We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #262 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just got back from a 4 day break. The hotel is clean and basic and rooms are clean and have comfy beds. The only draw back is there is no bar and could do with more lifts. It wouldn't stop me going to this hotel again though.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank elaine61gcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Elaine61gcg,

Thank you for posting a review. We are very happy to learn that you had a positive experience and would choose to return when in New York. We look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,830 - 4,836 of 8,537 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Located right in Times Square on 7th Ave this hotel is in the perfect location to visit NYC. However this is about all it's got going for it. Yes the building is very outdated in decor. A/c is very noisy at night. The walls themselves feel very thin - lots of noise from hallway, adjoining rooms but particularly the street ( this morning a jackhammer going at 6.45am). We stayed on level 12 so perhaps noise diminishes at higher levels. The wait for the lifts is considerable - both morning and night. Several times we have arrived back at hotel to find 30 people or so in line for lift. Housekeeping also seemed to arrive very early in the morning. We have had free wifi at every hotel in a month long stay but here they charge exorbitantly for it. This is by far the worst hotel of our trip. As I said if location is important then it's ok but for this aspect I don't know of any other reason to stay here.

Room Tip: A higher level might cut the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRfromNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear MRfromnewcastle,

Thank you for posting a review. We are unhappy that we failed to provide you a great stay experience and sincerely apologize for our shortcomings. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The most positive thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in an excellent location.

I stayed there in April and they seem to be catering for bus loads of teenagers on school trips. The reception area was always overcrowded and the staff were the most unhelpful I have ever encountered.

There was always a long wait for the elevators and consequently people were getting fractious.

The best thing I can say about the rooms is they are tired. Generally the whole place needs refurbishment and brought up to date because the décor is just on the edge of being tatty.

Clearly they can get away with poor service and décor, due to the location but it really isn't worth the money.

If you are thinking of a trip to New York I would recommend staying a bit further from Times Square (maybe down around Tribeca)where you can enjoy a better hotel a less money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Andrew F,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us which will enable us to improve our service for future guest stays. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make up for this unfavorable experience as winning back your loyalty is important to us.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Convenient to all NYC attractions. Weather while we were there was unseasonably warm and the AC unit struggled to keep our room cool. Towels were well worn but clean. Yes, hotel needs to be brightened up a bit, but all in all a pleasurable stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anni052209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Anni052209,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to know from your comments that you had a pleasurable stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your return to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was clean, staff were efficient but not overly friendly. Rooms were of a good size, air con didn't work properly and was noisy during the nite. But overall for such a central location couldn't fault it for the price we paid!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Kieran C,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to know that you did not have a favorable experience and apologize for any inconveniences you faced during your stay. We hope you give us an opportunity to better serve you on your next visit to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned from this hotel and must say location is really great . Staff in the foyer are always helpful and can help with most things you need such as how to how book for the outlet centre Woodberry Common etc etc.
Rooms are clean but a little bit dated.
One downside we found was that the house keeping was a bit tight on replenishing the beverages.
All in all we would return and stay at this hotel.
It does all the things it says and is a good hotel in great location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Joe N,

Thank you for posting a review. Your feedback is much appreciated and we are very happy that you had a positive experience during your stay at the Hotel. We eagerly look forward to your return trip to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated right in the middle of times square itself,considering that our room was quiet,awesome housekeeping the service is friendly and helpful they also have the free computers great WiFi and the morning buffet has a great selection and variety of food.We were staying here in the middle of winter and the heating was Amazing.I suggest you don't stay in times square if your the quiet type of vacationist. I would definatley stay in this hotel again and would recommend it for first timers in NYC and DO NOT purchase anything from Times square itself prices are way more expensive than walking a block down for the same thing at a much cheaper price.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ana_tiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Ana_tiaM,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay in February. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation of our Hotel to future travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes –General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#256 of 473 in New York City
4,280 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 473 in New York City
20,520 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#404 of 473 in New York City
5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 473 in New York City
10,207 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#345 of 473 in New York City
3,322 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#282 of 473 in New York City
12,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing