We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, comfortable room, good breakfast but a few of the reception staff need to remember the custormer service.”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #308 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ipswich Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Well located, comfortable room, good breakfast but a few of the reception staff need to remember the custormer service.”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Before booking this hotel we had read some so so reviews but decided that there were more fors than against. The room was not huge but certainly big enough for my grown up daughter and myself. There was a good sized wardrobe come cupboard with a safe inside. The room also had a fridge a real advantage to us as my daughter has to eat gluten free and after we had found the green gourmet 790 Lexington avenue we were able to stock up. She could not eat the breakfast but I enjoyed the very free large muffin or variety of doughnuts with orange juice and coffee. The apples looked very bruised so gave them a miss. I never had to wait for a seat and found the staff helpful and friendly. The check in was efficient and the duty manager helpful. One young lady was quite sharp, unhelpful and did not listen to our request when booking the return trip to the airport. She should not be in the hotel business. The hotel is easy working from Macy's, Maddison Square Garden, and a not too far walk up Broadway to Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardentspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    785
    329
    86
    62
See reviews for
361
556
69
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The hotel was a huge disappointment. Everything is tired and needs a refurb urgently. The bedroom was small, the bathroom was really tatty (cracked sink and dirty grout in tiles) and the breakfast was a joke. Poor coffee, rock hard bagels and soggy muffins. Definitely not worth the queue. $10 to take out? Why? Get breakfast elsewhere.
The staff were very friendly and the doormen were very helpful, but this place is a dump.
Pay a bit more and make the weekend special.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plfara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taubate, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We went to NY city to spend just one week. A few months before our trip we started to look for a cheap place in the city to stay in Manhattan and as everybody knows, Manhattan is known to be one of the cities with the most expensive hotel prices in the world. A friend of mine who has just stayed in this hotel indicated it to me and I went to check it out in the internet. Good price, very well located: from the front door you can see the 5th av; about less than 15 minutes by walking is Times Square; two blocks behind there's a Victoria`s Secret store and the 34th street is near to the hotel since it`s located in the 32nd street , in Koreantown, plus Empire State Building is about 5 minutes by walking. The room was nice, a good bed, a table with 2 chairs, water to drink and a good wardrobe. Everyday when we came from our daily tour to our room it was cleaned and all items as well as soap, shampoo and towels were replaced as we use them. There's a very simple breakfast (black coffe, juices, bagels, donuts and something else that I can remember now) but if you are considering saving money it`s a good option. Now if you are looking for confort, big bathroon and etc... don't stay in this hotel probrably in Manhattan there's a place that will be suitable for your necessity.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara Victoria Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Very disapointing, the hotel cost us around $290AUD per night, breakfast was not worth having, staff were beyond caring, room was tiny and not very clean. Position was not too bad, fairly central. I know this is New York and New York is the most expensive place to stay but I'm sure with a bit more study and checking any travellers should be able to get better value for money than we did !
I would not recommend the Stanford

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casimir_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Stayed in the Hotel Stanford for five nights in December 2010. Went with a girlfriend for a shopping trip, the location of the Hotel Stanford is great, we were surrounded by great stores, just a 3 min walk to Macys and the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. As it was my birthday and my friend mentioned that on our reservation, a bottle of wine was left in my room which was a really nice touch. Never had breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that! The only tiny negative was that our room was very warm, almost stuffy, I had to sleep with the window open and ask for the heating to be turned down. But yup, would stay here again. The beds are also very comfortable, the shower's good and there's free internet access which is handy to check the bank balance after all that shopping.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracaibo
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed here for four days and got the suite because we needed a hotel room that could fit our family of 4 adults, and we couldn't find another hotel in the city that had at least two double beds and some space to walk or put suitcases on the floor.

Considering the size of the room, the location, the bathroom (it was wheelchair accesible, that's the reason why it was so big), the free muffins and bagels every morning and again, the location!, the price was very reasonable. And the hotel had a ton of ongoing promotions so we got a nice price.

The hotel looks very small from the outside but somehow the manage to make it big inside. The hallways might be tiny but our suite was big and I saw a double room that had an open door and it looked nice too.

The room was clean, had a nice tv, nice furniture, comfortable beds, huge bathroom, very clean, nice shower, everything was just great. Decoration in both the hotel common areas and the rooms were also very very good.

I would definitely recomment it. There are a million stores around the hotel and it's a close walk to Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, a subway station is right there, Gap, Forever 21, H&M, Banana Republic, the huge Macys is around the corner, Manhattan Mall, cafes, restaurants, delis, comic book stores and Empire State is basically behind the hotel.

And if you didn't plan very well, there are a countless free flyers, maps and guides in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenitoDelicias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Spend your money on having fun in NYC, not where you sleep! If you want somewhere safe, clean and cheap, but still in a perfect location, this is it. You are literally next to Macy's and Empire State Building, off Herald Square. Short Walk to Times Sq, 5th Ave, Madison Square Gdn. Right by Subway Stn & Penn Train Stn.

Nothing special whatsoever, but if your not trying to impress and don't mind basic: rooms are a decent size, clean, nice linen, adequate bathroom, free coffee/muffins at breakfast, quiet & dark at night, housekeeping daily. Dated decor everywhere, 1 small lift (may have to wait), scruffy exterior. Staff are polite at check-in then will keep to themselves, though helpful if you ask for it.

We would recommend it for short city breaks with partner or friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine-sangria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#289 of 467 in New York City
2,528 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
2,298 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#298 of 467 in New York City
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#320 of 467 in New York City
2,713 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Property: Hotel Stanford
Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing