We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grand stay at the Sherry!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A grand stay at the Sherry!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My family and I, after much research, decided to stay at the Sherry Netherland Hotel. It was a fantastic experience. The rooms were fabuluous, the staff friendly and well trained and the location can not be beat. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Sherry!!

Room Tip: I suggest a room with ta view of Central Park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fluffernetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    64
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
180
259
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I travel to NYC for business and pleasure at least once or twice a year.
I have stayed in many different hotels in various locations throughout the city, mostly near mid-town where my business takes me. I can honestly say I have never felt more comfortable or more at home. Because it is a residence building and not an over-sized, transient hotel, it is quiet and comfortable and the location can't be beat. I agree with a previous reviewer, I did not want to leave and joked with the front desk I would call a real estate agent! Well, the Sherry does indeed have one, and her name is Theresa Nocerino. If you are in the market for a pied a terre, be sure to give her a call. Everyone at the hotel and in Cipriani's just raved about her. She made sure my every need was attended to, and the entire staff could not be more friendly. The elevator operators evoke an era gone by of service and style. If you want to feel refreshed and rested after a busy day in Manhattan, the Sherry is the place to stay. The only caveat is you may not want to leave your room, so don't overschedule yourself with appointments while visiting New York! 5 star, triple A+!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking down on the Apple store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Hotel is incredible. It has that feeling of living in The city not a Hotel feel about it.And to have an address like 5 ave.that would be nice. The Staff was helpful from the front door to your room.The room was huge compared to most hotel rooms in the city. The decor. is very nice and very clean. Fresh flowers were waiting and a box of chocolates. Had an incredible time. I will be back!

Room Tip: go for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Spooky in an interesting way, all those bald lift attentands! The location is great, indeed – but there are a lot of great locatiosn in NY. Cipriani not bad at all, though a bit dusty, the entire hotel is actually. There is not much of lobby, but I agree its not such a big lose. Rooms were nice, even if we had them viewing the internal courtyard.
And my 6years old remembers the hotel as the one with chair in the lift.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I go to NYC very often for shopping, to get my hair done, go to some dr. appts, these trips are usually solo. I also go with my husband and children during Christmas, and occasionally throughout the year. This is my favorite hotel on the East side, and I have stayed in many. The first time I stayed here I joked with Russell, the man at the front desk that they would probably have to remove me with police force because I loved it so much. One of the things that I find so amazing about the Sherry is that I find myself never asking for anything, because they have already thought of everything. The rooms are enormous, comfortable, the staff is attentive and lovely, I love the fact that beverages and wifi are included. The soaking tub and bathrooms are awesome. There is absolutely no street noise, which is kind of amazing given the location. The location could not be better, you are on the edge of central park, you can walk to any store you could ever want, as well as so many delicious restaurants nearby. There have been a few occasions where they have been booked up, but otherwise, I don't stay anywhere else, I simply don't want to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meagan1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Everyone was friendly and the rooms were large. Staying in such a wonderful and friendly place made our trip even that much better. My husband is a runner so being across from Central Park was an added bonus. Already planning another trip there in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindylgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Ever since we started staying at this hotel four years ago, we have will never go to another hotel. From the time you check-in, the friendly staff make sure your stay is perfect. We always enjoy seeing how our room or suite is decorated as every one is different. We enjoy having a lemoncello next door at Cipriani's before retiring at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingersnap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing