We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the Sheraton during our first trip to NY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #287 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay at the Sheraton during our first trip to NY!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 7 nights at New Year 2013. To begin with the location of the hotel is extremely convenient, located above a subway station, in close proximity to Central Park and Times Square is literally less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel entrance.

On arrival there was no queue at the reception desk and we were served promptly by a polite gentleman whom on discovering our stay was for an anniversary upgraded us to a Superior Room on the 19th floor with a partial view over Times Square! Amazing. Room was large by NY standards with a Chaise-Longue, King-Size Bed, Wardrobe and good sized bathroom. An in-room refrigerator which was requested at check-in arrived within 10 minutes. Fixtures and Fittings within the room were in excellent condition and the water pressure for the shower was great.

There are multiple lifts which serve varying floors within the hotel, throughout our stay we had to wait no longer than 30 seconds for a lift to arrive and often had the lift to ourselves. The Lobby was not found to be overly crowded at any point during our stay with a plentiful supply of seating available.

In terms of negatives there were only two, namely an overpriced daily WIFI Charge (although this service is provided free of charge in the public areas which was found to work efficiently) and a $4 storage charge per piece of luggage we left whilst enjoying our final day in NY before our late evening flight. If the WIFI price had been reduced to a more modest $5 per day I would have most likely paid for it. The luggage storage charge should also be removed as this is something which is not found throughout many hotels within NY and when considering the total cost of our stay ($3500), having to pay an additional $4 is rather trivial and almost insulting.

Overall the benefits significantly outweighed the few negatives and our stay was very pleasant. I would highly recommend the Sheraton to anyone reading this review and I hope to be back to NY and the Sheraton in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello Michael H,

Thank you for sharing the very helpful and quick Staff service you experienced during your check in. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper and our newly renovated rooms. We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us!

Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation.

There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you would recommend us when coming to New York City! We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,567
    2,955
    1,482
    521
    358
See reviews for
2,492
1,982
287
1,657
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for a conference for three nights. The facilities were very good. The conference rooms and chairs were well set up and comfortable. The location was excellent of course as it is right in Times Square and Theater District. The room I stayed in on the 29th floor was quiet. Bed and linens were very comfortable and I particularly liked the couch which had a mobile food tray to use. The in room coffee is Starbucks which made a great cup in the morning. I appreciated the two full length mirrors...one in hallway and other inside closet. There are plenty of food options all within walking distance and the hotel had its own restaurant and quick grab items bar. The concierge was very helpful as were the guys who hail the cabs for you. I stayed here one night in the past for a pre cruise stay, yet I found three nights was just as good. I understand the hotel went through a major renovation and everything looked clean, new, and updated. The one exception was some of the chairs in the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: I selected a king room as most NYC rooms run small so I figured one bed in room would give me extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CokaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello CokaVT,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms, Conference meeting space and the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper .We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew. We are happy our hotel met all your needs during your stay

Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York.


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very beautiful hotel, friendly staff, convenient location to Times Square, subway and many wonderful things to see and do in New York. It gets pretty busy at this hotel so if you are looking for a quiet location, this is not for you. But we loved our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors reduce the street traffic and pedestrian noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyedcota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello Blueyedcota,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a very convenient location to shows, restaurants and attractions. Check-in was quick and easy. The rooms are clean. Did not eat in the hotel, but did get a coffee one morning which is the standard Starbucks coffee and light breakfast items available. Family much prefers the quick walk to Fluffy's. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello Cathy C,

Thank you for sharing the very helpful and quick service you experienced during your check in, there is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation.

We at the Sheraton New York Times Square are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel has received millions of dollars of investment: the result is a renovated hotel, next to Broadway. Room 1043 is clean and comfortable, although not very large, it accommodates a couple with a small child. The noise from the 7th Ave sometimes bothers a little. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celso G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello Celso G,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square, Central Park and Theaters it is so easy to get around the great city of New York.

There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you would recommend us when coming to New York City! We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

No doubt, the location of this hotel is very good. Close to Times Squate 5th Avenue and so on.
BUT: rooms are quite small, and other than described on the homepage rooms are definetly not newly renovated (as mentioned on web page spy guests would get a renovated room).
The shower curtain i the bathroom stinks terrible, you could smell it immediately when entering the mini bathroom. Since 3 days, the light at the entrance area of my room is broken, don't expect it to be repairs!!! Thecleaning lady was in my room already 3 ties, so she must have seen that the light bulb is broken. I left tip for her, but not even then …
Coffee was not refilled. Also the breakfast is nothing special for the price of 38 USD, the staff is quite unfriendly und you always have to ask to get juice and coffee. The lady even is grumpy if you ask to sit at a booth. Sorry, Sheraton, that's really not good service.
We stay here with a group of 600 people, so I expect better service. A bottle of 500ml water is 9 USD in the minibar. The water pressure in the shower is so weak, that it is hard to wash off the shampoo. For that price we could have stayed in a more individual, nice hotel. The lobby seems sometimes like a railway station. For check in you also have to queue as they seem not to be prepaid for many guests arriving at the same time.
Conclusion: I will never come back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Testkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello Testkitty,


I apologize for all the challenges you had while visiting us recently but thank you for giving us this review so we can address all of your concerns.

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any unpleasant experiences you had with our Staff and Management during your stay.

I would like to arrange a time to speak with you directly to discuss all of your concerns and offer you some options that will help resolve the matter. Please contact me directly at (joseph.giordano@ Sheraton.com).


Thank you,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our Maltese Sazerac loves Sheraton Times Square because he received a divine doggie be and sPET-acular service. Our rooms are small but quiet. If you can an extra $50 per day, spring for the Club Level. Of course, with the best "playground" in the world just steps outside, you will of be spending much time in your room anyway.

Room Tip: High floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightymelanie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello Mightymelanie123,

There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! I am happy Sazerac enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!

Our location is second to none we are just close enough to Times Square, Rockefeller Center and so many great NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
9,551 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,421 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,286 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,340 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
8,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#186 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing