We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Smallest shower you will ever see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #200 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Smallest shower you will ever see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here for a business trip. Staff was really friendly. I was surprised with the size of the room, which was really big for NYC standards and also was recently remodeled. The only thing was the shower, really, I've never seen such a small shower in my entire life. Other than that, it was a good choice with a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGonzalez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear MGonzalez7,

Many thanks for a great review here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the kind words and feedback. Next time please be sure to visit our website for descriptions of rooms and suites and the different layout options.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    1,635
    690
    300
    179
See reviews for
1,376
1,455
186
790
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Booked this hotel due to the location close to Penn Station (New York), there is also another station with the same name in Newark which nearly caught me out..

I had noted from trip advisor to ask for a higher floor on checkin and got the 19th floor, the room was brilliant, double bed, sofa bed and work area. Shower room /toilet was very small but I would rather have the space in the room..

Free wifi in the room for the first day after which you have to sit in reception, which quite a few people did.. Empire State was a brief walk away, Macy's close by and walking to Times Square etc no problem.

Penn Station connections are excellent, although on several levels, travelled to Metlife to watch football match and really straightforward, also links to battery park and 9/11 memorial site.

The gym here was the best equipped of all the hotels we visited, alhough could do with a couple of rowing machines too..

There is still some traffic noise but this is New York..

Staff on the front desk were great, porters very helpful and the room cleaning and daily service were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoyingthesun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Enjoyingthesun2,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your radiant review! We love hearing from our guests here on Tripadvisor as they share their New York City stories.
I would like to further explain regardiing the Wifi: next time please be sure to book your reservation directly on our website which will provide for complimentary internent throughout our entire building.

Many thanks for choosing Affinia Manhattan and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Spent 4 nights at the Affinia Manhatten. There were four of us travelling but they only had a booking for one room which they intimated as our travel agents' fault. They eventually found us a room, thankfully and offered to move us all the following afternoon to a higher floor. We were advised to leave our luggage which would be moved for us. When we arrived back the following afternoon about 5 pm the rooms were not changed - not sure what the reason was. We waited 20 minutes for this to be sorted in the back office by reception staff (who didn't bother coming back to inform us what was happening). We were then given suites on the 20th and 21st floor - moving our luggage ourselves from the previous rooms to save time.

The suites at least had more space than the previous tiny room but there were problems with these also ie

no hand washing soap in bathroom (2127)
no plug in the bath (2127)
sockets in bathroom did not work (2127)
air conditioning in bedroom did not work in one of the rooms (2027)
no earplugs (although advertised on bed cabinet to drown out NYC noise!) (2127)
never vacuumed during our 4 days (2127 and 2027))
storage drawers did not close (2127)
Bedside lamps did not work (2027)
Maid knocked on room 2027 each day to ask when the occupants were checking out (here for 4 days!)

Saying this, we did enjoy our stay and the Affinia is very well located on 7th Avenue. This hotel cost us a lot of money and there is only wifi in the reception area unless you pay for this. We don't think we will stay again but would probably stick to a chain we know better ie Hilton or Marriot so at least we would know what we are getting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InchcolmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear IncholmScotland,

Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your review.
I'm quite disappointed as I read your experience and wish we were informed of any dissatisfaction while you were at our hotel in order to accommodate you so that you can enjoy your accommodations and visit to NYC. Our team, truly eager to take care of our guests, go above and beyond so that our guests have the most memorable experience possible. In regards to the Wifi, we offer complimentary Wifi for all reservations booked directly on our website, in addition to many packages and deals that are only available there. It's definitely worth a look.
Many thanks for choosing our hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniesland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Affinia Manhattan for the 2nd week of our honeymoon. On arrival at the hotel, the check in was very quick and the staff were very friendly. We had a bit of a wait as we arrived early but that was no problem. The staff held our luggage in a secure luggage room for us and gave us a ticket to get it back on our return to the hotel. We returned to the hotel at 2.30pm and my husband was told our room wasn't ready so they were giving us a bigger room.
The hotel lobby was very big with a lovely large chandelier and lots of seating space. Free WIFI is in the lobby but not in the hotel rooms which I find strange.
Our room was located on the 6th floor and first impressions were that it was a nice big room with a huge, comfy bed, a sofa, a TV on the wall that twists so you can watch on sofa or in bed, a coffee table and a separate curtained area with a fridge and L shaped desk with coffee machine. I personally feel that the L shaped desk was a waste of space and found the curtain a little odd. Then onto the bathroom. If I am honest, I have never seen a bathroom so small in my entire life. When I say small, I mean tiny.You walk in and there is a toilet directly in front of you, a very small sink on the left hand side and a very dated shower on the right hand side. The shower was powerful but far, far too small. I didn't like that the shower curtain was on me when I was showering.
The hotel restaurant is located just next door to the hotel and is called 'Niles Bar and Restaurant'. The staff were very friendly in there, especially Tony who chatted to us every time we went in there. The food was really nice and hotel residents get 20% off their food bill which is good. Large cocktail list too!
All in all, we had a lovely stay at the Affinia Manhattan but the room was so large, it does not make sense to have such tiny bathrooms. Especially when people are staying for a number of nights like we were. There was a lot of noise because it's near a fire station but that did not bother us. We didn't really notice it after a couple of nights. It is NYC after all!
I would recommend the Affinia Manhatan for the location (right near Madison Square Gardens and not far from Times Square and Empire State Building), but the rooms could do with a revamp / freshen up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siàn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Sian G,

Thank you for your reivew and feedback.
It looks like you enjoyed your stay in our lovely City - this time for such a special occassion.
We offer wifi throughout the entire hotel, however, complimentary wifi is included with all the reservations that are booked directly via our own website. So next time please be sure to check our webiste for the latest deals and offers. Many thanks for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to NYC it was fantastic! Perfect location,staff friendly and helpful and room was immaculate would definitely recommend, also nyles restaurant was fantastic food was amazing as we're the cocktails!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for such a positive and lovely review. Highly appreciate the kind comments and look forward to sharing this feedback with our restaurant staff as I know they make some delicious food and drinks to remember.

Thank you for choosing Affinia Manhattan!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Not been to NYC before.
My Travel agent booked me into Hotel Affinia saying it was in a good location.
My room was small, outdated and on a corner, apparently with 2 windows you get more noise.
The noise from the traffic/horns was continuous until the late hours of the morning.
I cannot fault the location for it's easy to get around town.
The food in the Niles Restaurant is superb. 5 Stars for sure.
The Service is excellent. 4 Stars.
The Service in the Reception is good. 4 Stars
The room and the noise level lets them down a little. 1 Star.
Go and eat at Niles Restaurant if you are a foodie person.
Overall. 4 Stars...

Room Tip: Not sure about how to choose a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hello James B,

Thank you, thank you for such a fantasic review and wonderful comments.
Now that you've been to NYC, you will have a home away from home and be sure to check out our website from time to time and take a look at some of the incredibly deals, promotional packages and seasonal offers that are only available to guests who book their reservation directly with us.

We look forward to seeing you again at our lovely hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The location was great and it had a small boutique feeling about it. The restaurant was great and very reasonably price, staff were friendly and helpful. Room was good, just what we expected. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear T L,

We highly appreciate this fantastic review and would love to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,659 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,840 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing