We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“London Calling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“London Calling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

A small gem on a quiet block between Madison and Park, lovely rooms with contemporary English elegance and a consistently high level of service. A good value. Stayed because business associate recommended it-he is a regular and I understand why. I'll return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Com100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being such a loyal advocate to The Surrey. We were truly delighted to learn that you have become a fan of our Upper East Side gem and that our superior levels of service and prime location made for a most memorable, relaxing and enjoyable visit..

Our interior architect, Lauren Rottet intended for our design to evoke the ambiance of a residential townhouse that has evolved over time and we are truly delighted that our tastefully appointed décor has exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    279
    95
    42
    31
See reviews for
361
810
119
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed last week at The Surrey and were so Impressed by the size of the room, how lovely it was, the amazing bed to lose yourself in and the pretty roof terrace. Very luxurious. Cafe boulud lacked atmosphere and the sidewalk tables were under scaffolding. But we'd definitely return. Next to Central Park for morning run. New Yorkers are fit and healthy and running and cycling like crazy. Lots of energy and beauty in CP. Very helpful front desk at hotel enabled us to make the most of our short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NettyPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our proximity to Central Park to our tastefully appointed décor and spacious accommodations, featuring our bespoke Duxiana bedding.

We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of intuitive and personalized service and I am proud to learn that our team members were so successful in touching your heart and soul despite your short stay.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Recently stayed at the Surrey and overall a really nice hotel. Rooms were spacious, clean and nicely appointed. Location is quiet for New York, proximity to Park is great and makes for a great weekend getaway. The vibe is sophisticated, hip and mellow. My only criticisms are:

1. The hotel needs more elevators but obviously due to the age of the building is never going to get them. Too often I had to wait a long time for the elevator to come. Likely more of an issue in summer when people are using the rooftop patio a lot.

2. Service and friendliness of the staff at the rooftop patio is not consistent with a hotel of this class, and quite frankly with the service provided in the rest of this hotel.

3. Breakfast at DB was underwhelming.

Overall, I would stay there again, I got a good rate, and its nice to get away from the more hectic mid town and central park south locations and the room really was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased that you were most impressed by our tranquil location with close proximity to Central Park as well as our spacious and tastefully appointed guest accommodations.

We regret that your Roof Garden experience was not in keeping with the rest of your experience at The Surrey. Rest assured Mr Raymond Goulbourne, Food & Beverage Manager has received this feedback in the spirit intended and will provide the re-training to his team to ensure consistency in our service levels. I have also shared your comments with Mr Gavin Kaysen, Executive Chef of Café Boulud and asked that we monitor the quality of our breakfast offerings in an effort to avoid future such guest dissatisfaction. Please forgive us for these service and product lapses and know that we will address to prevent such guest inconveniences.

We hope that these incidents have not marred your overall impression of The Surrey and that you afford us the opportunity to regain your faith and restore your trust in us. Kindly, please call me to 646.358.3605 when your travel plans next bring you to New York City so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

If you like smaller hotels that do not stint on quality, service or amenities then you will love the Surrey. The food at the adjoining restaurant Cafe Boulud is very good, too. Like the previous reviewer, we loved the rooftop lounge - it is stylish, friendly yet super cool. The location is great for Madison Avenue shopping and museum going.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the Grand Deluxe Salon was definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our tastefully appointed accommodations, to our central location and most importantly, the gracious and warm service extended by our team members.

Our Roof Garden is reminiscent of an English garden and we are delighted that you enjoyed this private sanctuary as well as the award winning gastronomy at Café Boulud.

Your recommendation of The Surrey is very important to us and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is perhaps my tenth visit to The Surrey in the past two years and it never ever disappoints. The staff is the best, Daniel's food beyond compare and the entire atmosphere calls me back time and time again. Then there's the location. You simply cannot beat it.
The entire group of pros who work here make you feel comfortable and like you're the star.
Kudos to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being such a loyal advocate to The Surrey. We were truly delighted to learn that you remain a fan of our Upper East Side gem.

We were truly delighted that you are continuously impressed with our superior levels of service and prime location and that the award winning dining at Café Boulud continues to deliver.

Once again, thank you for your amazing feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for the eleventh time. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
568 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a fbulous hotel, what a find, Im told JFK once stayed her and so did Bettie Davis,,,,the rooms are the best weve stayed in, so comfortable and spacious,,,the staff are just so obliging from the bell boys to the conciege,.,surely the BEST HOTEL IN NEW YORK CITY

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are humbled by your compliment of being the best hotel in New York City. President John F. Kennedy and legendary actress, Ms. Bette Davis called The Surrey home and we are truly delighted that our recent facelift by interior architect, Lauren Rottet has exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of intuitive and personalized service and I am proud to learn that our team members, especially our Bell, Door and Concierge teams were so successful in making you feel warm and welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Surrey is a wonderful boutique hotel. It's located on East 76th Street at Madison Avenue. This location is perfect if you plan to walk to any Manhattan attractions, such as the Museum of Modern Art, Central Park, FAO Schwartz (love that store!). The rooftop Patio is not to be missed. The weather was very hot during the day and by the evening, there was a slight breeze on the roof. At dusk, large candles are lit and the atmosphere is magical. We stayed there for 3 nights and found ourselves on the patio every evening before dinner. One of the attractions of this small hotel is that it is not located in the middle of the craziness of downtown. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge recommended a few restaurants which turned out to be excellent. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was 1210 which is a corner unit with a south/west view. You can see Central Park from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSM418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent visit. We are truly delighted that you have become such a fan and that your time with us exceeded your expectations and that you were most impressed with our close proximity to Central Park and Museum Mile.

Our Roof Garden is reminiscent of an English garden and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy this private sanctuary throughout your stay. We pride ourselves on the gracious and warm service extended by our team members and I was incredibly proud to learn that we were successful in achieving this with you. Ms Lorena Ringoot, Chef Concierge, was also pleased that our exceptional Les Clefs d’Or Concierge team was able to cater to your needs with perfection.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing