We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home of your own off 5th”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
nyc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A home of your own off 5th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I love NYC, lived in NYC, the rooms in the Surrey are so comfortable they're like having a pied-à-terre of your own with a comfy bed, classic furniture, lighting panels, and marble bath between Madison Avenue and 5th Avenue. We travel extensively and recommend the Surrey, in particular if you are visiting the Metropolitan.

The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, in a warm, familiar way. Room service is from Cafe Boulud (Daniel Boulud), the Cafe (restaurant) is adjacent to the cozy lobby - We were not able to get a table at the Cafe, (Valentine's Day) however the dinner we ordered in the room, was so wonderful, we did not feel disappointed at all, but very spoiled and privileged. Our room was on a lower floor so late at night the noise of NY's ubiquitous garbage trucks disturbed my sleep for a short while - so if you can, ask for one of the higher floors, or bring ear plugs.
Recommendations? 10 minute walk to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, 3 minutes to Central Park, minutes to the designer boutiques on Madison Avenue (heading south) cafes on Madison (heading north) King room with sitting area, and at least one meal room service or in the restaurant at Boulud.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor available; corner suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsilver315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,



Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our prime proximity to Central Park, Museum Mile and the famed shopping on Madison Avenue; to our unique design; to the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, including our bespoke Duxiana bedding and floor to ceiling Carrara marble bathrooms. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of personalized and intuitive service and I was pleased to learn that you were made to feel warm and welcome.

I regret to learn that your sleep was interrupted by the noise pollution emanating from Madison Avenue. Please feel free to call me at 646.358.3605 so I may personally take care of your preference of a higher floor on your return visit. I have also sharedyour comments with our Café Boulud team; they will be thrilled to learn that your culinary experience via In-Room Dining was most memorable.

We sincerely appreciate your high praise and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    282
    99
    43
    33
See reviews for
367
820
121
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epping
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The location was great. Beautiful rooms and the staff was so helpful. Very clean. Told all my friends about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwlady41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased that our prime location, tastefully appointed décor and accommodations and intuitive service all attributed to a most memorable and enjoyable experience.

We appreciate your word of mouth influence and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Surrey over New Year’s Eve and can highly recommend this hotel. We travel the world extensively each year and we are always looking for that special hotel that we will return to on our next visit. I book travel as part of my job and the Surrey is one of our preferred 5 star hotels and my husband is an Interior Designer so we are both as you can imagine very hard to please. We have been coming to New York for 20 years and we have stayed in many 5 star hotels. I have arranged many site inspections over the years in search of the perfect hotel for when we return, as I have always been disappointed. We are both delighted to say the search is over in New York and The Surrey is now our preferred hotel in New York.

I did a site inspection of the Surrey and the rooms are large for New York and all have large windows to capture natural light. The décor is classic and the hotel still looks newly renovated. Some rooms have a terrace and fire place which are fantastic and the suites are amazing if this is in your budget. The bed and pillows are extremely comfortable and the shower has great water pressure.

The housemaids were very friendly and always left our room spotless. We enjoyed the biscuits and water at turn down and ordered room service on our first night, which was excellent.

The location is fantastic and you do feel like you live in New York with your own doorman as yes they do remember your name. The subway is a few blocks away and this line is one of the best to get you around New York easily and will take you straight down to Spring Street Soho.

For me I am delighted to say - no more scanning the internet and spending hours looking for the best hotel and hoping that when I arrive the hotel does look like it did on the internet.

I cannot think of anything negative to say about our recent stay and look forward to returning in September and booking The Surrey for my work colleagues.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pay us such a tremendous compliment of being the best hotel in New York.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, to our central location and most importantly, the gracious and warm service extended by our Housekeeping and Guest Services team members. Our unique design by famed interior architect, Lauren Rottet, is indeed one of our best attributes and we are pleased to have impressed such discerning guests as are you and your husband.

Your recommendation of The Surrey is very important to us and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at the Surrey in November for a just over a week and what an amazing experience. From the moment we walked in the service was professional.customer centred but not over the top. The room was just a delight, very well designed, spacious, cosy might be a better description and the toiletries were just beautiful.
Can't recommend this hotel highly enough

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you have become a fan of The Surrey and that our inspiring Lauren Rottet design and tastefully appointed guest accommodations, Laura Tonatto bath amenities and personalized service exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon and genuinely appreciate your recommendation. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This could be a great hotel but it's not well kept. Our room had old olive pits on the floor and was very dusty. We were moved and the new room was also very dusty. My wife was attacked by bed bugs. We complained about the dust (the bed bug bites happened on our third and last night) and never saw a manager. Its a shame as the location is superb.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PMIK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us and I appreciate your taking the time to speak with me.

I was disappointed to learn that your recent visit did not exceed your expectations as it relates to your guestroom cleanliness. Please forgive us for the lack of attention to detail and rest assured that this has been seriously addressed with our Housekeeping team in order to prevent future such repeat occurrences and guest dissatisfaction.

We commissioned a pest control company to conduct a proper inspection of the guestroom and it has been determined that there is no presence of pests in our accommodation.

We regret that these incidents have marred your experience with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. I kindly ask that you call me directly to 646.358.3605 so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Up for an overnight stay to see Exhibitions at The Met.,The Frick ,and The Whitney. Plus window shop Madison .
FoundThe Surrey on Google Maps!!!!!!!!
Also Cafe Boulud!!!!!!
What a joy. Could not have been better.Just where we wanted to be.
Low key check-in was superb.
Delightfully soothing room after some hours at The Metropolitan. Napped on a luxurious mattress whilst swaddled in longer than usual terry bath robes( a spot of fabric softener would not be amiss)
An elevator ride down to a very pleasant supper at Cafe Boulud. Excellent service and food.
Airline confirmations brought up to the room.
Immediate response for room temp. adjustrment.
Turn-down with subtle music playing.
No hustle or bustle. Just calm and gentle.
We will be back.
Edward Copsey

PS SPA/FITNESS centres do not register in our Hotel requirements

Room Tip: The beds are super. If you want a rooftop view go on up. We did an upgrade to a larger room which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baril2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our close proximity to Museum Mile, to the award-winning dining at Café Boulud and the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, including our bespoke Duxiana bedding and Pratesi bath robes. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of personalized and intuitive service and I was pleased to learn that our Guest Services, Engineering and Housekeeping team members were able to exceed your expectations, making your stay most memorable.

We sincerely appreciate your high praise and recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here in December 2011 for 4 nights.

The hotel itself is very classy and wonderful for couples, not many children were seen so I'm not sure if they like families to stay.

The prices here were extortionate, a pot of Earl Grey Tea was $28 dollars! A glass of wine in the bar was $12!

The hotel lacked a bit of lighting, everywhere we seemed to walk was very dimly lit, but adding to the sumptuous feel......

The beds were incredibly comfy and the bathrooms fantastic, although without a bath.

We stayed on the 7th floor and could unfortunately hear a lot of noise from the street, all night long, whether it be dust carts, bottle carts, people talking, cabs, cars etc, take ear plugs because you hear everything!

The staff were fantastic and this place is spotless. I don't think we would stay again purely because of the lack of soundproofing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sr200164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our warm and welcoming service delivery and tastefully appointed guest accommodations.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience despite not having a separate bath tub coupled with the noise pollution emanating from Madison Avenue. Our Ultra Deluxe Salons and higher category accommodations all feature a soaking tub and perhaps accommodations on a higher floor, may allow a more peaceful sleep experience; please feel free to call me personally at 646.358.3607 so that I may ensure your preferences are honored on your return visit.

We will certainly take your comments into consideration as we periodically review our pricing strategy for all of our services including our In-Room Dining menu offerings.

We sincerely hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing