We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat by Central Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A treat by Central Park”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Service is the first word that comes to mind. From the smiling door man, the clerks at the desk, the white-gloved elevator man to the helpful Bell men the Sherry Netherland staff are there to help their guests have a very pleasant experience. The room was well appointed and comfortable. Location is convenient for business and pleasure in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    64
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
185
265
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was my 2nd stay at the Sherry and I'm already looking forward to my 3rd! The location is the best in New York at the centre of everything. The hotel is an iconic symbol of a New York long ago but has moved graciously into the 21 century. The suites are large and clean with extremely comfortable beds. White gloved elevator operators and fresh flowers in your room and are just some of the little touches that make the Sherry-Netherland consistently in the top 10 hotels in America. Treat yourself for a night or two in this hotel like no other.
Bruce B from Toronto

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights the rooms are big and beds comfortable but the place is old an tied carpets stained walls need a paint really not a 5 star place location great, staff amazing so friendly and helpful this place just needs some tlc

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annmac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKinet1, Manager at The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, I know they all take great pride in offering outstanding service to all our guests. I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your accommodations, and I will be sure to review the room you occupied with our Housekeeping staff to ensure it is in optimal condition. I hope you will accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sherry-Netherland for a week to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. We were delighted to be upgraded to a beautiful suite, complete with flowers, chocolates and a cheese platter. The furnishings were very comfortable and stylish. The service was impeccable at all times. The concierge even booked us a table at Per Se (when the reservations opened a month prior). The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance to many of the attractions and also very close to the subway. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

In my experience there is no hotel experience in New York that matches the elegance, location, professionalism and friendliness of the Sherry Netherland . The transition from the hectic streets of Manhattan to the grace and personal attention found once you pass into the lobby is a unique , wonderful experience. The staff at the Sherry genuinely cares about your comfort and well being . The rooms are perfectly maintained , with traditional decor and, often , gallery quality art . The Sherry is truly a home away from home .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 8 days in this beautiful and charming hotel. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a superb suite on the 21st floor with view on the plaza. The staff was helpful and very friendly and competent at all times. Our suite was extremely comfortable, we had a huge living room, very nicely decorated, a big bedroom with walk in dressing room and ensuite bathroom. There was also a fully equipped small kitchen.
Room service was from Harry Cipriani, restaurant down stairs, which we used once to order a simple salad. This came in a large bowl with a basket of fresh bread, butter, ice water and a plate of delicious cookies served by a classy butler: impressive. We went to the restaurant too which is a great place especially for the bellinis and watching " the people" dining there
The interior decoration of the public areas of the Hotel is very warm and elegant with a special mention for the elevators' interior.
We needed guidance ( restaurants, shops...) on several occasions and were allways given very good advice.
For what we wanted to do in New York the Hotel was located right were we had to be, close to the museums and shopping areas, so most of the time we could just walk to our destination.
As foreigners we knew New York was not cheap but at this hotel the expense is worth every penny and I would recommend it to everyone wanting to feel home when traveling.

Room Tip: The higher the level the better (probably).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cannasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Convenient location on 5th Avenue right on Central Park. The room was a decent size. Service was excellent with free wifi, water, coffee, and tea in the room. The reason for not giving a better rating is that the room next to us was a construction site. Drilling and pounding started as early as eight in the morning. From a five star hotel I would have expected someone to inform us of this construction work and offer to switch rooms if necessary.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank shlomo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing