We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appropriate only when travelling alone & for work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Appropriate only when travelling alone & for work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel location is the biggest best part. You can easily walk to sub ways, there are plenty of shops near by & the street this hotel is located on - is apt for cheap oriental cuisine - many many restaurants.
The other good thing is the travel desk - the representatives are helpful & kind.
The hotel is nothing close to 'wow' - its basic simple with no frills attached.
The rooms are done well - PLS DO NOT TAKE THE ROOM NEAR THE LIFT - IT GETS SO NOISY.
Try an OPT OUT OF BREAKFAST AT THIS PLACE - its the worst ever experience. The breakfast room is small/ cramped with very little seating which leaves people standing & waiting in queues - for breakfast! cmon!!!
So while I stayed here for 6 nights - on a business & pleasure trip - by the 3rd morning, I was trained to wake up 20 mins earlier and try to grab a seat for a grub at breakfast.
haha
Its like you get what you pay for - some times that can be really nasty :p

Room Tip: Please book a room away from the elevator area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear MegJet,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and are disappointed that we were unable to ‘wow’ you during your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to host you should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,370
    1,993
    1,362
    598
    493
See reviews for
2,266
2,019
278
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was rated as a 3 star hotel by Priceline on their express deal option - the photos looked good and the price at 269.00 per night seemed good. Upon arrival, we found the hall ways very worn and dirty with stains on the carpets. In the room, the restroom was filthy - mold in the shower and tub and around the sink and some type of black funk on the floor. Looked like a soda had exploded on the ceiling. Called priceline to complain about the rating - have used them no less than 18 times n the past 12 months and only disappointed one other time, but nothing like this. I was told they would contact the hotel and complain on my behalf, but that was the best they could do.....I offered to send pics so they could compare to what they had posted - their response was that they could not receive my e-mail? I blame the hotel for the sanitation and priceline for misleading the public - looks like I am not the only one to rate the hotel poorly - should have checked it out better prior to booking - thought I could trust priceline.

Room Tip: Would never stay here again.....I travel a lot ands this is absolutely the worst. Would imagine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Elias F,

Thank you for taking the time write a review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment in our inability to meet your expectations and sincerely apologize for your unfavorable stay experience. Please know this is not the type of experience we want our guest to have at the Hotel and corrective measures have been taken based on your feedback. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to win back your loyalty and trust by contacting us on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I chose this hotel because it looked amazing on the website. I was traveling with my 12 year old daughter, and it was not what the website said. Dirty and disgusting. Excellent location - not worth $.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontanaMom630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear MontanaMom630,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed that your stay experience was not favorable and apologize for any inconveniences you faced during your stay. We hope you give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton, NS
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

my boyfriend (now fiance, since NYC!) stayed at the Manhattan Times Square Hotel from July 8 to 15/14.....this location is absolutely wonderful. Blocks away from the centre of Times Square/theatre district. The hotel itself is a little bit dated, its true but the rooms are clean and the staff just can't do enough for you to ensure your stay is a comfortable and pleasant one. The hotel breakfast bar offers a variety of fresh pastries/cold cereal and fruit and more importantly, it has wonderful people helping to start your day right! the gentlemen working at the breakfast bar were very focused on helping, making sure you had what you need and just plain brightening your day. Everyone from the bellmen to the conceriege people were 100% focused on doing what they could to make your stay perfect. Lion and Xerxes were wonderful, any little thing you need pertaining to your room.....they will help! Our room was the ball drop view room on the 21st floor and had recently been renovated. If you want a clean room during your NYC stay, with wonderful people who are more than happy to look after your every need, and an absolutely fabulous location, then you must stay at the Manhattan at Times Square! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We got the Ball Drop View Room.....which is a great location especially if you are in NYC on New Yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueWords11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear CelticLass67,

Congratulations on your engagement and thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star Review! We are grateful for the wonderful comments about the service you received as well as your recommendation of our Hotel to future travelers. We anxiously look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 30th June - 5th July this year to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. There was some refurbishments being carried out but this didn't cause any problem what so ever. Our room was a corner room on the 20th floor which had be refurbished, it was large with great views down 7th avenue, it had the biggest most comfortable bed ever, all furnishings and bathroom was new, new carpet and freshly decorated, we could not fault it at all. Every member of staff we spoke too was polite and very helpful. The best thing about this hotel has to be the location, you can almost see the red steps at Time Square from the front door and the theater where we saw Jersey Boys was just around the corner, we walked to nearly all the main attractions. If we ever go back to NYC this hotel would definitely be our first choice to stay at, it made our wedding anniversary even more special, thank you to everyone at The Manhattan @ Times Square

Room Tip: Ask for higher room for less street noise, and corner rooms are bigger with better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamo2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jamoi2108,

Thank you for posting a review and congratulations on your 25th anniversary. We are delighted to know from your comments that you had an enjoyable stay experience and you would return for a future stay when in New York.We look forward to hosting you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Not fancy, but served it's purpose as a safe place to sleep in a great location. Elevators a little sluggish. This was my 2nd week-long stay there, & I'd stay again if I needed to travel to NYC again. Very pleasant staff. Final note...my reservation was confirmed as having 2 double beds, via phone and email. When we arrived however we were told there were no rooms with two beds available. We had 3 people in our room, so after 2 requests they did send up a rollaway bed (with a very thin mattress, but it sufficed). Also to compensate for the one bed issue they gave us a corner room, which allowed us more space.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedthewino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Nedthewino,

Thank you for posting a review. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are happy to learn that you would come back for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you again on your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a fairly large dance group that stayed 9 days on average…some longer. We got off to a "rocky" start because some members expected more updates to the hotel and its rooms for the rate they were paying. Management did an excellent job of explaining what was going on and did everything they could to ensure our group was comfortable and satisfied. Some things were simply beyond their control. They dealt with every issue quickly and efficiently. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The staff members took pride in their jobs, from the front desk to housekeeping. They made us feel right at home. Several staff members even came to see our dancers perform. They really won me over with the customer service. Maybe the hotel is having some growing pains, but they will weather the storm if they keep moving in the direction they are going. They are committed to providing their customers with a quality experience! Thanks Manhattan at Times Square!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheniseshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sheniseshelly,

Thank you for posting a 5 star review. We appreciate the lovely feedback you have given us as well as the wonderful comments about the team. We look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,509 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,119 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#377 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,839 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing