We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel on a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stewart Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #210 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Affina Hotel is newly renovated and is very nice and clean. With its location just opposite Penn Station it is very easy to use the Subway.
The staff is very helpful and everything is ok.
The nice lobby has good internet connection for free.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear simonkirk1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,846
    1,594
    677
    297
    172
See reviews for
1,319
1,421
177
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This review comes in late as I thought I had already submitted it last year but apparently not. We stayed here in August 2012 with another couple. We chose this place as it was one of the few which offered your money back in case of cancellation. Many others did not. Overall the place was ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the place was clean, fairly modern furniture and the hotel itself didn't appear as old as we expected. This being our first visit to NYC, we wanted somewhere central to most attractions which this place is. It's across the street from Penn station and Madison Square Garden. Times Square is about a 20 minute walk north. Hop on-hop off buses as well as subway stations were all a block or two away. We had a one bedroom suite with pullout sofabed in the living area. The bed in the bedroom was very comfy but the sofabed was nothing to write home about. We had no problems with the AC. The room was fairly spacious but the layout was not well thought out at all. The living room was the biggest area. The kitchen was also quite big but there were no table and chairs so you had to eat standing up at the counter or on one of the chairs in the living area. We all thought this was wasted space. The bedroom was just a bit bigger than the queen bed with about a foot or two around it. The bathroom was very tiny and you have to go through the bedroom to get to it, not very practical for 2 couples. We thought the $400/night was pricey but maybe this is normal for NYC in August. We don't regret choosing this place but next time, we'll stay closer to Times Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Luv2travel_Dieppe,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the Affinia Manhattan.

We are glad the location and accessibility of local attractions were a welcome addition to you first trip to New York. Our guest rooms have various layouts and amenities; most suitable to a varying range of needs.

We hope on your next visit to NYC, you choose the Affinia Manhattan as your place to stay while in the Big Apple.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Currently staying here on business and have been enjoying it very much. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are a little small, however that is to be expected in Manhattan. The fitness center is nicely equipped to keep you on your workout schedule. The Elevators are fast and their are enough of them that you don't wait for ever. All in all it's a great hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Jordan G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Affinia Manhattan on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you had a great stay and we able to enjoy our amenities and facilities.

We hope you choose us on your next visit to the Big Apple.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you don't plan on sleeping at all this hotel is perfect for you. Worst street noise ever. I lived in NYC for 15 years and still never heard street noise as loud as this. Horns honking and people yelling all night long. Didn't sleep a wink. Room is so dry in winter that it's hard to breathe and there was some gross liquid spilled on the nightstand
Find a different hotel in NYC!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rukind831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear rukind831,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

We are pleased you chose the Affinia Manhattan. In order to address your concerns, I have sent you a message through Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you again soon,

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were very pleasd with our stay at Affinia. We had a room on the 21st floor and had a great view. We absolutely loved our room and felt like we had our very own "NYC Apartment Style" hotel room. It was clean and nicely decorated. The location is great....close to everything. We especially liked the fact that it was right across from Penn Station since our plan landed in Newark and we took the NJTransit into NYC. We will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Regina C,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for mentioning the layout and style of your guestrooms. The "apartment feel" was our intent, with the separate living areas and kitchenettes, it is the perfect home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

First time at Affinia, perfect location, room was quiet and comfortable and well priced, staff was amazing especially Jenny and Jenna, already booked to go back next week, restaurant was very good, overall great experience !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for inside room ending in .....19
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealMike808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear MontrealMike808 ,

Thank you for posting review of the Affinia Manhattan on Trip Advisor.

Thank you so much for mentioning our staff. Jenna and Jenny are all-stars, and I am pleased they were able to provide you with the level of service you deserve.

We look forward to seeing again.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

It was our first stay at this hotel and what a wonderful experience! We have booked via the internet for an almost two week stay without knowing much about this hotel and our expectations were generally exceeded from every point of view - here is a bullet point summary:
- central location (Midtown NY) close to most important tourist attractions
- old (heritage listed?) building, however well maintained (lifts a bit old and creaky slow, but did not experience any real fault!)
- room of decent size with back/side street view (but who books a hotel room for views only?)
- quality cleaning and tidying up everyday as expected
- a 'stone throw' from Penn Station (tube train), Macy's (department superstore) and prestigious Madison Square Garden venue
- friendly and helpful staff (including provision of change for Laundry and sppedy fix-up of faulty drying machine, even late at night!)
- all facilities expected for the advertised kind of budget
- excellent food/value restaurant with friendly staff and great little (night) bar
- great choice of ambient music in the large foyer
The list could go on, however it will only be relevant depending on one's expectations...
Overall satisfied and would come back anytime when in this town - thank you Big Apple!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catax G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Catax G,

That you for such glowing comments about the Affinia Manhattan,

I would love to respond to all of your comments praising the hotel, but there are so many. I sincerely hope we have gained a future guest for all of your NYC visits.

We'll see you soon.

All the Best,

Alex, Spektor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing