We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's simple really, it's about service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's simple really, it's about service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

With a world full of travel options, so many destinations and oddles of hotels to choose from, it all gets down to service for me. There's a lot to be said for the saying; "a bed is a bed is a bed." At the end of the day a welcome smile, a helpful hint or two, a warm goodnight greeting, that's what it's all about. The Sherry Netherland is now considered old fashioned in it's delivery. In the fast paced, arrogant hotel industry the Sherry is more a gem, I would stay no other place in NYC from now on. And their Concierge is at the top of their game.

Their only downfall is the very ordinary breakfast at next doors Cipriani Restaurant. Needs a friendlier approach from the Cip staff.

Room Tip: If it ain't broken, don't fix it. Near perfect score.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    64
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
182
263
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I'm really in love with some hotels having luxury and royal design. I saw pictures of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel before I went to NYC. The hotel was my favourite type, and yes!!!! It definitely was until I saw the bathroom. Everything was luxury, royal - like, fabulous and historic like a castle or Buckingham Palace, especially lobby lounge and reception area. The room was more modern and fashioned. So the bathroom was. I felt a little disappointed. Luckily, my room had great city and park view. I could enjoy the beautifully natural view while sipping a cup a tea. It made me more comfortable, I supposed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggodoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our 10 year old son's first stay in NYC and so we wanted to make it special. The Sherry-Netherland was given excellent reviews on TripAdvisor so we decided to stay here and were delighted by our choice.

The hotel is in a wonderful art deco tower in a splendid location at the south east corner of central park. There are many wonderful ceiling murals in the hotel lobby and lifts (elevators) and there is a feeling that this is a far more personal affair than many larger hotels.

The staff (doormen, concierge/reception staff and the lift operators) were all very welcoming, cheerful and helpful. It is perhaps unfair to single any individual out because they were all so good but I can not help but give a special mention to Jacqueline (the Front Office Manager), Russell the Concierge and William the doorman all of whom did their bit to make our stay just that bit more special.

A quick note regarding the concierge staff. They were able to provide passes to some attractions which were very useful in jumping to the front of the queue (line). Of particular mention were the passes for the Empire State Building and the Intrepid Aircraft Carrier where the time saving was considerable.

We had a lovely suite on the 7th floor with our son sleeping on a sofa bed in the sitting room. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the marble-clad bathroom had both a bath and a walk-in shower. It was very quiet. The suite also had a kitchenette which we did not use but might appeal to some.

An outstanding place to stay and one that I will certainly return to, if possible, when I next visit NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romulus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on the first stop of our Honeymoon and our first time in New York. The service was just excellent, couldn't fault anyone we met, the doormen, receptionists, lift clerk were always smiling and helpful.
Our room was beautiful with a lovely view over Central Park and the location was perfect, right at the top of Fifth Avenue and just down from Broadway and on the corner of the Park.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB13AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Service is the first word that comes to mind. From the smiling door man, the clerks at the desk, the white-gloved elevator man to the helpful Bell men the Sherry Netherland staff are there to help their guests have a very pleasant experience. The room was well appointed and comfortable. Location is convenient for business and pleasure in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was my 2nd stay at the Sherry and I'm already looking forward to my 3rd! The location is the best in New York at the centre of everything. The hotel is an iconic symbol of a New York long ago but has moved graciously into the 21 century. The suites are large and clean with extremely comfortable beds. White gloved elevator operators and fresh flowers in your room and are just some of the little touches that make the Sherry-Netherland consistently in the top 10 hotels in America. Treat yourself for a night or two in this hotel like no other.
Bruce B from Toronto

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights the rooms are big and beds comfortable but the place is old an tied carpets stained walls need a paint really not a 5 star place location great, staff amazing so friendly and helpful this place just needs some tlc

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annmac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKinet1, Manager at The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, I know they all take great pride in offering outstanding service to all our guests. I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your accommodations, and I will be sure to review the room you occupied with our Housekeeping staff to ensure it is in optimal condition. I hope you will accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing