We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rhcrtr

Utterly Disgusting!

Review of Stewart Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Sept 2019via mobile
This hotel is the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in! So much so I had to complain as I honestly couldn’t have stayed in our first room for the duration of our stay. If we hadn’t gotten moved to a slightly less dirty room we would’ve had to pay for a different hotel. Really upsetting as this was a really expensive holiday for us and this hotel really impacted our overall experience.

The reception area is nice and that’s honestly the only good comment I have to make which is pointless as how long do you hang about a lobby for!

The staff are unfriendly & unwelcoming - particularly at check in.

The location is close by for walking to most things but I do think there would be more desirable areas to stay in at not much extra cost which would be worth it for me.

I would honestly say avoid this hotel at all costs. The room hadn’t been properly cleaned in months. Stains on the carpet, extremely dusty blinds, a bogey on the bathroom door (sorry I know that’s horrible to even read), rubbish behind the sink that had been there for ages, little flies everywhere, stains on the walls, hairs all over the bathroom... need I go on.
(Fortunately our bedding seemed clean.)

There was even a cover over the walls in the lift. Not exactly the most inviting.

I really wish we had received the 5 star experience that a lot of these reviews are saying they did which is what led me to book this hotel. I can only assume they were staying in a different hotel from me or we got unlucky twice :(
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StewartHotelNYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 25 Sept 2019
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback.

We regret that you had such difficulty during your time with us. We strive to offer quality service and comfort for our guests and it's unfortunate your room wasn't cleaned to the high standards we aspire to provide. We'll be sure to address your feedback with our team moving forward.

We do hope you allow us to host you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you.

Mark P. - General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£160
  • Priceline
    £160
  • StayForLong
    £132
  • Skyscanner.com
    £160
0.3 miles from Stewart Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£156
  • Hotels.com
    £152
  • Skyscanner.com
    £135
  • Priceline
    £156
0.3 miles from Stewart Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£181
  • Priceline
    £181
  • Skyscanner.com
    £152
  • Expedia.com
    £181
0.4 miles from Stewart Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£246
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
    £158
  • Expedia.com
    £246
  • Trip.com
    £246
1.8 miles from Stewart Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£155
  • Expedia.com
    £154
  • Priceline
    £151
  • Skyscanner.com
    £150
0.8 miles from Stewart Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Paramount Hotel New York Time Lobby Fireplace
£148
  • Official Site
    £148
  • Vio.com
    £121
  • Priceline
    £129
0.8 miles from Stewart Hotel
Fitness centre
Facade
£132
  • Priceline
    £188
  • Agoda.com
    £115
  • Skyscanner.com
    £123
0.7 miles from Stewart Hotel
Fitness centre
£234
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £233
  • Agoda.com
    £162
  • travelup.com
    £325
1.2 miles from Stewart Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
The Deluxe Double-Double Room at the The Gallivant Times Square
£166
  • Priceline
    £166
  • Skyscanner.com
    £141
  • travelup.com
    £183
0.9 miles from Stewart Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£126
  • Priceline
    £135
  • Skyscanner.com
    £123
  • Vio.com
    £124
1.3 miles from Stewart Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in New York City
Reviews (8,433)
Filter reviews
8,433 results
Traveller rating
3,980
2,279
1,032
566
576
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,980
2,279
1,032
566
576
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penn station niles restaurant madison square garden front desk new york one bedroom suite times square an upgrade street noise empire state building central location fantastic location big apple few blocks affinia lobby nyc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 8,433 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2019

Stayed at the Stewart Hotel for a friends birthday and the customer service during our entire stay was EXCELLENT. When we checked in we Emily at the front desk was super helpful. She informed us about all of the amenities that were provided and made sure we felt like we were at home.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chelseagomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StewartHotelNYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Thanks for the fantastic review, chelseagomes!

It's excellent you had such an amazing stay with us! We're delighted our team made you feel so welcome and valued during your time in our hotel. We endeavor to go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. That's what we like to see!

We can't wait until your next visit so we can share another fantastic experience with you soon! Have a beautiful day!

Mark P. - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. There was 3 couples all celebrating something. We all emailed the hotel prior to staying and none of us even got a reply! We stayed for our silver wedding anniversary. The reception staff were very unfriendly on arrival. I asked if we could upgrade our room but was told no without any explanation! The room was so small and dated. All rooms are supposed to have hairdryers but there wasn’t one in ours, when I asked I was told there was one in it, eventually I was told they would send housekeeping up to bring one. No idea where the photos on the website are from but certainly weren’t any of our three rooms. There was only one member of staff who smiled and he was the guy who kept our bags when we checked out. I have been to New York 6 times and never known staff to be so unhelpful and off hand! We saw a couple coming into the hotel and asked if we would recommend for a large family holiday in November so we said definitely not and sent them to the New Yorker as we stayed there in April and the staff couldn’t do enough for us. We will be telling our travel agent not to use this hotel in future!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank RuthNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StewartHotelNYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Ruth.

We're disheartened to hear about the challenges you experienced during your time with us. We regret that our team didn't accommodate your needs or make you feel valued. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward.

We hope to host you again soon so we can demonstrate the high-caliber service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests.

Mark P. - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019

I have stayed at the Stewart many times over the last year and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. The staff is fantastic and there's nobody better than Jenny! Jenny's customer services and care for her customer's needs are like no other.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank c_labree30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StewartHotelNYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thank you for the fantastic review!

It's outstanding your time with us was so amazing. We love sharing our excellent service with each person who walks through our door. It's team members like Jenny who ensure our guests are getting the best level of service. That's what we like to see!

We can't wait until your next visit so we can once again share our high-caliber service with you. Have a beautiful day!

Mark P. - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019

This is my 3rd time at the Stewart and I have to say that for the price and location it’s perfect! Jenny checked us in and she was super friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar here is great too. Can’t go wrong with the Stewart!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Labreemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StewartHotelNYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thanks for the fantastic review!

We're happy you enjoyed your time with us so much at Stewart Hotel! We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so it's excellent you appreciated our prime location. We love seeing our guests take advantage of our proximity to so many wonderful attractions.

We look forward to hosting you again soon! Have an amazing day!

Mark P. - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019 via mobile

Terrific service. We had friends who had never been to the US before and staff was very accommodating. Jenny at front desk was wonderful. Central location is walkable to many top sites. Go for an upper floor room for great views.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarah14534
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StewartHotelNYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thank you for the outstanding review, Sarah!

We're delighted your experience with us was so wonderful! We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and relaxed during their time with us. It's fantastic our team could accommodate your needs and assist you in any way possible. We aim to please and your praise lets us know we're doing our job!

We look forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon! Have a lovely day!

Mark P. - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews