We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,872)
Filter reviews
5,872 results
Traveller rating
2,560
1,914
792
369
237
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,560
1,914
792
369
237
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaffinia manhattanpenn stationmadison square gardenniles restaurantnew yorkone bedroom suitetimes squarewine hourstreet noisean upgradecity that never sleepssofa bedempire state buildinglight sleepercentral locationupon checkfantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
4,609 - 4,614 of 5,872 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Myself and my wife are from Sydney Aust and in our early 50s and did a 3 week trip the States. We spent 5 days in LA and went to Disneyland and Universal studios. we went to NY for 1 night at another hotel and then did a 7 day cruise to the Bahamas and then spent 4 nights at the Affinia which was a great way to finish out trip.
We were on the 28th floor which was really nice and in a very nice room. We had spent 1 night at another hotel about a 2 minute walk away before our cruise which was ok so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Affinia at how nice it was, the staff were very nice and then we get told we were on the 28th floor so we knew it would be quiet from the noise of NY. We were a short walk to the Empire State Building and close to shops and time square and Penn station was across the road and to get around NY the subway is by the far the best way to go. It leaves the Sydney rail system in its wake
We caught the train to Washington for the day and it was very pleasant.
If I go to NY again, which I think I will as 4 days is not enough I would without any hesitation stay at the Affinia again.
Only complaint I have is they never supplied coffee each day but there was a Starbucks across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Tahboy,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. I am glad you chose to make Affinia Manhattan a part of your big U.S. trip. The hotel's location near Penn Station certainly makes it easy to get around and it seems like you enjoyed our proximity to the Empire State Building as well as Times Square. On your next trip, please join us for a new complimentary wine hour each evening.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Really liked this hotel. The location was perfect, right across the street from Penn station. The room was comfy and spacious for our needs, and very clean. The bathroom was small, not enough counter space, but this was minor, and the elevators were slow but its an older hotel. I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stcroix2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear stcroix2013,

Thank you for the kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would visit us again. On your next trip, be sure to join us for our new evening wine hour.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

When we first arrived our room was quite small but clean, well furnished with a good sized bathroom with superb shower. It was at the front of the hotel on the 5th floor and rather noisy. Ear plugs are provided which helped. The next day we asked if we could be upgraded and we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on the 13th floor away from the front of the hotel. The suite was very spacious with 2 bathrooms (one with a bath) and full sized kitchen. Again, very clean with a comfortable bed. The decor is how it looks on the website but the paintwork lets it down a little. The bathrooms are modern but the tiles are old. All in all the hotel is good value for money. All staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The hotel is in an excellent location, really central for Times Square, the Empire State Building, 34th Street for shopping, a short walk to the Rockefeller Center and half an hour to Central Park. Penn Street Station with trains to Newark Airport is just across the road as is Madison Square Garden. We didn't eat in the restaurant or bar but the menu seemed reasonable and food looked good.
We ate breakfast in a cafe a couple of doors away - great selection and reasonably priced.
After reading previous reviews before arriving we were a little apprehensive but needn't have been. It's not as modern as other 4star hotels we've stayed in but we had a really comfortable stay.

Room Tip: A higher floor room away from the front of the hotel is quieter
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dillybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Dillybop,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am pleased our team was able to upgrade you and that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our one-bedroom suite. We often hear that we have an excellent location and it sounds like you found it convenient too. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to New York.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

great central location! good value

crazy comfy pillows and bed, room was clearly "updated" from an older hotel but it was all we needed for our NYC stay. would have been nice to have free wifi in the room.

the free use of yoga mats and other concierge items was a nice treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ms. Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Ms. Vanessa H.,

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds and our convenient location near Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

jenna made this trip extra special!!! thank you jenna!!! The room we got was a great surprise and worked very well to accommodate 2 adults and 3 kids...
The location and room and price were the best in town!
Look for the summer deals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miamitraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear miamitraci,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. I am glad you found our hotel location convenient for your family trip. Many of our travelers enjoy the spacious rooms and proximity to Times Square and the Empire State Building. I will be sure to pass along your enthusiastic compliment to Jenna. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews