We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and decent room for the price/location”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #309 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here June 1st - 3rd. This is a nice little bouquet hotel. It's located in Little Korea NYC. The area is safe and the thing about Little Korea is that it is open 24hr's a day. We were on the 11th floor and it was plenty quite. No noise to speak of even being located in Little Korea.

As you'd expect from a hotel of this size the rooms are small. We had a double, double. The bathroom was updated and nice the room was updated and nice as well. We did not spend much time in the room as it's NYC after all. It was quite, the beds were decent.

Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly!

It took us about 10-15 minutes to walk to Time square. A very doable walk straight down Broadway.

Breakfast was a very sparse Continental but the quality was decent.

We did not visit the 2nd floor coffee bar / lounge so i can't speak about that.

If/when we visit NYC again we will for sure consider this hotel again. The Price and location we just right.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor to stay away from the 24 hr little Korea noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AruoraKode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

good clean hotel friendly helpfull staff near to times square and broadway plenty of resaurants nearby also near to the subway

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulbNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed in the stanford hotel for 2 nights in the begginning of May. The hotel is in a great location, the staff is really helpful. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room was on the second floor facing a brick wall, that was a bit of a downside. Breakfast is coffee and donuts, in the bar next door, but thats something you can live with.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is a charming place. The staff could not be more helpful ( they gave us an upgrade on the room!) and although a little dated the room was clean and comfortable. The wine bar was stylish and atmospheric.
The location was perfect for us,just five minutes walk from Penn Station and around the block from the Empire State building! It is in the Korean Sector surrounded by fascinating restaurants where we had a superb meal.
I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is a bit shabby and outdated but you could not get a better location for the price and the staff are all lovely.
They are currently undergoing refurbishment and I'm sure that means the prices will go up. The wine bar on the 2nd floor was very well appointed and offered good value for money on all house drinks at 50% during happy hours.
The breakfast offered could be a little more interesting but it was quick and efficient to start your day.
2 computers available all day for free internet access and wifi throughout.

Room Tip: There is only one lift that you sometimes have to wait ages for so ask for a lower floor so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susi-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights in late May because the Stanford is within walking distance of Penn Station. We arrived early and checked in, but the room wasn't ready yet. The front desk people were pleasant and got us into our room as soon as they could. This is an older hotel. Our room was nice enough - the windows faced a brick wall - clean and comfortable. Mattress was very firm with smallish pillows. Our room was located near the second floor lounge which had coffee for hotel guests during specific hours. Continental breakfast - bagels and pastries, fruit, etc. Took advantage of the location to eat in a nearby Korean restaurant. For tourists, hotel is near subway stations, Fifth Avenue, Herald Square, and the Empire State Building. Times Square is nearby. Would recommend to friends on a budget looking for a basic hotel. There was a small refrigerator in our room - no ice machine on the floor but someone brought me some when I requested it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our family of 4 spent 4 nights in Hotel Stanford last week. We had the queen suite - two beds and a living room area. This worked really well for us. The room and bathroom was quite spacious for New York. The bathroom was great - large shower and good exhaust fan. I have no complaints about the room. The locations was great too. Just around the corner from Macy's and two blocks from Empire State Building.

The one big negative was the breakfast. It was all muffins, pastries, bagels and it was all rather hard and dry. They also had apples, but some cereal and banana would have been really nice after 4 mornings of stale stuff.

Oh and just a little tip - when it comes time to leave, don't let the door man get a taxi for you. Get it yourself because the taxi driver will charge you a flat rate instead of running the meter and then the driver gives the door man money for using his cab. We tipped the door man for getting us a cab then I watched the cab driver tip him again and the driver charged us more money than we paid when we got out own cab at the airport. Now we know...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooksgirl2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,592 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#246 of 469 in New York City
2,358 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#332 of 469 in New York City
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
#228 of 469 in New York City
4,675 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
811 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#163 of 469 in New York City
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £96 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stanford NYC is a boutique urban retreat offering 124 cozy rooms and suites. Each one is beautifully equipped to meet the needs of Manhattan business and leisure travelers with plush, premium bedding, Bath & Body Works amenities and 42-inch plasma televisions with cable channels. Designed with the idea that today’s guest seeks out authentic connections to the cities they visit, Hotel Stanford offers warm, friendly pied-à-terre moments from New York City’s most famous attractions, restaurants and shopping, including the Empire State Building, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Theatre and Garment Districts and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing