We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, EXCELLENT STAFF, but no baseball on TV!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #289 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rotterdam, New York, United States
1 review
“Great hotel, EXCELLENT STAFF, but no baseball on TV!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This a great hotel with a perfect location just blocks from Times Square. Lots of places to eat nearby, and a nice place to land after a long day. My wife and I were here for business, staying Friday-Sunday.

The lobby was hectic when we arrived, but we were served almost instantly. We were lucky enough to be helped by Joy, who was a true joy to work with. She was incredibly thorough and took care of us without having to be asked. She offered immediately to upgrade us from a queen to a king-sized bed and looked high and low for ways to make our stay more enjoyable. She was friendly, always with a smile. I do quite a bit of business travel and its always great to be greeted with someone behind the desk who knows what she/he is doing and knows how to make a customer's stay en"Joy"able. Joy did all that and more.

Our biggest complaint was that there was no baseball on the TV in our room. My wife and I are huge baseball fans and unfortunately the Yankees weren't in town the weekend we were here. The room didn't have the YES Network (Yankees), the MLB Network or SNY (Mets). One of then would have been nice.

Other than that, a great hotel and somewhere I would highly recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello Mike L,

Thank you for taking the time to give up a review and for acknowledging how enjoyable your Front Desk service was with us we look forward to sharing your comments with our Staff! It is so wonderful to hear that Joy was able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere.

There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you would recommend us when coming to New York City! We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,382
    2,765
    1,392
    481
    323
See reviews for
2,269
1,886
254
1,525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here last month for a long weekend in NY. We arrived quite late so our check in was carried out very quickly. The hotel is very comfortable and has all the amenities that one requires.
It is ideally located for Broadway as we were taking in 3 shows during our stay. There are plenty of restaurants around if you do not want to eat in the hotel. we found all the staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioan_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello Joan_wilson,

Thank you for sharing the very helpful and quick service you experienced during your check in there is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I write this review with the hope that someone will answer me. Next month I will have to come to this hotel and I wanted to get some information. The reception staff speak Italian? Thank you so much!!!!!!! Good afternoon

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello Luca M,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Sheraton New York at Times Square for your visit to New York. Our Front Desk Staff will be happy to assist in accommodating you with Italian language translation communication during your visit with us.

You are a valued guest and we appreciate your patronage. We are looking forward to welcoming you.

Respectfully,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is not too bad on the budget, and is in a fantastic location. The rooms aren't very big, but they have everything you need - coffee, big TV, huge window, big comfy bed - so there's nothing to grumble about really. I would stay here again if going back to NYC, as while it isn't the most luxurious hotel in the world, it's not too bad and not too expensive. The concierge and all other staff we chatted to were nice, and helpful. The only downside was that our friends room really did smell of cigarettes. While the hotel is non-smoking I assume their room was previously a 'smoking' room which still has the smell from the old days.

Room Tip: maybe ask for one that's never been a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopefuloli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello Hopefuloli,

I am happy you enjoyed the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper and our newly renovated rooms. We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew. It is great to hear that our central location added convenience to your stay.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties your Friends had with the cigarette odor they experienced in their room. Our Director of Housekeeping has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here in June 2013. Super comfortable bed, big clean room and location couldn't be better. Was surprised how quiet it was, for such a large hotel. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional, and organised complimentary WiFi for our stay. We were very impressed with the fitness centre, and were in easy reach of MoMA, 5th Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Centre and Central Park. It was my first visit to New York (from NZ/Australia) and this was a fantastic base to get a taste of the Big Apple. Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrstnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello Krstno,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sheraton New York Times Square for your first visit to New York City! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Our staff truly cares for our guests and we love to see that shine through. Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

I am happy you enjoyed the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper and our newly renovated rooms. We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square, Central Park and Theaters it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York. We are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed at the Sheraton when I ran the 2014 New York Half Marathon. The rooms were small as expected however they were clearly recently renovated. The elevators were much older. Additionally, the walls to the room are very thin. Was woken up several times throughout the night from people all the way at the end of the hall by the elevators and the people in a room near mine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsfan101703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello Jetsfan101703,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the hallway noise on your floor. Our Director of Security has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visited here on 2013 april, we had a pleasant stay, everything is walking distance.. Staff were nice, rooms were clean, Only downside is we had to pay $10 to use the gym!
New York is a beautiful city!

Room Tip: Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello Oddy88,

I am so glad to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us. We try our best to go above and beyond and I am glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.

I think our location is the best for sightseeing the great city of New York. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time. It is a quick subway ride to everywhere in the city.

We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team.

We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City.

Thank you,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,307 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,962 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,555 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing