We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NYC Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose the Sherry Netherland for a trip to celebrate my son's 16th birthday. Our purpose was to see the museums, central park and a show. I wanted something unique and different and the Sherry did not disappoint. The 2 room suite (207) overlooked Cartier and the Apple store, the bathroom was a great size. The living room was spacious. Loved the small kitchen with Kuerig and fridge stocked with waters and soda ( all complimentary). What really impressed was the personal service and attention to detail. From the minute we arrived, my son was greeted and wished a Happy Birthday, check in was quick and pleasant, valet parking was no hassle. The bellman who showed us our room ( I believe it was Mauro) could not have been more helpful. Jacqueline Acosta who assisted with my reservation took such good care, answering all my questions pre-visit. The birthday card, and cupcakes with candles waiting by the fresh flowers was an impressive touch. No request was any problem. Each and every member of the staff we encountered was so pleasant and kind. We were sad to check out after the weekend ended. The Sherry will definitely be the hotel selected when I return to New York City.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jb0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've stayed at the Sherry-Netherland for years and its always perfect. But, somehow it just keeps improving. The lobby renovations are almost complete and look spectacular. The suites are all different, but all beautiful and exceedingly comfortable. Service is so friendly and attentive you feel as if you are the only ones there. We find the fluffy comforters too hot, so the first night replaced the one on the bed with the blanket from the closet. On subsequent nights, during turn-down service, housekeeping made up the bed that way. It's just one example of the attention to detail here. The location alone would make this an easy choice, but with everything else to recommend it, we never consider trying another New York hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say, this was an amazing hotel. I was fortunate to get in at the last minute given a friend who couldn't use the reservation. Too notch in every area. The rooms luxurious, the food to die for, the staff super professional. Thank goodness my company footed the bill because it was pricy!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Taulktourstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is an incredible hotel. It is a charming European boutique hotel. It is located in a prime Manhattan location. The staff is exceptional. Truly a 5 star experience.The room was beautiful. It had a gorgeous view as well.I look forward to a return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I brought our two youngest daughters (11 & 13) to NYC for 4 days of shopping, dining and shows. This was my first time staying at this fantastic hotel and our experience was incredible! Great staff (especially Reginald and Tammy) throughout. The gentlemen operating the elevators were always very welcoming as were the doormen. The bartender in Harry Cipriani's(don't know name. Bald with glasses) was a great guy! Very accommodating and great to talk to. The manager in the restaurant was great as well. We are looking forward to our next trip to NYC and to The Sherry Netherland!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was the most fantastic hotel stay I have ever experienced!!! My husband and I went to NYC to celebrate my birthday and the Sherry-Netherland staff treated us like VIP's. As soon as we arrived they upgraded our room to a suite just because it was my birthday. Complete with two bathrooms, a living area and the most amazing views. They had two cupcakes and a birthday card waiting for me in our room when we arrived. They did everything from making our dinner reservations to helping us secure theatre tickets (thank you Elizabeth, you were a dream!). The staff is amazing!! Pete went above and beyond to make us feel "at home". He even personally escorted us to a restaurant instead of just giving us directions. One night after returning from the theatre (late) we really wanted something sweet, but everywhere was closed. Pete had the restaurant, Cipriani's open up their already closed doors for us and they served us the most amazing desserts!! The location is amazing. Right on 5th Ave in front of Central Park. The interior of the hotel and room was amazing. Very clean and elegant...trust me because I am super picky about where we stay. My husband and I have both been to NYC several times and The Sherry-Netherland far exceeded our expectations. We will most definitely stay here on any future trips as I cannot imagine a hotel any better than the Sherry!! If you are looking for a fantastic NYC experience, look no further. They are THE BEST!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DaniTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Sherry Netherlands never fails to impress me. This last visit, I changed my arrival, departure date multiple times and were always told, no problem, happy to make any changes needed, never got any negative attitude. The staff from the moment you pull up to when your loaded your bags to leave are always so nice and truly helpful. One can sense when staff are just doing their job, but the staff at the Sherry truly go the extra mile in pleasing their customers. Love this hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the park!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £316 - £890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing