We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip”
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Anniversary trip”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thank you to everyone at this hotel who helped make our 35th anniversary special. Daniel at the front desk, greeted us and made us feel so special and it just got better from there. Thanks for the champagne. John, concierge superior! John, all your recs were right on the spot and so helpful to us. Thank you!
Stephanie M, your presence and grace at the Grand Bar were grand. You helped make us feel as if we were the only guests. Anthony, bellman extraordinaire as well as Martin.
The hotel was nice but that is not what made our trip special. All the staff from housekeeping to door front made us smile. I wanted the trip to be so special for my husband and it was. Loved the area. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofthebride23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,381
    911
    380
    165
    119
See reviews for
322
1,079
212
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hip young hotel in good suburb of NYC .. Small rooms as old cool hotel ..walk to food ,subway easy and on Sunday comes alive with art market...stayed for 4 nites A great us style hotel eg not the big chains ...a bit of a dark place need to increase lights a little......air cond a bit of a noise but enjoy soho

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mrsomelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I love this hotel - it has a traditional & non-clinical style that is classy and consistent over the years. The care to customers is maintained throughout your stay and any issues are handled to completion & satisfactory. I would stay at the Soho Grand on every trip to NYC if I could (mostly is my choice even for work trips so no doubt I'll see you there ;o).
The location is perfect if you like being with the relaxed chic scene of Soho but only minutes away from the Village.
The food is tasty and the bar/restaurant is slightly tight fitting but that's because everyone piles in - it's a great atmosphere and you can just have cup of tea if you feel like it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I don't like American Hotels or Airlines. Best to get it out of the way. I find all that "have a nice day" forced friendliness, irritating and unnecessary. For my purposes the Soho Grand was the wrong end of the island - but was game to try something different. 'Different' is the appropriate word here - it had charm, stylish, non brash. Attentive without being over bearing. The service was subtle but effective. I stayed in one of the smaller suites - this was useful for my purposes as I needed to conduct meetings in private. I explained my requirements to the front desk on check-in - gave them a list of my meetings and requirements for food/drinks orders for room service for the entire week. They did not miss a thing and went way beyond what I would have expected...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zach f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel - it has a cool and chilled out vibe, at the same time as providing excellent service. I use it when I am working in the financial district - it's a lovely walk at the beginning/end of a busy day. The 'standard' rooms are great - I happily live in them for 4 nights at a time. The staff are always so friendly and welcome me back every visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank louise_richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location is great and the style is unquestionable but the service is dreadful. From check in, to breakfast to evening cocktails it really was all about looking good and nothing else. I have never had such poor service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed at the Soho Grand Hotel numerous times for business...so suffice to say there is something about it worth coming back for.

Still I think this hotel lacks a few things for the price. The location is great, but the rooms are small and could do with a little lift. It needs to be bought into the new age. Also other than your tiny hotel room, there's not much added value here.

Do stay here, but i think there are probably better boutique hotels around now.

Customer service is ok. Nothing exceptional

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibeenthereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#77 of 467 in New York City
883 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#160 of 467 in New York City
1,396 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#64 of 467 in New York City
474 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
470 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing