We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Close to Times Square”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is a few blocks from Times Square and Central Park. We arrived early and the reception was nice enough to have us checked in to our room. Good size of the bedroom and bathroom. There is no free wifi. The bath tub un the bathroom doesn't drain very well though and the elevators are too slow.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cyndisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Cyndisarah,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that corrective action has been initiated based on your feedback. We look forward to being of service again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,436
    2,034
    1,410
    624
    512
See reviews for
2,341
2,066
286
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,081)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
long island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Manhattan hotel was a last minute book for my husband and I. The hallway leading to the room was filthy. The bed was sunken in and uncomfortable, had a very poor nights sleep in it. The walls were thin and you could hear every noise as people walked past and doors slammed of people entering and exiting. On the other hand, the staff was lovely and helpful. Wish the rooms reflected their enthusiasm.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Acamp,

Thank you for posting a review. We apologize for our inability to meet your expectations during your stay and hope to have an opportunity to redeem ourselves when you travel back to the city. Please do let us know if there is anything we can do to make up for your unfavorable experience by contacting me or any of our Manager’s on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Staff
--Very pleasant staff from the front desk to the bell staff.

Location
--Excellent location; everything you need is in walking distance: subway, pharmacy, coffee, cafés, banks, shopping, theatre and of course Times Square.
--The location allows you to maximize your time and money because lots of attractions/shopping are nearby, you can walk and save money rather than take taxis.

Rooms
--Nice sized room.
--Comfy bed.
Room included the basics: TV, desk, coffee machine, tea, but no refrigerator.
--Room was clean w/fresh linens.

Lobby
--Spacious w/breakfast bar.
--Complimentary computers.
--Large screen in the lobby has a listing of flights at area airports.
--They have a concierge.

Other
--There's a charge for the wifi: $14.95, but you cn get 15 minutes for free in the lobby and an additional 15 minutes after you've been off for one hour.
--There's a workout room, but I didn't visit it.
--They have late check out.
--Could use tighter seal on the windows.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kim-ohradiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Kim-ohradiogirl,

Thank you for posting a detailed review about your Hotel stay. We are happy that you had a nice experience at the Hotel and look forward to being of service again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were blown away by the kindness of the staff! In addition to unbeatable convenience and service (we walked everywhere- Broadway shows, Rockefeller Center, Central Park- and every request of the hotel was met with courtesy and efficiency), the management gave us a complimentary upgrade to accommodate our large group, AND showered us with free gifts and balloons to help us celebrate multiple birthdays! Allison and Lion truly went over and above anything we expected or even imagined. We will never stay anywhere else in NYC!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 694helenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Helen N,

Thank you posting a 5 star review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at the Hotel and appreciate the kind words about the “over and above” service you received. The team anxiously looks forward to your return to NYC.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I loved this hotel for two reasons: location and price. It was a really good option right in the middle of Times Square. Rooms were quiet and clean, bed was super comfortable, hall was kind of messy, but the hotel served its purpose - no other could beat its price (I booked it with 5 months in advance, though).

No wifi in the rooms (just in the lobby), several restaurants around.

Ask for a high rise room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcpastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jcpastore,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you had a 5 star experience at the Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed there 4 nights and it was not what we expected. Don't know where they took the pictures from to post on their website, but it certainly was not on our floor. The rooms and hallways need a LOT of renovation. The room we had smelled like a room that had not been used for several months. When we registered we were told we would have a parking package, it even said so on the invoice, but we still ended up paying full price for parking. Great location, but at 300$ a night would expected a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Marc G,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that you did not have a positive experience at the Hotel and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make up for your unfavorable experience by contacting me or any of our Manager’s on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Booked a king size standard room 3 months in advance only to find on arrival they had given our room away. Night shift manager was the most ignorant and unhelpful lady I've ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Refused to upgrade us to a better room due to this being completely the hitels fault but were instead forced to accept a smaller room which was far below the standard shown in the pictures. Despite signs saying it was a non smoking room there had clearly been heavy smoking in the room as it was very smelly!!! Would never recommend this hotel or stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona070682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Fiona070682,

Thank you for posting a review. We are concerned about the service you received and sincerely apologize for the unfavorable experience you had at the Hotel. Please contact me or any of our Manager’s on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com as winning back your loyalty and trust is important to us.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,075 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,238 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,869 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,991 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Property: The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing