We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #291 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Me, my fiance and his parents have had a great time over there during our short visit to NYC. It is very well located, and the price is decent. It is an old hotel, but the rooms are clean and neat. The bathrooms are a bit small, at least at the rooms where we stayed at, so it's better to check of there's some convenient to people who are somehow handicapped and can't move without help.
Also, on our last day in NYC, we had to check out at 11am or 12pm, I don't remember. Anyway, after check out, we had all our luggage with us, but our flight was at night. They let us leave our luggage there without charging, and we could tour a little bit more around without any problem.
My fiance and I are definitely staying at this hotel again once we go back to NYC.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bihwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Bihwan,
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very happy to know that your stay at the Hotel met your expectations and look forward to hosting you again on your return to the city.
Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer C. - Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,432
    2,032
    1,405
    620
    511
See reviews for
2,337
2,062
285
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel needs a SERIOUS update. Bathroom facet knobs leaked onto the floor, had to use towels to help hold the water back. The tub feels like the floor is in need of repair, moves when you get in. Room staff picked up my dirty wash clothes and towels and put them back for use. Lots of noise during the night from other guests and from the trash pick up outside (3am). There are no complimentary amenities (no pool, you can pay to go next door, no free wifi, no quick start breakfast). Had to ask room staff everyday for more coffe packets, she never cleaned the coffee pot, I did. The photos on the website do not show what the hotel really looks like. Very 70's. Hector at the concierge's desk was AMAZING! He was very friendly and informative and we could understand him clearly. I do not recommend this hotel, not a good place for the money. It is very close to Times Square, theaters, and great places to eat. I could walk them without too much difficulty (I have back and hip issues). When I come back to NYC, I will spend the extra money and stay at one of the other hotels on Times Square.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dthron2001 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear dthron2001,
Thank you for posting a review about your Hotel stay. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and will use the same to improve the services we offer at the Hotel. We hope that you reconsider and return to our hotel should your travels bring you back to New York.
Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer C. – Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is small and has almost no services, but is very well located, a few blocks from Times Square, 5th Avenue and subway stations. Very good for a short visit to New York City. Some hallways are smelly though.

Room Tip: Choose a room from the corners, are more spacious and have a view of Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santiagogaleros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear santiagogaleros,
Thank you for posting a positive review. We are happy that you had a favorable experience with us and look forward to serving you again.
Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer C. – Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Decent is the nice way to describe this hotel. Yes the location is ideal for those wanting something close to Times Square. I would not book this hotel again. The room was organized but not really as clean as it should for the star rating this claims to have. No micro or fridge in room just bed, tv, bathroom. It was hot during out stay and i felt that air was no cool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lissete_1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Lissete_1227,
Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback and would like the opportunity to redeem ourselves should your travels bring you back to the city.
Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer C. – Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

There is good news and bad news here about its location... It is in Times Square , yes. But if you don't have to be in Times Square then DON'T! The hotel is sparse.it is sparse of service. It is sparse of character. It is sparse of amenities. It's like a really nice holiday inn room parading around in a real hotel building. The elevators are a disaster . The hallways are clinical and bare. The rooms have plastic glasses wrapped up on plastic wrap. The walls are paper thin. You can hear every word and yell and cry of passion from next door. There are no in room movies despite the fact the remote is set up to order them. There is no room service. The a/c system is an antique from a 1972 room that must have once been here and never left. A flat screen tv and white sheets and blew lamps from TJ Maxx do not make a room all right. Build a fire under the front desk staff and try to light a fire. They seem bored , catatonic , or snarly. Smile...say welcome! Act like you aren't dying to get home even though you are dying to. This is a LAST OPTION for you for a hotel ...try the Milford plaza or the raddison on lex or the la Quinta on 34 th... These are all better choices

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear DavidNYC,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay. We are disappointed to note from your comments that we failed in providing you a favorable stay experience and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you faced. We hope that you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves when you travel back to New York.
Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer C. – Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent 5 star service. Clean and comfortable rooms. As a female traveling alone with teenage son, I thoroughly enjoyed this experience. The double room was a good size for manhattan and very clean. Older hotel in the midst of renovations. Beds comfortable and location cannot be beat. Older bathroom again very clean and well-equipped. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64CHaladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear 64CHaladay,
Thank you for posting a 5 star review about your recent stay at the hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback about the Hotel and are happy to learn you will be back for a return stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance.
Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer C. – Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Location is not bad since NYC is pretty much walkable from anywhere around town. Took me about 20 mins walking to Grand Central Terminal, and also the same amount of time to Central Park.

My room was quite dirty.. and old. :( but my friend got the newer (looks refurbished) room and it wasn't that bad.

I have a love/hate relationship with the lobby. Reminds me so much of a&f but I always take a while longer finding the right buttons in the lift when I enter cause it's way too dark.

hotel also very near Shake Shack burger!

Will I return.? Yes, no.. maybe.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank selina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Selina l,
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We are happy to know that we met your expectations and look forward to your return when you do visit New York again.
Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer C. – Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,030 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#304 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,224 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,858 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,975 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing