We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in Times Square.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #286 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms in Times Square are ridiculously over-priced, regardless where you stay, so we were happy we stayed here just one night, and proceeded to New Jersey afterwards.

Overall the hotel is good. Just super over-priced at $300+ per night. Rooms are tiny and very noisy due to the location. It is true... NYC never sleeps, and you won't either! Construction, sirens, etc., kept us up all night.

Parking is also an additional $51 per 24-hour period, so leave your vehicle at home and take the subway.

Tiffany and Holly at the front desk were very friendly and knowledge. Thank you ladies!

The front desk manager happened to be dealing with a very disgruntled guest who was screaming from the top of her lungs when we checked-out, and I have to say he dealt with her in a very professional manner (let's just say my reaction would have been entirely different, had she yelled at me!).

We enjoyed it while we were here. Will we be back? Probably not.

Thank you for a good stay,though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello Gazpacho16,

Thank you for visiting the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, and for taking the time to write your review. Your opinion matters very much to us, and although you were not satisfied with the noise and nightly rates, we are pleased to hear that you had a great experience with our staff. We are very grateful to receive this kind of feedback, and we hope that you’ll be back to stay with us in the future.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,042 - 5,048 of 8,485 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stay at this hotel 3-4 times a year due to it's excellent location and fantastic Starwood customer service. Since our last stay, the hotel underwent a name change and some modification, so we did not know what to expect. It was beyond amazing!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank THC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello THC9,

We always love to welcome back a return guest, and it’s wonderful to know you’ve found a trustworthy hotel in the Sheraton New York Times Square. We hope to continue serving you each time you travel to Manhattan. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better, please don’t hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have to say I was not impressed with this hotel. Sure, it's right downtown which is super convenient, but that is about the only thing I appreciated.
$15 per day for in room wifi, $20 per minute to call to Canada, outrageous mini bar and room service prices...not to mention we wanted to go to a grocery store and buy things to eat but wouldn't have had anywhere to put it so good thing we didn't buy ahead.
Things weren't even put back in place when the room was cleaned such as the ice bucket and glasses etc...
We requested an early check in when we booked the room which was far in advance to our arrival. The early check in was not provided as they 'can't guarantee it until that day'. For the amount of time we booked before, it should have been honored. I get if it was a last minute request, but we should be accommodated for planning ahead.
The lobby wifi is super inconvenient and slow. I know that were not there to be on the internet, but it's nice to check in with family and friends and put up a few pictures in the comfort of your own really expensive hotel room.
The only other good thing was that it was right around the corner from the subway.
Otherwise, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: 1417 has a terrible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Brianne R,

Thank you for sharing your experience in such detail, and I hope that it was nonetheless a pleasant visit to New York City. As our staff at the front desk mentioned, we are not always able to guarantee an early check-in in advance, and I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request on this occasion. In regards to additional amenities, I highly recommend our Club Rooms and Suites, each stunning in their own right, with access to the luxurious Club Level Lounge. There you can enjoy complimentary breakfast and hors d’oeuvres, as well as free internet access and a full bar. It is an enhanced experience that will surely change your opinion of the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel. And if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at joseph.giordano@Sheraton.com. Thank you.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife had her toiletry/make up bag stolen from the room.
We believe it was the maid and after numerous calls and emails to the hotel staff and management, nothing came of it.
Customer service???
It took many calls to numerous people to even get a call back!
I can't feel safe in a hotel like this.
We will not be staying here ever again.

Room Tip: Call another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you very much for speaking with me. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me if I could be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Nona Destreza
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is nice, very central and close to all the shows and a nice walk to the Central Park.
The concierge team was very helpful and suggested various activities and helped us book some visits and get a ticket for a show.
Overall the staff was polite and professional and the housekeeping was very good.
The Starbucks in the lobby was a treat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Tatiana V,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed exceptional convenience, service, and amenities during your time with us. As you noted, our entire staff is dedicated to creating special experiences for each and every guest, and we look forward to doing the same during your next stay.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It has a great location. Room is the smallest we have ever had. Bathroom is closet size. Front desk staff are not friendly. Act perturbed that they have to help you. I would hope the manager would address their attitude. Cleaning staff is great. Very friendly and accommodating. Probably would stay elsewhere on next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Try to book early due to location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coachk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello coachk23,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to recount your experience. Guests love our prime location in the heart of Midtown, and it is nice to see that you found it convenient and exciting as well. And though I am also pleased that you found our housekeeping staff to be friendly, it is disappointing to hear that those at the front desk were not as accommodating. I assure you that this is not representative of a typical Sheraton experience. Furthermore, for a more spacious and luxurious accommodations, I encourage you to visit one of our Club Rooms, which includes enhanced extras and access to Club Lounge. If you have any questions or if there is any I can be of assistance, please feel free to reach out to me at joseph.giordano@Sheraton.com. Thank you once again, and I truly hope you choose to return.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Wow! Super easy check In and such great service! Ask for Duanus at the front desk he is incredible! Super attentive and just AWESOME! Room was great service perfect! Great location and fabulous amenities!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 696sallyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Sally K,

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed the “best stay ever” at the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel. We take pride in making travel simple and seamless for all of our guests, and you can expect a similarly easy check-in process in the future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another relaxing visit. Please feel free to contact us directly if there is any way we can be of service.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Times Square
InterContinental New York Times ...
#175 of 470 in New York City
5,487 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 470 in New York City
2,776 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#135 of 470 in New York City
5,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 470 in New York City
9,903 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £136 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing