We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough to review”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
489 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Tough to review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I spent two weeks at this hotel, and I really wanted to like it. It is eccentric in welcoming and serving our four legged children (dogs that is), and with its own mini dog part I was initially smitten. The check-in was great, the dark brown decor was vaguely bohemian. The room size was fine, although I was allegedly in a 'large room', and it did not seem particularly large. Some of the furnishings are older, although necessarily rundown, tacky or dated...I took it to be part of the style of decor. The room and bathroom did need some minor maintenance. Generally the service was excellent, but you need to be comfortable with a more informal style in order to enjoy it. Well located in SoHo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    896
    368
    164
    118
See reviews for
311
1,057
208
750
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I love the Soho Grand. As a former NY I've tried them all - and this is my hands down favorite. Beautiful rooms, great locations and most of all truly excellent staff. I feel like it's my apartment in the city - it's close to everything and btw the front desk staff and the concierge you can go anywhere and get anything you want. The behind the scenes team remembers me, my family, and my dog and makes sure every detail is taken care of for every. single. stay. It's the only place i stay in NYC, and the only place I ever recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I think what I liked best about The Soho Grand was that the people and systems just dissolve into the background and get out of the way. What I mean is that they do their job well here, but not in a fawning or in-your-face manner - in other words it was perfect for us.

Great location, good wifi, nice bar area, friendly and efficient. The hotel is well located in Soho and it makes for a more pleasant experience than staying in midtown IMO. Easy access to subway and always a taxi handy.

If you want offsite laundry, that's easy to find (a minute away) and there's a good simple-supermarket over the road.

All up a lot to like about this property, I'd certainly book here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had to be in NYC overnight and Soho Grand's pet-friendly policy meant I didn't have to bother going to a kennel, too. They provide bowls and a doggy bed and have their own dog run. You can also bring your dog into the lounge, where you can order dinner. The bed is extremely comfortable and the staff is wonderful. Climate control worked perfectly.

The hotel is kind of expensive for my budget but it really pays to not get the most basic room, as they are way too cramped for two people and a dog. For 20% more you can get a Corner King which is more than adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The Grand is an excellent base camp for exploring all of downtown. With easy access to the A, C, E and the 6 a short walk away, you can get anywhere reasonably fast. If you are traveling for work and hate midtown, this is a great alternative. Rooms Are large as is bathroom. Great HVAC. Small fitness room but it has windows and a balcony with a few lounge chairs - a good place to work out. Plenty of little shops for drinks and snacks on Canal.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We chose the Soho Grand to celebrate our 20th anniversary in NYC. We made the choice based upon input from friends who "know" NY! What a home run! Centered in Soho District with great shopping and access on foot to super restaurants, we found it a great "home base" for our visit.

Our room looked out at the new World Trade center, which was inspiring both during the day and night times. Every aspect of the room was first cabin.

Breakfast in hotel exceeded expectations as did an early dinner before going to a show. The subway entrance is 1 1/2 city blocks and for 2.50 you ride anywhere! VERY EASY and SAFE.

Two thumbs up for this great hotel.



Concierge was over the top in being helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigpa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I truly had such an amazing stay, I had to write ( for the first time in all my travels!) a note to the staff:
To SOHO GRAND:
Thank you so much for the wonderful service you provided for me & my daughter, during our recent stay. Our room (s) were perfect in every way, which set the tone for her 21st birthday celebration. Ordinarily when traveling, we spend the majority of our time outside of the hotel, however, we felt so comfortable and pampered, that we thoroughly enjoyed whatever down time we had in our room as well. You, along with the rest of the staff at the Soho Grand, were exceptional in every way and regardless of how many fabulous hotels I've stayed in during my travels, the Soho Grand will now be added to one of my top favorites! I will certainly return to NYC, and will be sure to stay at your hotel. I even had to join your Rewards program!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing