We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such Comfy Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such Comfy Beds”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed her for 6 days with a few of my family and friends. Unfortunately some of out rooms where not ready when we arrived but they did discount the room to compensate. I have to say, they were very polite and helpful. The rooms were lovely and spacious, and the beds, well, struggled to get out they were so comfy!! Certainly would visit again. So close to Times Square and Central Park, couldn't be in a better place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelannwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Rachelanngoddard,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to learn from your comments that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the service you received during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when you revisit New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,462
    2,057
    1,443
    634
    532
See reviews for
2,376
2,113
291
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Rooms are very basic and in need of some updating
.
I went for my daughters birthday and had asked for balloons to be delivered as a surprise, they forgot them, a little disappointing, esp as they had emailed me to tell me this would be done.

There are four lifts and always a que, at one point most people used the stairs!!

The hotel was convenient, but that is all. The rooms are not sound proofed and although they stated free wifi in the lobby, this meant waiting for an hour to use on of two computers.

Would I stay there again, probably not, unless they brought it into this century.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much bigger, but not sound proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Amanda J,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us as this will enable us to improve on our service delivery for future guest stays. We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations at the Hotel and ask that you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Anyone thinking about staying in this hotel should think again. We checked in on Mon the 26th May for a 4 night stay, when we got to our room it was clear it had not been cleaned very well, the bathroom sink was blocked and was full of someones dirty water, we called housekeeping and they never answered the phone, tried the front desk and again there was no reply. In the end i was forced to walk along the hotel corridor to find a maid who said she would report it and get it sorted, this was at about 2pm in the afternoon. By 6.30pm when it still hadn't been sorted out i had to go to the front desk, then they sent someone up who was rude, it wasn't his fault or so he told me. After that, our TV didn't work, the lights in the room where dangerous, the toilet flushed itself 24 hours a day. On our 3rd day, our room wasn't cleaned until 9.30pm and that was only because we asked for it to be cleaned at 11am, then again at 1pm and again at 6pm, it was only cleaned after i went to the front desk at 9pm. A manager came up and looked at the room and it was finally cleaned at 9.30pm. The manager told us our room would be cleaned early next day but again it wasn't, it was only after another visit to the front desk at 5pm was someone sent up at 5.30pm and by then we'd gave up. The hotel offered us at first a late check out and then a free breakfast, we refused both. This hotel is dirty, grubby and well worn, the staff lie and are lazy. We couldn't wait to get out of this place, anyone thinking of booking up to stay here should think again.

Room Tip: I can't add anything but i was told that the rooms on the 7th floor where at least clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Frank B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and ask that you contact myself or any of the Managers on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com and we will be happy to assist your further.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we were disappointed as rooms were not ready on arrival, we were told would be ready in and hour but were still not available 5 hours later (9pm) so were given alternative rooms. the rooms were scruffy and definitely not what we were expecting after looking at them on the hotel's website. I was also bitten by bed bugs! there was a positive side as the location was excellent - 10 minute walk to central park, 5 minute walk to times square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We sincerely apologize for the unfavorable stay you had and want you to know that the service you received is not the type of experiences we want our guest to depart with from the Hotel. Please contact me or any of the Managers on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com so that we can assist you further.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just back from 5 nights stay. Firstly great location, easy walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller, Central Park, 5th Avenue. Rooms very basic but ok, biggest issues are queuing for the elevators and reception! Lets put it this way - we walked down 15 flights of stairs and it was still quicker than waiting to a lift to go down to the ground floor! This happened on 2 of our 5 days stay. Reception was always packed with only 2 staff on and they seemed overwhelmed but were very helpful when you got to them. Overall I would go back but you are paying for the location rather than anything else. If you have mobility issues and rely heavily on using elevators then I would say consider this hotel carefully.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-o-holic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Travel-O-Holic,

Thank you for posting a review. Please know that we are in the process of modernizing all our elevators and appreciate your understanding while we go through this process with each elevator.We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Where to start... travelled over Easter (April) 2014.
Listed as four star, in Australia it would be only a three star, if that.
Rooms were basic. Heater was clunky and loud. Lobby could do with a sweep and mop.
Reception debited my bank twice for our accommodation. Then denied it even when I showed my online banking as proof. I then chased it up with my bank and they got the money back.
Of the four elevator/lifts only 3 worked and they were beyond slow, using the emergency stairs were as busy as Times Square!
But, on the positive, the door men when beyond amazing, they helped us so much! I cannot fault them. and the location was very good.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower floors so when the elevator/lifts are taking forever or broken you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Courtney F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback you have provided us which will aid us in correcting our shortcomings for future guest stays. We hope to have an opportunity to be of service again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Arrived in New York, from the outside you think woo fantastic, then you go inside, very dated, lighting very dim, carpets stained and dirty, wallpaper peeling off the walls. We got fresh towels each day but they had holes in them! Complained about there being nothing in room about hotel information or anything about visiting New York, to be told by management it's on web site (oh and if you want Wi Fi that's extra).

We were on the 8th floor, there were 4 lifts to choose from. It was quicker to take the stairs very very slow if they came at all.

Location cannot be faulted 2mins walk from Times Square and Broadway. However I would not stay in this place again think twice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a130atr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear a130atr,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and are disappointed to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. We hope you give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves on your return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,536 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,022 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,972 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 468 in New York City
9,410 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing