We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A large, average hotel lacking the personal touch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A large, average hotel lacking the personal touch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked two rooms at this hotel. This was to be a special treat for our young grandson whose dream it was to see NYC. The rooms were clean and adequate, and our grandson enjoyed the view from the window. The bathrooms were very small but that didn't bother us. We were quite comfortable at the hotel. The location was great, near to restaurants and sites. However, we had terrible problems with the elevators. We would be the first waiting for an elevator to take us up to our room, but by the time an elevator arrived, a large group of people had assembled and they would push in front of us into the elevator. This happened constantly because we never knew which elevator was going to become available until it was too late to get near the door. On our second day, we decided to make an early start as our grandson had made a list of sites he wished to see. We waited over an hour for the elevator. The hotel was experiencing problems with the elevators, but instead of informing customers, management left guests stranded! A group of guests congregated with us on the 43rd floor. We made several phone calls down to the lobby, but nobody seemed bothered. Eventually, we were taken down on a service elevator after my husband made a very frustrated call. Management did later offer us points for a free night in the future, but we will not be returning to NY. We understand that these things happen, things break down; but it was the initial lack of care and response from hotel staff that disappointed us. Some guests had flights to catch, and the late start set us back for our entire day in NY.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello PJD52,

Thank you for bringing the elevator issue to our attention. We agree that the situation was not acceptable, and sincerely apologize. If you ever decide to visit NYC again, we hope you'll take us up on our offer of a free night at the Sheraton New York Times Square. Aside from that frustrating issue, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the fabulous location, and hope your family was able to visit every site on your grandson's list.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,297
    2,689
    1,364
    475
    314
See reviews for
2,209
1,831
247
1,467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have just arrived home from 8 nights at this hotel.
The hotel was extremely busy with what seemed like thousands of school groups that liked to scream and clap in unison,hang around the lobby and take forever to get out of the super slow lifts.
Checkin was below par with a lady that seemed totally disinterested in her job and us.
Ou room was located right by the lift so the conversations of people coming out of the lift at all hours came straight into our room...and most of the the time it woke us at around 3-4am.
The size of the room was tiny..two tiny beds which I wouldn't call queen or double at all..more like a king single.
No refrigerator in the room but you could pay $25 for the stay to get one.I've never heard of such a thing..really is a fridge such a big treat to provide?The only plus was that it provided somewhere else to put our bags on as there was hardly any room to open our bags.
Now for the wifi...I had it included in my package but it rarely worked.When I spoke to the front desk I got no sympathy and only a pathetic excuse that since there were a lot of school groups that was probably the reason why it was extremely slow.
I was offered to come down to the lobby to use the free wifi there but that is the exact reason I chose to have wifi in my room so I wouldn't have to sit in a crowded lobby.
I didn't find the housekeeping particularly friendly.I came out one morning to ask for some more coffee and coffee cups and the lady was so rude...sad though as I'm sure she wouldn't really have many encounters with guests and every interaction always leaves memories...good or bad.
Now for the pluses:
The location was fantastic just a few blocks from Times Square.
The coffee in the room was Starbucks and really nice so a huge plus for that.
The guy at the concierge was very helpful and made planning our stay and tourist attractions easy to decide.
Huge TV..though I hardly watched it.

Room Tip: It would be great to have a room on a high floor for the views but the lifts are really slow and sup...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did notice that everyday the soaps in the room were discarded even though they weren't fully used.I found this extremely wasteful.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Tobaja,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We hope you’ll accept our sincere apologies that not everything was up to our typical standards of service. We're glad that despite these few setbacks, you were able to enjoy our fantastic Times Square location, and that our concierge was helpful in planning your trip. We agree that with so many great attractions within walking distance, the TV remote often collects dust. Thanks again—we hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Decent location, decent size rooms for NYC, and normal amount of noise for NYC. We were attending a conference at the hotel. It wasn't bad - a bit tricky to access from Newark, but we got the hang of it. Staff are average. Concierge is nice, and booking tickets was easy. Would stay there again if needed, but we may try another venue, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DadAndPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello DadAndPapa,

Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us at the Sheraton Times Square. We hope you enjoyed staying so close to both Times Square and Central Park. Thanks for your review; we'd love to have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

While the location was outstanding, some of the service left me speechless. Out of the 4 nights' stay, there was one occasion where our room wasn't cleaned at all and another occasion where it was cleaned very late in the day.
Also, I make it a point to exercise wherever I travel, and I have never been charged a fee to use a fitness center. The daily rate here is $20! I've stayed in many resorts & hotels and there has NEVER been a fee assessed.
Unless something extraordinary occurs, this will probably be my first and last visit at this hotel. I'd rather stay at the Doubletree in Times Square or the Marriott Marquis.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Felicia M,


I apologize for all the challenges you had while visiting us recently but thank you for giving us this review so we can address all of your concerns.

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any unpleasant experiences you had with our Staff and Management during your stay.

I would like to arrange a time to speak with you directly to discuss all of your concerns and offer you some options that will help resolve the matter. Please contact me directly at (joseph.giordano@ Sheraton.com).


Thank you,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for work for a few days and it was over a weekend. There seems to be a lot of guests staying that didn't care about anyone else and ran up and down the corridors all evenings screaming, drunk, just being silly. I rang the front desk each evening, but they were very slow to deal with this, like they didn't come to the floor for over an hour each time. Then the front desk and concierge were dreadful. The concierge desk had a long queue and only ever had one staff on it and could not help us at all in regards to getting direction for a train or bus. The cocktails were really expensive too. The only positive was the room was quite spacious for a New York hotel. I won't stay here again though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoNicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello JoJoNicks,


I apologize for all the challenges you had while visiting us recently but thank you for giving us this review so we can address all of your concerns.

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any unpleasant experiences you had with our Staff and Management during your stay.

I would like to arrange a time to speak with you directly to discuss all of your concerns and offer you some options that will help resolve the matter. Please contact me directly at (joseph.giordano@ Sheraton.com).


Thank you,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

WOW! BEAUTFIFUL appointed rooms with nice pictures, Comfortable bed, flat screen, nice bathroom (ours had a shower instead if an old tub) and a view of Times Square. The location is INCREDIBLE! This has to be one of the best deals in New York City. The staff is wonderful. Most of all, kudos to a check in manager who greets you and help us put two reservations together, Jorge Leiva, who really made us feel like an important somebody! In the less than two minutes we stayed with him, he conveyed what we need to the front desk and made sure that we would be happy. He was the "moment" of contact that makes you want to come back! Make sure to spend additional money for club level access. It's beautiful and nice and easy to grab something to eat before you get going or relax before the evening starts. Thank you to everyone at the Times Square Sheraton. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palmspringsdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello palmspringsdoug,

Thank you for your great review. It is so nice to hear that you love our hotel’s luxurious amenities and prime location as much as we do. You are indeed an “important somebody,” and we hope to make you feel that way during all of your future visits. Thanks again.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Couple blocks from Times Square and a couple blocks from Central Park. Has subway close which made it really easy to get to where you need to go. the beds were VERY comfortable and the room was nice. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Great getaway for a girls weekend in the city!

Room Tip: ask for a room with one bed, the view will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clovelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted L, Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello clovelles,

Thank you so much for your stay and excellent review. We agree that our central location is perfect for a girls' weekend! Hope that you enjoyed everything NYC has to offer, from a relaxing picnic in Central Park to the sights and sounds of Times Square. Thanks again for your stay with us, and we hope that you'll join us for your next trip.

Warm regards,

Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,174 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,880 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Address: 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at our Times Square Hotel, located just steps from the Theater District, Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing