We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SOHO's finest!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #165 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SOHO's finest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Loved the location and bar at this place. The staff were at times a bit inconsistent in service, some were there to be seen and didnt really appear to be helpful, but the bar staff were fantastic. The gym is a good size and wasnt always busy. Otherwise its a great place to stay, nice and central.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Oso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    884
    365
    163
    118
See reviews for
308
1,045
206
744
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just stayed 4 days last week. Really wanted to love this hotel, the staff was really great. First high end hotel in NY that I have stayed at that didnt have pretentious staff. But the hotel is in desperate need of repair , specially considering how much the rates for our suite was.

When we checked into our room, there was pieces of the roof on our bed and floor and the roof was literally falling down, with water dripping onto the bed. I immediately took photos and went downstairs to show the staff and they sent someone to vacuum the mess up and said someone would fix it the next day but they never did for the entire duration of our stay. I guess this was deemed "normal". To me, they probably should of put us in a new room right away. The room smelled like damp mold the entire duration, and the roof contintued to peel and fall down intermediately.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I gave this hotel another chance primarily because the client i do business with uses this hotel.
I would never choose to stay here again as it simply doesn't deliver. The rooms are dark and tired and the staff are mainly there to be seen rather than to serve.
The best 3 things about it are the location, the grilled cheese sandwiches and the aqua leather chairs in the lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location is great, convenient and in the heart of Soho. I have been to this hotel a number of times since it opened. The staff are still friendly and hip but the rooms could really use some work. The lamp beside my bed had an electrical issue and kept flickering on and off. The wall outlets were delicate and I had to brace the outlet plate before I removed my adapters in fear of the whole outlet coming out of the wall. The furniture was scratched and well-worn. After this place gets a refresh I will gladly return, otherwise, I am not coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mono20013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at SG this weekend. I would say that it is seeing some wear. The level of attention to detail is just not there. Our room was just ok. I hate when people harp on the size of rooms in NYC. Most hotel rooms are small in NYC. It's just the way it is, period. That being said, it was "clean" but not "Hotel clean". Our bathroom was not cleaned, at all, not once. They replaced the bath towels but that was it. The cleaning staff never gave us a bar of soap. Luckily I had one from the weekend before. The toiletries were never refreshed-not even once. The bathmat was taken and never replaced.

The service within the hotel was tolerable at best. The bartenders are awful. We had lunch at the bar when we arrived. We couldn't get him to even come over and check on us for 10 minutes. There are only 8-10 barstools with two other people there. It wasn't a good start. We decided to use the cocktail lounge from then on. In the lounge there was a really good cocktail waitress named Janae.

In the end, there seems to be an overwhelming bored looking/acting hipster staff. I would say that for those that will pay more to enjoy a nice hotel...you may be disappointed. Beautiful property, great location, service...not so much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The Soho Grand has the potential to be the best hotel in Lower Manhattan, but sadly lack of investment in the rooms means it falls considerably short of that. This is a trendy hotel that takes itself pretty seriously, and the grand lobby area is indeed a cool place to hang out for drinks. The food is also uniformly excellent. The rooms, however, are tiny, dusty, dark & tired. You just can't charge the price the Soho Grand does for accommodation like this. So my counsel to the hotel management is it's time to refurbish the place.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ernestoteles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can't begin this article without the disclaimer that if they hadn't had a room I may not have stayed in Soho. I could not stay at the hotel I was booked in for personal reasons and therefore had to shop around the neighborhood and fell into the Soho Grand. The front office staff was wonderful and showed me 3 rooms before I chose the one we took. So on a scale of helpfulness they get 10.
The hotel itself is, as they love to say in NY, quintessentially New York and which is why it is not a a Soho boutique hotel.
The Soho Grand is a place that gives you apartments for film stars or elegant but small rooms for the rest with the kind of American functionalities you expect….a great coffee machine and an ice machine on every floor. The downside is paper cups or if you prefer order from room service.
Our room had large and enormously comfortable bed, a small desk, chest of drawers and a cupboard. The problem was the furniture took most of the space so we either sat on the bed or at the desk. They had a strange lounge chair but it was inconveniently placed. Some renovation seems to have begun and it needs a bit of change especially the ac system.
The first floor ( next to reception) has a lovely lounge with a dj, may have to wait to get place around 5pm and a bar.
And for animal lovers it has, I think, the only dog garden!
And finally, it has location. It is Soho and a place from where you can enjoy Soho, which is why we always come to Soho.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing