We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel room, great location and brilliant staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sherry-Netherland for one night only which was such a shame as it is brilliant.
On my arrival I was ever so nicely greeted and looked after by the front desk.
My room was 1111 and I can honestly say that when I entered it my jaw hit the floor. It is massive. The lounge is big and can certainly be used to host a drink reception. There is a kitchen area, small but does the job.
The bedroom was big as well and the bed ................ one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on, especially the pillows. As soft as anything.
The location is great on 5th Avenue, at the south end of Central Park and north end of the shops.
Would I stay there again . Absolutely.

Room Tip: Room 1111 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K-Man62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is the way it must have been for my mom in New York City in the '50's...like visiting your dowager aunt living quietly in elegance on the Upper East Side. Today, it's mostly a residence with fifty or so rooms available. Ours was a suite on the tenth floor, loads of space, a deco bathroom, a kitchenette filled with complimentary soft drinks (a lovely touch)...my daughter left a note saying "I (loveheart) this hotel" which just about sums up our visit. A particular pleasure was our interchanges with the elevator operators...of course we could have pushed the buttons ourselves, but how enjoyable to have a real person watching out for you. We also loved the back entrance to Cipriani's...we felt very sophisticated sitting at the four seat bar having a Martini (ask for a "Hemingway"). The Sherry isn't the newest or coolest midtown hotel, but it continues to deliver an elegance of another time...an experience you'll surely enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a2vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We have been coming to New York City since I was a little boy, and I know all of the finest hotels in the city very well. I am now in my sixties, and there is no other hotel I would stay at in the city besides the Sherry. The rooms are beautiful, the location is the best, the staff is genuinely caring, they are like a family. And it is truly a value, not a rip-off like most other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMorton_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I have been to midtown Manhattan many times and have stayed in a variety of hotels. This place has been the best. Nice, quiet hotel near Central Park...not noisy like the hotels near Times Square. Never had to wait for an elevator. The place has white gloved elevator operators! Rooms are nice and big and super clean. Right across the street from the Plaza if you are in the mood for some drinks. Within walking distance of everything. Will stay here again...just loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danesthesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Took my wife to NYC for her 50th b-day. The hotel is beautiful inside and the decor in rooms etc. made us feel as if we went back in time to the early 1900's but with modern amenities. Very ornate lobby and elevators (real live elevator operators) Great location at Central Park and within a 10 to 15 minute walk to Time Square and Broadway shows. We have stayed near Time Square in the past but wanted something less crazy and this place met our expectations. Also a short walk to Metropolitan Museum and You can pick up hop on hop off sightseeing buses, take carriage ride a block away from hotel. So for us it was convenient near attractions and less hectic than other parts of the city. We got a great price break and paid for three nights and got third for free. It is hard to find an inexpensive luxury hotel in this area. This hotel also has upscale residences in it.

Room Tip: Look for package deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ddrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The Sherry-Netherland is most definitely a very unique and exceptional hotel. While I was staying there, I felt as if I were staying in an elegant pre-war Fifth Avenue co-op apartment. The old-world elegance and the attention to the details of hospitality (a hand-written welcome note from the manager, fresh flowers, a box of lovely chocolates, gratis beverages in the refrigerator, and white-gloved elevator operators) make The Sherry-Netherland a breath of fresh air in today's cookie-cutter world of sameness and mediocrity. The Sherry-Netherland is heads and shoulders above its competition! Kudos to the exceptional staff---especially Renee and Russell. I look forword to my next stay at The Sherry!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Rooms were large and beautifully decorated!! Staff was helpful & friendly. Very comfortable bed!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
508 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £346 - £901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing