.
As another reviewer stated, this is not a resort. It's a fine hotel if you just need a place to crash while exploring the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Gary C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very Happy to know that your stay at the Hotel met your expectations and forward to hosting you again should you return to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here in September 2013 as part of a long weekend package deal. After initially being put into a room next to the lifts we asked for a change of room. 10 mins later we were in a much better room.
All in all the experience was very pleasant and if you're looking to stay in a centrally based hotel offering easy access to the major attractions in New York then you can't go wrong. Situated on 7th Avenue and 51st, Central Park, Times Square, the major museums, Rockafeller Centre, Carnegie Hall, Grand Central, Empire State all within easy walking distance.
If it's grandeur you're looking for then look elsewhere, but if you're after a convenient, value for money hotel then this would be a good choice. For our 4 night stay, considering we spent a lot of our time seeing the sights, this hotel was ideal.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not next to a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianE556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear AdrianE556,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are happy to learn from your comments that you had a pleasant experience during your stay at the Hotel. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time that I stayed here. Yes, this property is aging and there is some construction going on. However you can't beat price and location.
This is not a resort where you will spend your time. You are in NYC so chances are this just a place to sleep for 6-8 hours and get out again. For that this hotel is just fine.
We were there is spring and fall and heat/ AC was not an issue for us.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Rossar,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that you chose our Hotel for a return stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Driving into a city like New York always gives me quite a bit of anxiety, but the Manhattan in Times Square was thankfully very easy to access and park near. The location is extremely convenient to everything the area has to offer and their rates are very affordable, but that's unfortunately all the positive things I really have to say about it. The halls and rooms are rather dingy, air conditioning is borderline ineffectual, and the television signal is weak and scrambled. The door to our room was loose so it would rattle every time another door near us was closed. Housekeeping was still working around our room even though we arrived past check-in, and rudely tried to remove our fridge before realizing we could keep it at no extra cost. My overall impression of the hotel is that it's very disorganized and not well-kept.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank acutler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Acutler6,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to learn from your feedback that we were unable to meet your expectations at the Hotel and sincerely apologize for your unfavorable experience. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#385 of 467 in New York City
4,184 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,442 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#271 of 467 in New York City
4,011 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#189 of 467 in New York City
9,480 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing