We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very slow staff”
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #175 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just stayed on business, good location and has a unique retro style BUT was let down massively by the shambolic restaurant team. Ordering food/drinks at any time was painfully slow, no one took charge and we spent most of the time trying to get someones attention. Also eating food on low coffee tables isn't ideal, snacks maybe but not restaurant food. Room was on the small side and air conditioning was not responsive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 3,008 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Soho Grand has seen better days.

My room was small and I complained about the TV, The heating/cooling and the telephone (twice). The TV required me to wait 5-10 seconds every time I activated the remote. The heating/cooling required me to accept two functions: on and off, and that there was nothing in between. The Telephone was a cordless 2 line phone that was not only a relic but one that required a new battery. I had to limit each call home to 5-10minutes.

The staff were friendly but I felt that they didn't take much pride in this Hotel. The fact that management saddles them with repairing out dated equipment rather than invest in upgrades will probably give the reader an appreciation of what to expect when staying at the Soho Grand.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhoundIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location. Walking distance from great food and shop. The rooms are small NY like but tasteful and comfortable. The people at the front desk are amazing with special mention to the charming, patient and accommodating HELEN CHIANG!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was a very nice hotel, conveniently located so that I could walk to the southern tip of Manhattan and to Times Square. It's located in a quiet area with several good restaurants nearby. The room was very clean and the staff were all quite friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The service and location is lovely, but the rooms need some refreshing at this point. Bonus for nice big bathrooms, but the bedrooms could be at any Hilton in the world. NYC has a lot of hotels and I think the Soho Grand could use some sprucing by this point, That being said, the service is great, and every floor has free coffee, so it's nice for business. I'd happily stay at the Soho Grand again, and you won't be unhappy there, but you won't be getting the very highest of the high end of NYC hotels here anymore. The James, a stone's throw away, is probably nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotPantsMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I've stayed in New York many times, at various hotels, but this was the first visit to the Soho Grand. We liked the hotel overall, but there were also a couple of negatives.

Good points:
- Great location downtown - easy to get to most things we wanted to do.
- Public areas are lovely, including a cool bar that's also really comfortable to relax in, and we really liked the music they played.
- The room was nicely decorated, with a comfy bed and good bathroom amenities.
- Staff were friendly and helpful in the main.
- Continental breakfast included in the room rate was nice (although it was repetitive having exactly the same pastries every morning - varying them would be good).

Areas for improvement:
- Our room was very hot. No matter what we set the aircon at, it didn't work and the temperature never fell below 26C. In the end we gave up and left it off. We left the windows open when out, but when we closed them the room quickly heated up again. We didn't sleep very well because of the heat, and didn't want to open the windows onto the noisy street. This was February, so would have doubts about staying in summer!
- Our room was paid for in advance, and we had a voucher confirming this, but at check-in there was no record of our reservation on the hotel system. This was sorted out quite efficiently, so we were fine with it. At check-out, though, we were billed again for the room. This was rectified again, but it all just seems a bit inefficient for a hotel of this standard.

I'd consider staying here again in future, but it probably wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

If you are like me and appreciate stylish Boutique hotels like The Clift in San Francisco or The Blake in London, then you are going to love the Soho Grand Hotel in NYC. The hotel is not only located in a great spot, but has the most unique and stylish feel throughout. My room was a bit of a disappointment compared to every other part of the hotel, but I would be dishonest if I didn't say this is the best digs in town. Outdoor cafe in the summer is great especially because you can smoke a good cigar without anyone intruding on you. Staff are great too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sbroumand_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#182 of 469 in New York City
1,427 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#90 of 469 in New York City
966 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#75 of 469 in New York City
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#21 of 469 in New York City
534 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#249 of 469 in New York City
1,027 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £209 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing