We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The sherry netherland is in a great location. Its on 5th avenue, FAO swartz and apple store is right beside of the hotel. Central park across the street. They staff were great. Housekeeping left a small bear for my daughter after we came back from shopping. So sweet. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The restaurant was outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank myey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to New York. It was a trip to celebrate our 40th birthdays. We stayed at this hotel and were bowled over by the room we had which overlooked the apple store and fountain on 5th Avenue. The decor was luxurious and all staff so friendly and helpful. We intend to return to New York with our children when they are older and hope we can stay at this hotel. It made our city break even more spectacular. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room or city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JMc082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We went to New York to celebrate our daughters 21st and couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Wonderful location, spacious well decorated rooms, helpful friendly staff, can't think of any negative comment to make about this beautiful well run hotel. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Superb views, amazing decoration, professional staff...what more can you ask for?! The hotel oozes with class from the moment you walk through the door until you leave. Highly recommend it as the best hotel in NY!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

By far the best place I have ever stayed in NY. The location on the corner of Central Park is superb and this little oasis of calm is a gem of a find. We stayed in a suite on the 19th floor and it was beautifully appointed with everything you could ask for. All staff were superbly efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Suite 1909
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryan-P-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

During a weekend in NYC, my girlfriend and I had the opportunity to stay at the Sherry. This was our first time at the Sherry, and it was great. The rooms are large, comfortable and immaculate. The staff was very helpful and courteous at all times. The location is the best, 59th and 5th Avenue. We had a great stay at the Sherry, could not ask for better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A genteel and warm elegance that doesn't exist any more. The staff was welcoming and warm, yet professional in every way. New York was my home town and I've stayed at other 5 Star luxurious hotels when in town. The Sherry gives me the feeling of intimacy, luxury and comfort that others haven't been able to duplicate. The location is phenomenal. Central Park as your front yard. The busy and fabulous 5th Ave. and midtown to your left and the quiet and elegant shops and neighborhood of Madison Ave. a block away. Everything you would want to do is just moments away. This is our new home away from home.... and what an amazing home it is!

Room Tip: Is there a bad one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,497 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#24 of 469 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £356 - £952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing