We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #191 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Once again, if you look at my other reviews, I don't award 5 star ratings based on a place being perfect, but rather for my level of enjoyment and satisfaction whilst staying.

Affinia Manhattan is in a fantastic location directly opposite Madison Square Garden and Penn Station which made it the perfect location for us, as we were catching the train to Boston at the end of our stay. It is a short walk to Time Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Plaza, Empire State Bld and many other NY hot spots yet it is far enough away that you get a peaceful nights sleep.

The room was modern, tidy, comfortable and spacious and wasn't expensive by comparison. The staff member behind the desk made our day when he said we good check in early as we had a very early flight in from DC and looked like utter zombies.

All in all, this hotel has the lot. Location, comfort, service and price.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked clean and modern, but for size I suggest the deluxe for a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear KenoNZ,

thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.
Definitely enjoy reading about your stay with us - especially seeing that our friendly and helpful front office team was able to accommodate you upon check in.
Many thanks for the high rating here on Tripadvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,043
    1,666
    701
    303
    186
See reviews for
1,410
1,488
189
828
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with well appointed rooms. We had a corner room on the 20th floor which gave us lots of space. We asked for a high room to lessen the noise but it wasn't high enough. I don't think there are enough floors in this hotel to be high enough though. The noise from midtown New York streets is relentless and add that to the noise of the ac units stuck through the window and the units outside your window if you are not facing the road then it all adds up to an interesting nights sleep. My advice is to take earplugs, seriously, you will need them. The hotel,itself is fine. Service good, restaurant is fine and concierge service is efficient and friendly. Well located for all connections uptown or downtown. Just be prepared to run the gauntlet of people trying to sell you bus tours as you leave the hotel!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank snubberisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear snubberisbest,

Thank you for your review and feedback. It looks like you had a great time at our hotel and in New York City. While some areas are a bit quieter than others, being in one of the most coveted parts of NYC comes with all the sights and sounds our City is so magnificently known for.
Highly appreciate you choosing our hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalandri, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

stayed for 6 nights,it was a pleasant stay for us.
location is excellent,in the heart of Manhattan,close to Madison square,penn station,macy.
our suite was very clean,and beautiful.
great staff i must commend Corey and James.
greatly recommend this unique hotel.

Room Tip: for us it was 2621,not a good view but less New York noise,good working A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigglesIfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Giggleslfy,

Thank you for choosing Affinia Manhattan and providing us with such a lovely review. I look forward to sharing the kind words with our Front Office Team!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I've stayed at the Affinia Manhattan three times this year for work trips. Each time I was happy with my room, however on my last trip I was not at all pleased with the room's bathroom.

I expect things to be small in NY, but the shower on my last trip was entirely too tiny. 2.5 ft by 3.5 ft, and you could barely maneuver. The shower stream was more like a trickle, the shower curtain constantly stuck to you while showering, and it was impossible to not get water all over the floor of the bathroom while you were in there.

Certain rooms have a lot of noise, especially since there's a fire station around the corner. But the location is amazing, and the staff are all very attentive. The prices are very reasonable for midtown NY.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper, or make use of the earplugs they provide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amksba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear amksba,

Many thanks for your review and being such a loyal guest!
Having over 600 guestrooms and suites, we have many different sizes and layout options for the rooms as well as the bathrooms. Next time, please be sure to let us know your preferences prior to arrival since we'd love customize your stay as much as possible. I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on its location and rates for an extended stay (9 nights). We weren't disappointed as it's very central (2 blocks from Empire State and Macy's) and directly opposite Madison Square Gardens and Penn station for easy access to subway and trains. We had a 1 bed suite with balcony. Have to say we didn't use the balcony very much so probably not worth extra cost although the view was great. We had a corner suite on 20th floor which was very spacious and came with a small kitchen. Not a great deal of wardrobe space but just enough for 3 of us. Hotel service was fantastic. Extended stay rate also includes complimentary internet access but you have to request and pay for it and then it's refunded at the end of your stay. There is free wifi in the lobby for an hour each day. Try Andrews coffee shop about 3 blocks north which does a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite and a south facing room if you want to look downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madalaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear madalaina,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your Affinia Manhattan story. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed our central location which is very close to all the attractions NYC has to offer. As you mentioned, all our guests who book their reservation directly via our website receive complimentary internet throughout the entire hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed here for 4nights this week while visiting New York on holiday. Midtown location only 2minutes walk from Madison Square Garden & Penn station (subway)on Seventh Avenue which leads up to Times Square.
Very busy area in heart of Manhattan so very noisy but being on 19th floor facing side street so not problematic. Air conditioning was noisy but you get used to it and did not detract from sleep in a very comfortable bed. Lovely big studio room with kitchen & sitting areas. Large main foyer handy for using complimentary WiFi but lacking ambiance / soulless. No background music and no lounge bar in foyer. Bar /restaurant outside front of hotel but quite separate. Not sampled.
Would use this hotel again but would probably prefer a quieter location with more character.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Hallbell,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate the feedback and would love to welcome you back upon your next trip to NYC. Should you prefer a more tranquil location, you may want to look into some of our sister properties as they may suit that preference better.
Thank you for staying with us this time around.

Sincerely,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Very old and Very tired, bed so old springs made loud grating noise every time you move. Almost impossible to sleep. Room had an individual air conditioner mounted in the window it made so much noise we had to turn it off. We tried 2 rooms all the same. We were staying with another couple who also tried 2 rooms with the same results. I'm guessing all rooms are the same. Front desk staff were indifferent to our situation. Road noise coming through gaps around the aircon was also loud. Bathroom/toilet was the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel, shower was approx 250 x 350 cm.

Room Tip: I couldn't recommend a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianS694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear BrianS694,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
I'm very disappointed to see that we did not exceed your expectations this time around. Please know that our entire team is committed to providing exemplary service to our guests and making each stay with us more memorable than the last. Thank you for sharing your feedback which will serve as a guide as we make improvements to our product and service.

Sincerely,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,972 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing