We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #299 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My kids, (20 something), and I made a detour from our vacation and ended up in Manhattan. At 5 pm we realized we were going to spend the night so logged into hotel tonight and found this hotel for $150 tax included. That's a bargain to be at Times Square. We weren't there for the room but to see the city. The clerk was helpful with assuring me that we would had the type of room we requested with a roll away. Check in and out was super fast. The room was ok and clean. Not 5 star but good enough especially for what we paid. Staff was very nice. Internet is quite expensive especially for the speed and the fact that you can only use 2 devices at one time. Parking was quite expensive $53 but it's NYC and that's normal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dbbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear dbbfl,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your candid feedback to future travelers and hope to have another opportunity to host you should you travel back to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,485)
There are newer reviews for The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,063 - 4,069 of 7,485 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lobby is very modern and nice- with a breakfast bar and computers available for use. Reception staff was helpful with check in, and the concierge was great at providing us with directions for the subway.
The elevator system was a little bit on the dated side, and a little bit slow.
In terms of the rooms, they are fairly dated, but comfortable for the stay. Room was relatively clean, other than- we noticed significant staining and yellowing on the duvet on the bed in the room that we stayed in.
The housekeeping staff was extremely friendly.
Location wise it was perfect. So close to all of the main landmarks.
Wifi was way too expensive- 14.99 for one day of wifi. And parking was also on the pricey side 125$ for two days of parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmcdougall12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear kmcdougall12,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we are in the process of making some enhancements at the Hotel that will benefit future guest stays. We appreciate your understating while we go through this process and hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is located right next to Times square and has a lot of restaurants and bars close by. The rooms are dated and I had a bad first experience with the room we got. The duvet cover had food on it that either did not come out in the wash or the sheets were not replaced. I called guest services who were apologetic and they got the sheets changed right away. The rest of the room seemed clean however the rooms are small and there is not a lot of place to move around or store your baggage. Luckily we packed light and only had one suitcase which we stored in the closet so that we had some space to move around. Overall if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room, this hotel is a good choice because of its location and cost.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cliff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Cliff P,

Thank you for posting a review. Your feedback is appreciated as it allows us to improve our service delivery for future guest stays. We hope to have another opportunity to host you should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My daughter and I went to NYC for a few days recently. We stayed at the Hotel. We were very pleased. It was so convenient to the "action"! Within walking distance to great shopping, shows, theater and food. The only thing I didn't understand was why they didn't have a complimentary breakfast...had to pay for everything...even internet in our room...although you could go to the lobby and use it free. Overall it is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We went on the 11th floor....was afraid it would be noisy at night being on Times Square but didn...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear JoAnn W,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to learn that the location of the Hotel was convenient and that you were pleased with your stay experience. We look forward to hosting you again should you travel back to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Manhattan at Times Square is in a great location - just up from the hub of all the action. Plenty of Deli's and shopping all around. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is a bit run down now and could do with an upgrade, elevator system old and slow. However the rooms were clean. We shared a room with our teenage boys which we found cramped for four of us, however when travelling on a budget this met the criteria. Wifi expensive so used free wifi in other places. Breakfast very expensive so we used local deli's. Really enjoyed having the coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Dustygirl44,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and want you to know that we are making some enhancements at the Hotel and are currently in the process of modernizing our elevators. We appreciate your understanding while we go through this process and look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

In 2013, we stayed at the Manhattan Hotel on times square in New York. They were undergoing renovations, but we figured they would still have a sense for customer service. There was a lot of noise, the bell men were rude, the wait time to get our bags once we checked out and prior to departing for the airport was really bad, since they housed these bags in some guest rooms on upper floors. They finally had to ask us to go to those rooms to find our bags. As is the norm, when a hotel is undergoing renovations, there will be some inconveniences, so that is not the real issue. The issue I have is what they do after they know of shortcomings. Well I simply wrote about my experience, seeing that it was a special personal occassion I was in New York for. Shortly after, I got an email from the Guest Experiences manager there, apologizing and appearing genuine in her quest to secure my loyalty, by offering a discounted rate (30% off the lowest rate) the next time I was there. I took that at face value and was prepared to give her the benefit of at least following up on my experience. When I decided to to go back to New York, I decided I would email her to see if she was true to her word...To my surprise, I didnt get a response to my two emails. At the end of July 2014 I plan to go to New York again and again, wrote to her to see if maybe last time, she might have been away. Again, no response at all. I feel that if she wasn't prepared to make amends, then no empty promises should have been made. This makes me feel that she had to respond to the original note so she can let her boss know that all is okay, but not have to follow through on the commitments or hope I never show up there again. Well, the non response clearly tells me that The Manhattan hotel does not take Customer retention seriously. Frankly for the price, I was and continue to be much more satisfied with the Sheraton at Times Square.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Al n n,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. While it is never pleasant to hear of our shortcomings, your comments are instrumental in helping us in our endeavor of achieving total guest satisfaction. We apologize for not being responsive to your e-mails and ask you to please contact me or any of our Managers on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com so that we have the opportunity to communicate with you directly.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just want to thank Ron at the concierge desk for all his help in getting my Mom a wheelchair so that we could get her around the city and enjoy the sites. The staff at this hotel are great! It was our second time staying here with many more to come. Thanks again Ron...we miss you and hope you enjoyed the ice cream bar! Joanne Vargas and Phyllis Welsh

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank joanne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Joanne V,

Thank you for posting a 5 star review. We are delighted to know you had a pleasant experience at the Hotel. I will share your appreciation with Ron and the team as we anxiously look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#391 of 468 in New York City
4,451 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 468 in New York City
9,667 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#349 of 468 in New York City
18,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#272 of 468 in New York City
4,063 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 468 in New York City
9,662 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#284 of 468 in New York City
8,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £123 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing