We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Everyone was friendly and the rooms were large. Staying in such a wonderful and friendly place made our trip even that much better. My husband is a runner so being across from Central Park was an added bonus. Already planning another trip there in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindylgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    64
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
180
259
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Ever since we started staying at this hotel four years ago, we have will never go to another hotel. From the time you check-in, the friendly staff make sure your stay is perfect. We always enjoy seeing how our room or suite is decorated as every one is different. We enjoy having a lemoncello next door at Cipriani's before retiring at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingersnap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

Picture perfect 1st family visit to NYC, and the Sherry played a huge part. Top to bottom this is a CLASS operation, from the minute you arrive you are treated with white gloved service, doormen, bellman, desk, housekeeping, just excellent.

Last minute reservations to Peter Luger's after a broadway show? Renee at the desk made it happen like she had drinks with the host over there on a regular basis! Pointers from the bellmen on shopping, cheap eats - you got it. Housekeeping spoils you w/ the in room coffee, water and drinks (all complimentary) you need, chocolates @ turndown, and seems like they refresh the room every time you leave - I swear!

Then you have the location, which is smack dab in the middle of midtown and the UES... And right across the street from Central Park. Carriage ride anytime you want, FAO Schwartz @ Apple store across 59th street... 10 minute walk to John's Pizzera on 44th, w/ Prada & Lindt chocolates, and Halal/Hotdog vendors at all times of the day for some NYC street food on the way.

If you want pampering and location, you can't do better!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Lovely little hotel and the rooms we had were nice enough, but I found nothing super spectacular about this place. It is across from the park and right next to The Pierre with all the great shopping nearby, as well, but I like many others in NYC better. I did, though, ride up in the elevator with Diana Ross (she was real sweet). I believe she lives here part time. It's a pretty nice hotel, but not what I'd expected for the amount of $$$ we paid (pretty pricey).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city, not the fire escape... unless you don't care about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selectivediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I recently visited the Sherry Netherland for a weekend trip to NY and this hotel was in the perfect location. On the SE corner of Central park, the hotels location on 5th ave. was picturesque! Also, many shops and resturants are within walking distance.

The hotels offers amazing suites, with separate kitchens, living and bedrooms. Plenty of space, yet comfortable ammenities. The beds and pillows were the most comfortable we have ever experienced! The old world design accents of the hotel make the experience that much more memorable.

The entire staff from the front desk to the elevator attendent were always smiling and ready to help with anything their guests need. The definately put their customers needs first. We cant wait to visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: Inside suites are very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our family stayed in five rooms at the Sherry Netherland this weekend. It's a beautiful old hotel, with excellent service and great attention to detail (eg. the elevator operator remembers on what floor we were staying on the first day). The rooms are spacious for NYC, and were quiet and clean. We have stayed in the Pierre, Waldorf, Essex house, etc and this hotel stands above the rest with their friendly and professional service. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 22Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I've stayed in a lot of hotels in New York, this was one of the best. Doorman, elevator (lift) attendant and everyone seemed to remember my name which was probably the most impressive thing. A fridge with several complimentary drinks refreshed every day, free wifi (sadly unusual these days).

The location was perfect, right next to the Apple store on the south east corner or Central Park, business or pleasure a great find.

Room Tip: The higher the better (usually the rule in New York)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John-Terrell-Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing