We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheraton is a good brand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sheraton is a good brand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Good location.
Front Desk - good staff. Managers - Seher and Rinad are genuinely real managers.
Lobby - huge but noisy, rather too noisy.
Food - very limited options in the hotel.
Breakfast option - expensive for money charged.
House keeping - poor.
Building/rooms - aged, out of age and quality.
Conceige - great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello S S,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your feedback. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our fabulous location and received great service. Hope you had a lovely trip and that you'll join us again soon.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,197
    2,598
    1,313
    459
    304
See reviews for
2,104
1,774
237
1,399
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms in Times Square are ridiculously over-priced, regardless where you stay, so we were happy we stayed here just one night, and proceeded to New Jersey afterwards.

Overall the hotel is good. Just super over-priced at $300+ per night. Rooms are tiny and very noisy due to the location. It is true... NYC never sleeps, and you won't either! Construction, sirens, etc., kept us up all night.

Parking is also an additional $51 per 24-hour period, so leave your vehicle at home and take the subway.

Tiffany and Holly at the front desk were very friendly and knowledge. Thank you ladies!

The front desk manager happened to be dealing with a very disgruntled guest who was screaming from the top of her lungs when we checked-out, and I have to say he dealt with her in a very professional manner (let's just say my reaction would have been entirely different, had she yelled at me!).

We enjoyed it while we were here. Will we be back? Probably not.

Thank you for a good stay,though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Gazpacho16,

Thank you for visiting the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, and for taking the time to write your review. Your opinion matters very much to us, and although you were not satisfied with the noise and nightly rates, we are pleased to hear that you had a great experience with our staff. We are very grateful to receive this kind of feedback, and we hope that you’ll be back to stay with us in the future.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stay at this hotel 3-4 times a year due to it's excellent location and fantastic Starwood customer service. Since our last stay, the hotel underwent a name change and some modification, so we did not know what to expect. It was beyond amazing!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank THC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello THC9,

We always love to welcome back a return guest, and it’s wonderful to know you’ve found a trustworthy hotel in the Sheraton New York Times Square. We hope to continue serving you each time you travel to Manhattan. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better, please don’t hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have to say I was not impressed with this hotel. Sure, it's right downtown which is super convenient, but that is about the only thing I appreciated.
$15 per day for in room wifi, $20 per minute to call to Canada, outrageous mini bar and room service prices...not to mention we wanted to go to a grocery store and buy things to eat but wouldn't have had anywhere to put it so good thing we didn't buy ahead.
Things weren't even put back in place when the room was cleaned such as the ice bucket and glasses etc...
We requested an early check in when we booked the room which was far in advance to our arrival. The early check in was not provided as they 'can't guarantee it until that day'. For the amount of time we booked before, it should have been honored. I get if it was a last minute request, but we should be accommodated for planning ahead.
The lobby wifi is super inconvenient and slow. I know that were not there to be on the internet, but it's nice to check in with family and friends and put up a few pictures in the comfort of your own really expensive hotel room.
The only other good thing was that it was right around the corner from the subway.
Otherwise, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: 1417 has a terrible view
See more room tips
Green Features: Pretty typical, hang the towels if you want to use them again and place a card on the bed if you want the sheets completely changed.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Brianne R,

Thank you for sharing your experience in such detail, and I hope that it was nonetheless a pleasant visit to New York City. As our staff at the front desk mentioned, we are not always able to guarantee an early check-in in advance, and I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request on this occasion. In regards to additional amenities, I highly recommend our Club Rooms and Suites, each stunning in their own right, with access to the luxurious Club Level Lounge. There you can enjoy complimentary breakfast and hors d’oeuvres, as well as free internet access and a full bar. It is an enhanced experience that will surely change your opinion of the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel. And if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at joseph.giordano@Sheraton.com. Thank you.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife had her toiletry/make up bag stolen from the room.
We believe it was the maid and after numerous calls and emails to the hotel staff and management, nothing came of it.
Customer service???
It took many calls to numerous people to even get a call back!
I can't feel safe in a hotel like this.
We will not be staying here ever again.

Room Tip: Call another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for speaking with me. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me if I could be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Nona Destreza
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is nice, very central and close to all the shows and a nice walk to the Central Park.
The concierge team was very helpful and suggested various activities and helped us book some visits and get a ticket for a show.
Overall the staff was polite and professional and the housekeeping was very good.
The Starbucks in the lobby was a treat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Tatiana V,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed exceptional convenience, service, and amenities during your time with us. As you noted, our entire staff is dedicated to creating special experiences for each and every guest, and we look forward to doing the same during your next stay.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

It has a great location. Room is the smallest we have ever had. Bathroom is closet size. Front desk staff are not friendly. Act perturbed that they have to help you. I would hope the manager would address their attitude. Cleaning staff is great. Very friendly and accommodating. Probably would stay elsewhere on next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Try to book early due to location.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do try to conserve. Sheraton is concerned. They conserve on changing sheets and towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello coachk23,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to recount your experience. Guests love our prime location in the heart of Midtown, and it is nice to see that you found it convenient and exciting as well. And though I am also pleased that you found our housekeeping staff to be friendly, it is disappointing to hear that those at the front desk were not as accommodating. I assure you that this is not representative of a typical Sheraton experience. Furthermore, for a more spacious and luxurious accommodations, I encourage you to visit one of our Club Rooms, which includes enhanced extras and access to Club Lounge. If you have any questions or if there is any I can be of assistance, please feel free to reach out to me at joseph.giordano@Sheraton.com. Thank you once again, and I truly hope you choose to return.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,034 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,699 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,369 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#321 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing