We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very busy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #278 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location. The rooms are spacious and super clean. They are fixing the elevators so they are very slow.
I checked in early-so that was great-I was able to get into my room early.
Checkout was at 12 but at 9 they were already knocking on my door to see when I was checking out.
They did ask for my feedback when I checked out so I was able to give my opinion. Lion was very helpful.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Escapee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Escapeel,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us which will help us in our endeavor to achieve total guest satisfaction. We look forward to being of service again on your return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,536 - 4,542 of 8,270 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel and room do not look like in the web site pictures. But for an hotel located at Time Square and the price we paid it was a good deal. The rooms need a lot of updates and are small, ok for a family of 4, too small for a family of 5. The towels are old and dingy. The service was excellent.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Fernando R,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and look forward to welcoming you again should you travel back to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife, 2 sons and I stayed here mid July for 2 nights. Location is fantastic, out the door and you are right in the middle of everything. Through website we picked up a standard room with 2 queen beds at $180/night.. great price for hotel in this area as most we $250 and up.
But you get what you pay for and it was pretty run down. The lobby is quite nice and makes you think it'll be fantastic. The property, once part of the Sheraton family, goes down hill soon as you get off the elevator - soon as we saw hallways, we all went "ohhhhh....". They were drab, could use new paint and/or wall paper as well as better lighting. Doors to the rooms were dingy too.
The room was large enough, but just as drab. Carpets were actually very dusty, could see coat of dust under the desks, tables, beds, etc. We wore our flip flops or socks pretty much all the time to avoid our feet on the carpet. The bathroom was very small, sink has ugly water stains.. the faucet dripped. The taps didn't match, plus one was missing the H for hot, while the C for cold was on the hot spout, too funny.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear JKobr,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and apologize for any inconveniences you faced during your stay. We do hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family and I had a stop over in New York on our way to Orlando in July 2014, we stayed two nights at The Manhattan Times Square. The check-in procedure was not too bad, as it was efficient. However, our flight came in at 06h30 in the morning and the hotel did not have a room for us for early check-in. The gentlemen who store your luggage were most unhelpful and said that we can only access our luggage once while in storage otherwise we must remove it from the storage room (very rude).

The hotel room was a good size and has everything you need. The hotel is a bit dated and does look like it needs a bit of refurbishment. The location is what attracted me to the hotel and it is situated in a fantastic spot, very central with easy reach of all the shopping, shows and restaurants.

We generally do not eat at the hotel, they only have a coffee bar with snacks.

Overall the experience was not too bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ElleVee288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear ElleVee288,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and want you to know that your comments were shared with the team in an effort to correct and better our service delivery for future guest stays. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Alex at the front desk was very helpful and the bellman helped us get to JFK on time........
We were able to get right down to Time Square and Radio City in less the 5 minutes. ..........Thanks we will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 1046 over looks Broadway and 7th.......look right at The Late Show with David Letterman
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TodSweatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear TodSweatland,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review. We appreciate the wonderful comments about the service you received and look forward to welcoming you back on your return to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

the room was minimal, we got it for 199$ night w parking, just barely fit 4 or us, but for the location its worth it for few days ..the location is great - just 5 min leisurely walk down the street to the hustle bustle of famous times square.. This place always seems packed !
if traveling by car: they have excellent garage system with car elevators right in the building - but you must leave the vehicle for the duration of the stay..

Room Tip: higher is quieter . if traveling by car- theyhave excellent garage system with elevators right in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Rad G,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that the location of the Hotel suited your needs and look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I loved this hotel and don't think I will stay in any other place when travelling to New York City. The location is perfect, the view is fantastic, the size of the room, the confortable bed and spacious bathroom just made my stay a great experience.
Every member of staff I met was very professional and polite but Mohamed went out of his way to make my stay memorable.
Thanks a lot and hopefully I will be back soon.

Room Tip: I got a king sized bed and it was very confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Edson T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review. We are delighted that your stay experience was just perfect and anxiously look forward to your return to the Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,236 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 471 in New York City
4,941 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#266 of 471 in New York City
4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#377 of 471 in New York City
1,518 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#313 of 471 in New York City
10,092 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £86 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing