We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undergoing Renovations But Still Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Undergoing Renovations But Still Good”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Manhattan At Times Square for a little three day mom and daughter visit, making it our third visit in as many years. The hotel is right now undergoing renovations of their lobby and elevators, and although this did cause a little inconvenience, it didn't bother us too much. I'm sure once it's all done, this hotel will look great! The wait for the elevator wasn't too bad, and yes, the lobby was pretty crowded, but the comfort of the beds and the location of this hotel--plus the great rate we received--more than makes up for a little wait time. Now hopefully the rooms can receive a little TLC, although I will still return no matter what!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet14901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Harriet14901,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay experience. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and anxiously look forward to your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,436
    2,034
    1,410
    624
    512
See reviews for
2,341
2,066
286
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,081)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and is stayed at this hotel from April 25th through April 29th. Unfortunately, this hotel is not quite as advertised on their website.

The room (20th floor) was very small, and we could not get the A/C to work well at all. In fact, I am not even sure it worked at all. The room was too warm which required us to open the windows at night. The area is already loud, and keeping the windows open all night didn't help with the noise.

Although the hotel's location was prime, it did not make up for the extremely dirty carpets in the hallways and the dirty walls. This hotel needs a serious makeover.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_IN_OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Steve_IN_OC,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to know from your comments that your stay at the Hotel was not a pleasant one. We sincerely hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in the Manhattan for 3 nights. Location is just perfect. Our room was standard, the bathroom a bit small but our kingsize bed was super clean with super white sheets. It welcomed us as we entered the room! Yes, the hotel is a bit old and yes, the bathroom had stains on the ceiling and yes the carpet was not spotless but nevertheless I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly, checking in and out went quickly, Mohammad Abdullah, front desk, helped us with WiFi and gave us good advice about traveling to the airport. I would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear I R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay. We appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We hope to be of service to you and your friends in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary in New York and we stayed at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel. Our room was on the 11th floor facing Broadway (corner room) .... king size bed....everything we requested. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy. The staff at the front desk were always courteous and helpful. Cleaning staff was very good. We were pleasantly surprised to have free wifi in the lobby with our tablet. They also had computers that guests could use for 15 minute intervals. We were also able to print our boarding passes before we left for the airport. This hotel is very close to all tourist attractions and restaurants. The hotel staff checked in on us during our stay and asked us how everything was going. We told them that our toilet wasn't flushing well and within minutes caretaking staff were up in our room and fixed the problem. Yes....there was a little noise outside....we expected that in New York!!! Ear plugs work great. The elevator was sometimes slow - we either waited a few minutes or took the stairs. A little exercise is good. We had a wonderful stay, great weather, beautiful sites, Times square,The Jersey Boys Broadway show, Central Park, good food, friendly people. All in all, a great week! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AureliePoelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear AureliePoelzer,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay. We are pleased to know from your feedback that the location and the service you received met your expectations. We look forward to your next stay at the Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights/4 days from April 26th - April 29th. I can't really find anything negative to say about it. The location was PRIME and could not have been any better! We stayed on the 21st floor, room 2132. The room was large (much bigger than I expected, especially considering the smaller size of most NYC hotel rooms). The room was very tidy & clean. Not particularly fancy but we didn't need fancy. We needed clean & comfortable. Contrary to other reviews the room temperature was great. Plenty cool and not too warm at all. Despite being in the heart of the city the room was quiet. We heard no city noise in the evening while trying to sleep. The beds are super comfy! This hotel is about 5 blocks from Central Park, 4 or 5 blocks from the heart of Time Square, 2 blocks from the Gershwin Theatre (right around the corner) and about 2 blocks to the subway. We truly enjoyed our stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again. I was pleasantly surprised at how great everything was.

Room Tip: 21st floor was great! Our room was at the end of the hallway, not super close to elevator or vending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 206Lisa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear 206Lisa,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay experience. We are happy that you loved your stay at the Hotel and look forward to hosting you again when you travel to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

In terms of location you can't be in a better place, this is right in the middle of times square. Staff are very friendly, but the rooms are a little dated. It was advertised that the hotel had an indoor swimming pool, when we enquired about this we were told there hadn't been a pool for a long time! It also advertises free Wi-Fi which there wasn't!
If the rooms were updated and the place was given a "Makeover" this hotel has great potential, but they need to stop advertising things they do not provide!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alantb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Alantb,

Thank you for posting a 5 star review about your stay experience. Our guest comments both positive and constructive are an excellent way to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for future guest stays. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon package from Sunday 13 April for three nights. The hotel looks great from the outside and the rooms were clean. However, the air conditioning wasn't working during the duration of our stay resulting in uncomfortable sleeping conditions. We just about managed to open the window, but obviously it was noisy. It seemed that a lift wasn't working too which given the number of guests in the hotel was an issue. Overall the hotel seemed shabby and there are better ones out there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Jennie D,

Congratulations and thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectation on your special occasion and sincerely apologize for the same. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you to make up for your unfavorable experience.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,075 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,238 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,865 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,990 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing