We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, stunning location”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

By far the best place I have ever stayed in NY. The location on the corner of Central Park is superb and this little oasis of calm is a gem of a find. We stayed in a suite on the 19th floor and it was beautifully appointed with everything you could ask for. All staff were superbly efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Suite 1909
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan-P-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    66
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
185
275
38
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

During a weekend in NYC, my girlfriend and I had the opportunity to stay at the Sherry. This was our first time at the Sherry, and it was great. The rooms are large, comfortable and immaculate. The staff was very helpful and courteous at all times. The location is the best, 59th and 5th Avenue. We had a great stay at the Sherry, could not ask for better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A genteel and warm elegance that doesn't exist any more. The staff was welcoming and warm, yet professional in every way. New York was my home town and I've stayed at other 5 Star luxurious hotels when in town. The Sherry gives me the feeling of intimacy, luxury and comfort that others haven't been able to duplicate. The location is phenomenal. Central Park as your front yard. The busy and fabulous 5th Ave. and midtown to your left and the quiet and elegant shops and neighborhood of Madison Ave. a block away. Everything you would want to do is just moments away. This is our new home away from home.... and what an amazing home it is!

Room Tip: Is there a bad one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I were supposed to go to the Sherry Netherland for the New York marathon 25 years ago. He was injured and we couldn't make the trip. When my daughter graduated college I promised to take her to New York. I looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor for the Sherry and decided this is where we needed to be. From the moment we shuffled our airline bedraggled selves over the threshold, we felt like Cinderellas. Tammy at the front desk said they had a surprise because they knew this was a special trip. I imagined a fruit basket might be waiting but much to my surprise we were upgraded from our courtyard view room to a suite. It was wonderful!! We were exhausted and went down to the front desk to see if there was a dinner restaurant close by and Pete, the doorman, took us by the hand and led us through the maze of the hotel to a restaurant next door. It was so nice to sit and relax! There were a variety of Keurig coffee/tea items in the kitchenette. When I left a note mentioning I preferred one of the coffees, a number of them magically appeared after the room was cleaned that morning. I left a note thanking housekeeping and they left me even more coffee the next day. There was someone to turn down the beds at night and leave us chocolates if we so desired. It was so wonderful to come back to the suite each night after exhausting ourselves with sightseeing. Any time we needed directions, a cab or ideas there was someone there to help. It can sometimes be scary being two women alone in a strange town, but the staff at the Sherry made us always feel safe and welcome. Each night at the end of our daily excursions, we felt like we were coming "home". This is definitely a place I will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdesquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach, ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

In the words of my 9 y/o OMG!!!! What an amazing place, the rooms are huge and so very comfortable. The complimentary daily restocking of water, sodas etc. is unheard of in NYC and was great to return to every evening. That being said it is the employees who make this place really shine. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so fabulous, I will not stay anyplace else.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank nickydee_Long_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Enter the 5th Avenue doors of the Sherry Netherland and you are instantly transported to a beautifully maintained replica of another era. The lobby is relatively small, the elevators are operated by white gloved staff and you are in your room in a fraction of the time it takes in the larger, grander monumnents to excess that domiante mid town New York The Sherry, as it is called by long time New Yorkers also houses over 50 apartments. My room was tastefully decorated with two comfortable chairs, a desk, a hutch for the television and a walk in closet.
The Sherry also houses Cipriani, a wonderful restaurant. It also provides room service. This is simply a magnificent place to stay while in NYC.

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms have no view. But, you really do not need one because who spends a lot of time l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I will tell anyone who will listen how great this place is. Fantastic room size, amazing views, helpful and courteous staff. It is truly an oasis in the middle of the great madness which is New York City.

Room Tip: Room #405 used to be an apartment that they now use as a "room". It's still an apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viens67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,435 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 466 in New York City
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing