We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel; Super Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #211 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel; Super Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights celebrating a birthday. Room was upgraded; and a big size considering the size of NY room sizes. Modern, comfortable, friendly helpful staff. Very comfy beds. We didn't eat at the hotel but had drinks in the bar; good choice & helpful / knowledgable staff all round. Hotel is in a great central location if you are doing a 'whistle stop tour of NYC' as we were. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyAlex2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear JennyAlex2014,

thank you for your great review! We would love to welcome you back soon again!

Sincerely,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,846
    1,592
    677
    297
    172
See reviews for
1,319
1,421
177
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a two-room suite with 2 bathrooms, which worked out very well for our family (mom, adult daughter, adult son) during our 8-day, 7-night stay. Mom & daughter shared the bedroom, with ensuite bathroom and walk-in closet, and son took the fold-out couch and the other bathroom. The three of us had plenty of room, which was a real surprise given our previous experience with Manhattan hotel accommodations!

I'll get the few negatives out right away, and please note that each was resolved. We had 3 problems on check-in: our confirmed early check-in request was not on file, but a suite as booked was available: a food package delivery requested for 11:00 (i.e. on arrival, with the time confirmed on the itinerary the hotel itself provided) was not delivered until late afternoon/early evening; the air-conditioning unit in the bedroom was not working the first night, but we mentioned it on our way out the next morning and it was fixed by the time we returned that evening.

Yes, the rooms are a bit tired in spots (window air conditioner units rather than central air, no towel bars in one of the bathrooms), but most of the wear and tear (scuffs on the wall, as an example) is from guests. The elevators were slow, but there were signs indicating that they were being serviced, and apologizing for the delays, so that was ok.

Now the positives, of which there are many:
Location, location, location - great starting point for walking, shopping, sightseeing, transit etc.
The staff are welcoming, professional, and treat you as individual guests, not just customers.
The late afternoon happy hour is a lovely touch, especially during our stay as everyone in the lobby got quite sociable in front of the big screen showing World Cup soccer games.
The size of the rooms is a luxury in this price range in this area.
The design of the kitchenette is very good (would be excellent if fridge opened the other way).
The Housekeeping staff were friendly, efficient and unintrusive.
Good water pressure in the showers, and good quality shampoo, lotion, etc.
Quiet - we heard some street noise but nothing from other rooms.
Beds are comfortable.
The concierges were uniformly well-informed and helpful.
The door staff were very helpful with luggage, taxis, etc. and are terrific greeters.
I love the lobby!

Room Tip: Even on the 18th floor, and on the 31st Street side of the building (i.e. not directly facing 7th Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VRMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear VRMurphy,

I am thoroughly impressed by your review and feedback! It is very important to me as the General Manager of Affinia Manhattan that our guests feel at home, feel comfortable and enjoy their stay from the moment they walk in - and it seems like you did just that! Our team has found your comments delightful and appreciates you sharing your Affinia Manhattan story. Whenever you decide to visit NYC again, please be sure to contact us directly; we want to ensure that your next stay with us is just as memorable as the first.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wow! Fady (manager) and Jenny (reception) certainly know how to deliver good service! We will always be grateful for their problem-solving skills and rescuing our holiday from potential disaster, a shining example of how to deliver individual care and attention in a busy hotel. With us 3000 miles from home and, due to administrative error elsewhere, they took it on themselves to solve our problem brilliantly. We admire their calm professionalism and still appreciate the way they used their skills and experience to find us somewhere to continue our 40th Wedding Anniversary sojourn.

Room Tip: As you can read, we ended up staying elsewhere. The customer was more important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LameyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear LarneyBoy,

What a splendid review! I'm truly impressed with the kindness conveyed via your review here on Tripadvisor for our Front Office team. Fady and Jenny exemplify what superior customer service is about and they will be thrilled to see what a difference they have made in your travels - this especially being your 40th Wedding Anniversary. Congratulations and the Affinia Manhattan Team wishes you many, many more!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me & my partner stayed in March for 5 nights. After 7 months apart due to him being deployed with the Royal Navy, Affinia Manhattan made this trip one to remember! On arrival we were given a room upgrade, which the suite we were given was fantastic. Normally you can't wait to get home to your own bed after a holiday, I didn't want to leave this bed... Comfiest bed I've ever slept in & after the days consisting of walking this was just what you needed.

One tip, make use of the ear plugs provided! Fire station being right near the hotel isn't the best thing but honestly the look of the hotel and the service you get, this isn't a major problem! At the end of the day.... You are in the city that never sleeps right??

Checking in was fast (after reading some reviews of this I was a bit worried after the long flight but within 10 minutes of arriving at the hotel, we were checked in and in our room).

I though typical New York City hotel rooms were small? Well not this one, it was bigger than I could imagine!

This was my third stay in NYC and my best yet!

I honestly cannot recommend this hotel enough, please please please ignore any negative reviews! When I book a hotel the first thing I do is look at reviews which before my trip I was a little worried after reading some but I didn't come across one fault.

Thank you Affinia Manhattan and all the lovely staff that helped me before and during our visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear KatieG93,

Wow! What a special story!
I'm thrilled that our team was able to make your stay and experience at Affinia Manhattan and in NYC one to remember. Whenever you decide to visit NYC again, please don't hesitate to contact us directly to ensure the fantastic memories only continue.
Thank you so much for staying with us this time.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terjärv
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Perfect location in manhattan. 3 metro stop on the 1-block walk. The rooms are a bit worn. we had a perfect view of 7 ave and madison squere. Much noise from the traffic but that did not stop our sleep. The staff is very polite as everyone in nyc. would stay here next time too.

Room Tip: 1110 has a beautiful veiw A/C was so loud that we could not use it, had neither needs of the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomppi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear tomppi84,

thank you for such a lovely review and the gorgeous pictures! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good hotel but terrible location unless you want to be right in the heart of tourist district. Good if you are doing the sites but we visit once a year for business. very clean and nice rooms, nice bar and free wine hour!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Hannah C,

Thank you for your review.
I'm terribly sorry to see that you did not enjoy our central location. Our hotel is most definitely in the heart of NYC offering beautiful, clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff members from the moment you walk in the door. Once again, thank you for choosing Affinia Manhattan.

Sincerely,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well positioned for all the sights/theatres in Manhattan. Oppoisite Penn Station and Madison Garden. Chose this hotel because we landed at Newark Liberty airport and you can get a train straight into Penn Station in 20 mins and cross 7th Ave and your there. Stayed here 22 years ago when it was the Southgate Tower so knew about its convenient location. Near enough to Times Square and theatres. (Go see Book of Mormon).

Great hotel room wise and attractive public lounge. Wifi free in lounge but expensive in room. Never ate here so can't comment. Front desk staff very helpful and did get airconditioning unit repaired/replaced when returned to hotel.Plenty of clean delis nearby for fresh cooked and uncooked food.

When in New York you must visit Bryant Park located between 5th and 6th Ave. This is a relaxing and refreshing place in an otherwise mad and hectic city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joseph n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear joseph n,

What a lovely review! Thank you for such kind comments and it's such a pleasure to welcome you back after 22 years!!!
I'd love to share a tip with you: next time just be sure to book your room on our website and you'll automatically have complimentary wifi in your room. I also appreciate your neighborhood tip to visit Bryant Park - which as you mentioned - is a must visit.
We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,604 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing