We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #211 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Location and Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just back having stayed for a week. Great location and base for getting around New York. Some rooms are better than others and it's worth asking for a change if you're not happy. The staff are extremely helpful and responsive. James in particular went to great lengths to make sure the room was to our satisfaction. The bar / restaurant Niles is very pleasant and the food is top quality and really good value, especially with the resident's discount. Overall, a very pleasant stay and will definitely return when visiting New York again.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in some of the suites have no window and can feel a bit claustrophobic. If this bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear FrankieL10,

We are so glad to hear you had a great time while staying with us. I will share your comments with James and the team at Niles. We look forward to seeing you again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,846
    1,592
    677
    297
    172
See reviews for
1,319
1,421
177
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

New York was our first stop of a 4 week trip around the US.
Rooms dont really look like they do on the Affinia website. Room was small with noisy AC unit and tiny bathroom.
Great location, directly across from Madison Square Gardens, Penn Station.
Had to pay for WIFI in the room and also computers in the lobby also require credit card. Annoying they couldnt provide guests with free WIFI. Overall OK stay, but not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Rachel H,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that you did not have an optimal experience. Please know that we do offer free wi-fi in the lobby. I am glad that did enjoy our convenient location and hope that you will give us another chance to make it right.

Thanks,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great place to stay, walking distance to all the attractions. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and very helpful. There is a restuarant on the ground floor which is very popular and reasonable with some good menu. If you are staying long term there is a laundry conveniently located on the fourth floor. You get 10% discount with your room key card at Macy's, great place to get some good bargains. The Penn subway station is just across the road and if you are a first timer this place will suit you well. The room we stayed was very good and we stay for a week

Room Tip: If you are staying long term, suggest you get a room on the higher floors. Rooms at the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shane3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Shane3211,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is great to hear that you loved not only our location, but also our friendly staff. I will be sure to pass along the compliment. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant & bar, Niles New York, while staying with us. The food here is a local favorite. Please join us for our new nightly wine hour on your next visit.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A great location, lots to do nearby. Chic bars and reasonably priced food nearby.Yellow cab ride is a fixed rate from the airport(JFK) so expect to pay $60 if you taxi in. Affinia was a Great value(travelzoo deal). Use the earplugs provided! Its New York and the fire engine station is nearby, but dont let this put you off. Great bed and linens and a shower to knock you over with lots of hot water and fluffy towels. Well worth a visit and I will go there again.
Keith- Bermuda.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrmrs Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear mrmrs Keith S,

Thank you for the kind words. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with as and found the hotel to provide a great value. We often hear we have an amazing location so I am glad you found that to be true. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My friend and I spent three nights in this hotel. We were lucky enough to get an internet special rate, so booked a suite and only paid for two nights, the third was free. All hotels in NYC are stupidly expensive and this place is as well, but the free night was a huge plus. The hotel was adequate but was not quite what I was expecting from their website. The location is fabulous, close to a ton of sights but also next to Penn Station and the subway so you can really get anywhere in the city fairly easily. The rooms were fine, if not a little worn, (the bathroom was miniscule and was kind of out of place in a larger room), beds were super comfy and there was little noise in the room from other guests...none, in fact. However, the street noise was atrocious. We were awoken several times a night by the fire engine company that is located right next to the hotel. I am surprised the windows are not double-pane. The A/C worked well and while old, was not particularly noisy. We asked for bathrobes and that was a very nice touch. All of the staff we came in contact with were exceedingly friendly. The attached restaurant, Niles, was outstanding.

Even with the street noise, I would recommend this hotel highly to potential guests and would stay here again if staying overnight in NYC again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear TravelBug102,

Thank you letting us know about your recent stay. Many of our guests also like our excellent location as it convenient to get around and within walking distance of Times Square and the Empire State Building. I'm glad you enjoyed our spacious suite and that you found our staff to be friendly. I will pass along the compliment to them. Next time you stay with us please be sure to join us for wine hour in the lobby.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

For location this place is on the money. Almost opposite Penn Station on 7th Avenue. The rooms are modest and clean and tidy , The bathrooms are a little on the small side ghowver more than adequate for a hotel, and a nice tyouch is the elecrtric mirrors that don't steam up when in the shower. My sister was upgraded at no extra cost as their original room was not available which was a nice touch. They offer complimetary WiFi in the lobby and a wine hour between 5pm and 6pm which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear mandm298,

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed not only our excellent location across from Penn Station, but also our new evening wine hour. We hope you and your family will stay with us again soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This review is of our stay in a double room no.1026, there might be better rooms in this hotel. This so-called 4 star hotel is more like a 2 star motel. Tiny room with squeeky yet comfortable bed and a noisy old AC unit. The bathroom was in terrible shape, cracked tiles and the bathtub should have been replaced years ago. Hotel is in a great location for your stay in New York, but make sure you get a better room than we did. Lobby area has been renovated and has free internet but you have to pay for internet in your room.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 1026!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FN_Madball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear FN_Madball,

Thank you for the candid feedback. I was disappointed to read that you did not have a better stay with us and that there were some issues in your bathroom. We try our best to keep every room up-to-date, clean, and ready for guest use. I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention and will do my best to work with our team to correct them. I hope you will give us another chance to make it right.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,604 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing