We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in NYC”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #77 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Best Hotel in NYC”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This hotel was perfection! When I got in, I thought I was in heaven!
The staff there was very nice and polite, the rooms were very nice, and the location is my favorite part. You were close to subways, restaurants, and meeting areas. Central Park was also very close by. I also enjoyed the bar there, too.
The hotel is underknown for it's greatness, and is a good hotel to stay in because it never gets crowded.

Room Tip: A room above the 3rd floor. The noise isn't loud, but when it is, go high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are humbled by your compliment of being the best hotel in New York City and are truly delighted that our intuitive service exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    288
    102
    45
    37
See reviews for
374
833
125
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I found this hotel by accident when I was looking for a hotel in NYC for a business trip. I like the location, between Madison and Fifth in the 70s. I love taking the bus down to go to work. The rooms are huge, even the most basic rooms. The bathrooms are large with good shower. The service is impeccable with very friendly staff. When I bring my family on business to NYC, they like to ask me if we were staying at The Surrey.

Room Tip: Corner room, not the most expensive, but very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexico888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive and most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to learn that The Surrey has become your favorite New York hotel.

We were truly delighted that we succeeded in providing you an exceptional experience from our intuitive service to our prime location to our tastefully appointed accommodations with stunning bathrooms.

We hope that your family is able to join you on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

As a frequent traveler to NYC I was sorely disappointed. We paid over USD 658.00 per night for a room with no view, a bathroom that had a permanent handicap seat over the tub so you had to scoot to the front of a tub to bathe. Total joke. When we complained they did nothing: Said they were fully booked. There is no lounge area, and the front entrance is noisy with the staff talking to each other loudly. Cafe Boulud, skip it. Nothing exceptional. Having gone to other Michelin star restaurants, this one should be up for review. If you want boutique aka pay a lot for small trendy hotel, do Mercer, Soho Grand,... at least they've got a good bar scene you can escape from the staff. ps - equivalent to the new Holiday Inn, but old. Not good for business traveler, not set up.

Room Tip: don't press continue :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champagnetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us.

I understand that the fine balance between price and value is critical and I regret to learn that your experience was not in keeping with your expectations. Rest assured we take your feedback very seriously and sincerely hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence and trust in us.

I kindly ask that you call me directly to 646.358.3605 so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Great quiet location. If you aren't a New Yorker, I am, it is wonderful toss a real neighborhood. That being said, upper east side, is very exclusive. But to come to city and have the peace and quiet and be 1/2 block from Central Park is amazing! Tour NYC all day and then come back to The Surrey and relax. The beds are the best I have ever slept on!
The bar in main lobby is where I often meet friends as it is chic and cozy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that you have become such a fan of our Upper East Side gem.

We concur that our prime location to Central Park, bespoke Duxiana bedding and innovative libations of Bar Pleiades all make for a most memorable and enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here thsi past weekend after company holiday party. We had a fine stay, were not there long but teh beds were wonderful - felt almost as good as our Dux bed at home!

Check in was simple, room was brilliant, interesting there was no bath tub but a large shower, dont know if that is standard or not. Shower was full of pulsating hot water for washiong out teh cobwebs from the previous night. Room service breakfast was ther ein 20 minutes and hot and great coffee.

car was brought up with 10 minutes notices running and ready for our quick exit.

Would gladly use this again for an overnight!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our unique design, to the tastefully appointed details in your guest accommodation, including our bespoke Duxiana bedding and floor to ceiling Carrara marble bathrooms. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of personalized and intuitive service and I was pleased to learn that our In-Room Dining and Guest Services team members were able to accomplish this with you.

We have accommodations with soaking tubs and these are priced higher than our Grand Deluxe rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please feel free to call me personally so I may handle your reservations and ensure a soaking tub to complete your experience. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is the hotel where i fell in love, so it's hard to write an unbiased review. The Surrey is perfection. The room ares clean, elegant and full of personality. The staff are attentive, charming, and unobtrusive. The location is excellent and the amenities are top notch. We were in a nicer suite, and wanted for nothing during our stay. Many hotels tout their luxury toiletries, but I still have the body cream from the Surrey as the smell is exquisite and reminds me of a remarkable stay. Get a room with a soaking tub.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrswat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we succeeded in providing you with an exceptional experience from our warm and welcoming service to our prime location to our tastefully appointed accommodations and our stunning suite bathrooms featuring a soaking tub and Laura Tonatto bath amenities. The scent used in our Laura Tonatto amenities is signature to The Surrey so I am pleased that you found it exquisite.

I was most touched to learn that you fell in love at The Surrey and thank you for being such a fan. We hope you will return yearly to celebrate your anniversary. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is our 4th stay at the Surrey and as usual they exceeded our expectations! If you are looking for a smaller less crowded hotel and surrounding neighborhood, then this is your place. Upper East side has fantastic shopping and restaurants and if you feel the need to hit the crowds, time square is only a ten minute cab ride. As far as the hotel, the personalized service is top notch and the rooms are nice, I reccomend getting a suite if possible. just a bot more room to spread out. The concierge is very knowledgeable about all things NYC. They have thier minds set on some restaurants and we had to change a few after we researched them a bit. There are so many fantastic resaurants i am sure it is hard to keep up. We will be back.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noletraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that you were most impressed with our tastefully appointed guest accommodations and found our location to be a luxurious sanctuary.

It is our exceptional level of personalized service that we pride ourselves on and I am proud to learn that our team members were successful in making your time with us most memorable. I have shared your feedback in respect to the dining recommendations with Ms Lorena Ringoot, Chef Concierge so that we remain current to the many fantastic dining options in the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
718 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#256 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#192 of 467 in New York City
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 467 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing