We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even with a renovation...”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even with a renovation...”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

...still pretty dumpy.

I'm here on business so my company is paying the bill. Thank goodness - not worth the money.

Pros: Modern decor, free wine in the lobby, great location.

Cons: Very noisy, uncomfortable bed, only mushy pillows (even after requesting other options), BROWN RUSTY HOT WATER.

Literally can't take a shower and all front desk did was apologize with no resolution.

I'm in NYC on business monthly and I won't come back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraQ427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear LauraQ427,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for choosing our hotel. It appears you had some concerns with the bedding and the water. I have sent you a message through Trip Advisor in the hope of providing you some resolution.

We hope you will give us another chance when you return to the city.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,139
    1,722
    725
    322
    196
See reviews for
1,483
1,531
202
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lets face it October prices for NYC are insane! Especially for what you get compared to other cities in the world. You have to dumb down your expectations and realize this and that is a shame but that is the law of supply and demand. So..a cheap Travelodge was charging 305 and night and my Affinia was 370 a night so Affinia scores high on having a large room, perfect location (7th and 31st) and great service of the front desk.
Here is where they need improvement and owners listen up..change the carpets on every floor of the hallways. Learn from Vegas, first impressions are everything. Have your bellman del. bags up to the rooms not hang around the bell closet. If heat is required instruct guests how to use heat (no signage anywhere) Other than that everything is great! I appreciate the 5 oclock cockails and the friendliness of the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear edward b,

Thank you for you review on Trip Advisor,

We're pleased we beat out the Travel Lodge, and hope we've gained a new member of the Affinia family.

You're comments concerning the are welcomed and appreciated.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the city.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in after a 20 minute wait although not busy, we started well with a free upgrade and free wifi for our stay, when we got to the room we were impressed with the size considering we were in NY city it was spacious with a desk area and sofa area, lovely decor.
Air con was VERY loud and old, leaking water down the wall which gave off a bit of a smell. The only issue with the room was the wardrobe which wouldn't open and as we were there for such a short time we didn't bother to unpack. The next day we went out early and enjoyed the sights of the city and upon our return we discovered that our bags had been rooted through and money, iPad and iPod had been stolen. We rang down and asked the manager to come up which she did, in the meantime we searched everywhere and eventually managed to prise the wardrobe open to reveal a safe (talk about frustrating). The manager wasn't helpful and actually was quite patronising and proceeded to tell us how she always puts her stuff in safes on holiday, we said that we had only just been able to force the door open hiding the safe but she said nothing. The security guy came up to take our statement and take a copy of the card entry system to see who accessed our room. He was equally unhelpful and told us to report it to the police and pointed in the general direction of the station. We were made to feel that it was our fault and that they couldn't be bothered to deal with it. The police on other hand were helpful. We had to ask for help with things from hotel they wanted me to use the pay for use computer to change my passwords and they reluctantly gave us a voucher for breakfast as our money had been taken..anyway to cut a long story short we felt very let down by this hotel they didn't act quick enough in using information gleamed from the key card and when we checked out they tried to charge us $200 for our 'free' wifi, to say we were upset by the staff at this hotel was an understatement, we only saw the head of security after asking for him as we were leaving although he was the only nice person we spoke to and got us a car to airport and a promise to keep us informed of the investigation.. That was in September 3rd and we still haven't heard anything (surprise surprise). Overall I would strongly suggest you stay elsewhere, it may look nice after the refurb but customer service is the worst I've ever seen in all my travels. We spoke to a lot of people who had been double booked and downgraded rooms without getting any money off their stay. Often long queues at reception with people angry and shouting at the staff which speaks volumes to me!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank smurphycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear smurphycat,

Thank you for posting a review of you stay at the Affinia Manhattan.

I have sent you a message through Trip Advisor in order to address the concerns you experienced. I am confident we can assist you in finding some resolution.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed in Affinia for 6 nights in October with 2 adults and 2 kids. Good sized room on the 23rd floor, with two big beds, good-sized bathroom and a small study off the main room. It was a refurbished room with a good view towards New Jersey overlooking 7th Ave and Penn Station. Excellent location but ensure your room is one that has been renovated. Would have been noisy if on a lower floor but we enjoyed our stay. The coin operated laundry was great for those travelling with kids and the concierge service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornahunterluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Lornahunterluca,

Thank you for reviewing the Affinia Manhattan on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you found the hotel rooms large and comfortable, and the services, such as the laundry and concierge, accommodating. The large rooms and services are great for families.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Everything and i mean everything is depressing and bad. They lost my bags. They never clean your room. The staff are surly. Right now i am waiting for the fifth day straight for them to clean the room and it is 10.30pm. I would never ever stay here.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomaswoodhamsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Thomaswoodham,

Thank you for posting a review of the Affinia Manhattan on Trip Advisor.

In order to address the concerns you experienced while staying with us, I have sent you a message through Trip Advisor. I hope we can provide you with some satisfaction concerning you recent stay with us.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having been to other NYC hotels before, my expectations for this location in this price range were not high. However, everything about my stay at Affinia was better than expected. I stayed in a double bed suite, and it was much larger and nicer than I had anticipated. The staff was courteous, and the check-in and check-out processes were painless. The location is great, the value was good, and my overall experience was excellent. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Jus T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at the Affinia Manhattan.

I am pleased we exceeded you expectations with the large room. I will share you comments about the courteous staff with the team.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Will never stay here again. Room was on the old side, dresser was broken, most of the staff was really unfriendly. Also, they placed us right next to the elevator, which made room noisy. Too many other issues to name, but one important issue was they overcharged of for the room and made me prove to them by emailing them my confirmation email. Not sure why front desk couldn't just call their reservation people, as my phone was super slow that day. Desk clerk wasn't friendly or helpful at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Barbara L,

Thank you for reviewing the Affinia Manhattan.

In reading your comments, it appears you experienced some concerns with you stay and billing. I have sent you a message through Trip Advisor in the hope of providing you some level of satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing us, and we hope your will stay with us again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,239 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#88 of 467 in New York City
1,660 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#110 of 467 in New York City
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,101 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4,798 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing