We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six months later and the memories are still wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Six months later and the memories are still wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This review is long overdue. The two of us wanted a special and romantic place to stay for New Years Eve. We could not have picked a better hotel. The location is perfect and we walked across the street to Central Park to see the fireworks.

All members of the concierge gave us exceptional attention and made us feel as if we were the only guests. We became quite comfortable coming back each day to friendly faces and an inviting room after a busy NY day.

The rooms are beautiful and full of wonderful details. The little box of chocolate in our room reminds us of such an amazing experience, we are using it as the box to hold our rings at our wedding rings this August!

I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

Room Tip: Even if your outside view is simple, turn around an enjoy how gorgeous the rooms are inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    64
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
182
263
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sherry Netherland in a one bedroom suite for a week in mid June. This was our second visit over the last 12 months and it was again a very happy experience. Staff at the front desk greeted us with genuine warmth and made us feel " at home" right away! The accommodation is spacious at the Sherry and furnishings of high quality. We had one of the most comfortable beds to sleep in and the bathroom was quite large by NY Hotel standards. But the standout feature is the service - Sherry staff are all just so friendly and helpful. They are obviously well selected and highly trained. Well done! We look forward to our next visit to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

"Old School Elegance" Staying at the Sherry is the way staying at a hotel used to be! Providing superior accommodations; large room, very quiet, complimentary soft drinks, water and toiletries, and turn down service, the Sherry exceeded my expectations. The staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Highly recommend to anyone looking for that home away from home luxury experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are very large, if you are not particular about a view, the interior rooms offer the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose the Sherry Netherland for a trip to celebrate my son's 16th birthday. Our purpose was to see the museums, central park and a show. I wanted something unique and different and the Sherry did not disappoint. The 2 room suite (207) overlooked Cartier and the Apple store, the bathroom was a great size. The living room was spacious. Loved the small kitchen with Kuerig and fridge stocked with waters and soda ( all complimentary). What really impressed was the personal service and attention to detail. From the minute we arrived, my son was greeted and wished a Happy Birthday, check in was quick and pleasant, valet parking was no hassle. The bellman who showed us our room ( I believe it was Mauro) could not have been more helpful. Jacqueline Acosta who assisted with my reservation took such good care, answering all my questions pre-visit. The birthday card, and cupcakes with candles waiting by the fresh flowers was an impressive touch. No request was any problem. Each and every member of the staff we encountered was so pleasant and kind. We were sad to check out after the weekend ended. The Sherry will definitely be the hotel selected when I return to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jb0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've stayed at the Sherry-Netherland for years and its always perfect. But, somehow it just keeps improving. The lobby renovations are almost complete and look spectacular. The suites are all different, but all beautiful and exceedingly comfortable. Service is so friendly and attentive you feel as if you are the only ones there. We find the fluffy comforters too hot, so the first night replaced the one on the bed with the blanket from the closet. On subsequent nights, during turn-down service, housekeeping made up the bed that way. It's just one example of the attention to detail here. The location alone would make this an easy choice, but with everything else to recommend it, we never consider trying another New York hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say, this was an amazing hotel. I was fortunate to get in at the last minute given a friend who couldn't use the reservation. Too notch in every area. The rooms luxurious, the food to die for, the staff super professional. Thank goodness my company footed the bill because it was pricy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Taulktourstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is an incredible hotel. It is a charming European boutique hotel. It is located in a prime Manhattan location. The staff is exceptional. Truly a 5 star experience.The room was beautiful. It had a gorgeous view as well.I look forward to a return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022-1092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing