We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, good rates, poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place, good rates, poor housekeeping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel when in town working the Super Bowl. The room was nice and clean. Not the most modern, but very good value for Times Square. The beds were very clean and confortable. The television was a flat screen and got many good chanels. The desk was decent at best, but served it's purpose. The view out of the window was great, being on a high floor. Breakfast was not free and very overpriced. The front desk was cluttered and not very helpful. For some reason the bar area was closed and curtained off. My major complaint was this, I was working an overnight shift and in 10 days time, my room was never once cleaned. I had to search on my own for towels and toilet paper. I even aslked the front desk multiple times to send someone up after 5PM to clean my room. BUT, the price was right and location was PHENOMINAL. I will stay here again when the opportunity arises, and hopefully I will not be on a night shift.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Pete L,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay in January. We apologize for any inconveniences you faced due to our shortcomings in housekeeping. Please know that your comments were shared with the team in an attempt to correct our procedures to avoid future guests from experiencing the same concerns. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,362
    1,986
    1,358
    596
    490
See reviews for
2,255
2,015
278
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We found an unexpected deal online and booked a double room for two adults and two children for an overnight visit. The deal was already a great price but also offered the option to request an upgrade to a suite if available at check-in. We were a little worried as we usually stay at boutique hotels when we travel as a couple and knew that this was a NY "tourist" hotel but it is almost impossible to find a boutique hotel or none tourist hotel that has the availability for teenagers to share the parents room without spending a fortune.

I must say that upon check in we were pleasantly surprised by the availability of an upgrade at a very minimal cost. Check-in was a hassle. Very long lines and only one person working the counter. We checked in, got our upgrade and then had to wait through the same long line with limited staff a second time after our room was ready. However, the hotel did redeem itself with the upgrade! Our room had a separate bedroom/full bath, a dining area/kitchen, and a living area with pullout bed that also had a half bath!!!!! We had extremely large windows with three outside walls that all had great views including Times Square. It was clean but really needs an exhaust fan in the bathroom as the ceiling was actually dripping water from the humidity. This room was on the 16th floor and very quiet. Service and amenities were lacking but it was centrally located and we loved the large room. Just realize that it is a tourist hotel, go to breakfast at McDonalds or Starbucks which are both very close, and it's a great location to just enjoy NY. For the price and space, we would stay here again with the family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slstretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Slsstretch,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy that you had a positive stay experience and you would choose to stay with us when visiting New York. We anxiously look forward to being of service again on your return to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This Hotel is located a few blocks away from the Central Park, 5th Ave, and Times Square. There are subway stations, restaurants, and the Broadway shows right next to it.
The interiors seems old, the rooms are small, but the bed and sheets are clean and comfortable.
I think it is a bit over priced

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Thiago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear ThiagoAmaral,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and hope to have another opportunity to host you when you are back in the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Lou Reed sang a song called “Walk on the Wild Side” about the weird and wonderful encounters in New York.
The Manhattan Times Square Hotel seems to managed a poor “Walk on the Dull Side”, an everyday story of the basic, the bland and of exceptionally poor hotel management and standards !
From arrival in the grey, drab and slow moving hotel reception, full of what looked like welfare sponsored guests, I felt dejected and disappointed about my choice of hotel.
Paying some USD $350-400 per night, room only, I would expect some form of professionalism or high standards, I was wrong.
The only good thing here was one of the Concierges, Ron, a real great old New Yorker, straight out of the movies with such a wonderful Brooklyn drawl you’d expect Al Pacino to walk out from somewhere.
We upgraded to a Deluxe room which simply meant the bed was bigger, the dust higher, the filth more obvious. We moved rooms after this to a bigger room on the 22nd (top) floor, no improvement, just a bigger tired old room with a tatty decor and even more dust.
The Manhattan Times Square advertised a bar and comprehensive business centre. The reality was an empty out of action bar and 3 on-line computers with one printer in the main lobby area. No privacy, no support and no good!
Now some may say that I sound like a negative person ? Probably I am, however I have almost lived and holidayed in hotels around the world over the past 25 years, mainly on business for endless weeks at a time, this surely validates my opinions.
I can categorically say that most average hotels in Africa (my market place) beat this hotel in New York and most Manhattan hotels in general.
Come on New York hoteliers, come on the Manhattan Times Square Hotel, where’s your professionalism, where’s your style and class, you’re looking tired and old and you certainly don’t give value for money.
Surely New York hotels can raise the game in Manhattan, one of the greatest film sets in the world, you all need to.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteHotelInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear PeteHotelInspector,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed to learn from your comments that we were unable to meet your expectations and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you faced during your stay. We hope you give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

initial impressions looked ok checking in staff efficient décor around the lift area needed a bit of tlc the room was reasonably clean bed was comfortable my pet hate being an old wrinkly from uk was the lack of tea making facilities although coffee making was ok hall ways to the room always seemed to have domestic trollies lying about and the carpets have seen better days the location of the hotel was superb for us easy stroll to times square within easy walking distance of the many hop on hop off sightseeing buses which I can really recommend I must also add that the concierge staff were very helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_streetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Streetin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent way to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the team so that we may look into addressing your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The concierge services are outstanding. The location is one of the most amazing things this hotel offers. We were walking distance from everything and its right in the heart or times square. Only problem is the parking. The hotel doesn't really have a parking deck and they use one located in the back. Problem is that its extremely expensive even for Manhattan. Breakfast and WiFi are offered for a surcharge. The room was spacious and very clean. They charge for all calls other than the ones to the front desk. Overall its a very nice hotel but beware of all these hidden additional charges.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of Time Square's Billboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkTravelSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear PinkTravelSM,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay. We are extremely happy that you had a 5 star experience and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked one-night-stay through a third party provider, assuming we were going to get a queen -size- bed- room, but we arrived late at night and told they were sold out. The person at the reception told our room was going to have a queen size bedroom, but when we arrived in the room we figured it was a double-size-bed. There was a bad smell because of the old carpet in the room. The A/C was working, no problem with it. The towels were so old and looked gray, I didn't want to use them. My husband took a shower, I asked him about the water pressure, he said it was OK. We paid $215 a night including TAX for this room, it wasn't worth for that money. If I had paid $100, i would have said it was OK for that price, but for $200 i have stayed in many great Hotels in New York City. You wouldn't want to stay in this kind of room with 2 people, more than one night. If you are looking for the real New York experience check-out other hotels! It was very noisy through-out the night, people were talking laughing shouting in the corridors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esperanza_Turkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Esperanza_Turkey,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have provided us and apologize for our inability to provide you with a positive experience during your stay. We hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves should you return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,423 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,100 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,777 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,825 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing