We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected...don't be fooled by it's lobby.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #304 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than expected...don't be fooled by it's lobby.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have stayed at the Stanford Hotel quite a few years ago and I swore I would not want to go back. However, this time was different. The rooms have been updated and for the price it was perfect. My husband and I only stayed one night June 18/19. It's location is ideal. Close to Penn Station, Herald Square, Macy's, Jack's, Manhattan Mall. Subway is right there if you want to go uptown or downtown. The room size is excellent compared to other smaller hotels we have stayed in. We chose this hotel because we didn't want to spend a fortune on a one nights stay....would rather spend my money on shopping...lol. The hotel staff was very friendly...even recalled my name up various comings/goings. The lobby is small and appears little tired....don't let that fool you. The rooms have been updated and are very nice. The bed was a little hard for my liking but after a day of walking around it didn't matter. The carpeting is new & kept clean. The bathroom is very nicely appointed with granite counters and a modern Kohler toilet. The tiles were modern. The water pressure in the shower was good. It even had a curved shower curtain for more room in the tub. Linens and towels were good. Our room came with a bar fridge....we bought water and cold drinks at Jack's down the street....a great dollar store with loads of stock. There is a small business centre on the second floor near the 1986 Piano Lounge. The 1986 Lounge doubles as a complimentary coffee/tea/water/cookies with large projection TV screen for a mini afternoon break. (We were there when World Cup Soccer was on.) The common bathroom next to the 1986 Lounge is a surprise up entering....very modern and clean. There is only one elevator for the hotel...small and little slow, but not horrible unless you lack a bit of patience. The Hotel is Definitely better than i recall & expected. I would recommend this hotel to family & friends. Will defiantly come back. The hotel is rated a 2 Star due to it being small and maybe because of the small elevator and small selection of breakfast items, no pool or fitness center. The Hotel Stanford is definitely on my short list of hotels to stay at in NYC. Great value for what we wanted!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the tenth floor...room 1009. For a front facing room it was quiet....pleasant surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    769
    320
    81
    60
See reviews for
348
536
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Ok when us girls first checked in, we were a little nervous ... Lobby and entrance is nothing grand. Our room however was amazing! This is NOT an average hotel folks, there were 4 of us and we had plenty of room! A separate sitting area, a beautiful large bathroom with a shower on one end and soaker tub on the other. Wish we had of stayed longer!
The only complaint/tip I have is this ... We arrived before our room was ready and asked to have our luggage stored for the afternoon. When we arrived back, we were surprised to find our bags all stacked up exactly where we had left them in the main lobby with a large net thrown over them!! Understandably, the front of the hotel is very small, so their storage room cannot accommodate many suitcases - HOWEVER - we would have preferred that they advised us of our bags being left there!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Fantastic location, clean comfortable rooms, air con works fine is perfect for a holiday in New York! Polite attentive staff. Very good value for money, who wants to spend time in a hotel room in NYC anyway?! Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. Great location. Accommodation is basic but comfy beds and very clean and all that is required in NYC - staff were very friendly and the breakfast was sufficient for us although not much choice but considering its free - saves a few dollars each day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great location, nice staff, comfy bed. What more can I say? I felt safe, the room was pest free, and the staff was nice. I'd definitely stay there again. And I'm a huge snob! Breakfast was a bit sparse, but it was free!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaloohoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I visited this hotel for brunch - so no comments on the rooms.

You need to book - but it was well worth it. The menu was great - food fresh and very nice - and any venue that service strong liqueur at breakfast has my vote.

A great spot - easy to access and with plenty of dining options. It pays to do some research to make sure you are seated in the area of your choice - and definitely go with an appetite. I can recommend the eggs Benedict - or the waffle!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven_wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week with my wife, the room was small but it was clean and had maid service every day the staff were very friendly and willing to give advice on tourist places.
The breakfast was very disappointing a few rolls and cakes which had to be eaten off paper plates and cups and the place were breakfast was given was far to small and we had to que everyday. I have travelled to many places over the years but I have never been served breakfast on paper plates.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIG195452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#282 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,257 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Property: Hotel Stanford
Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing